We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Chinese Dining?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sizzling Wok

Sizzling Wok
621 W Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390-2269
928-684-3977
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Wickenburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Cardiff
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“Fine Chinese Dining?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The sign outside seemed like an oxi-moron, but upon entering, tablecloths were the first indication that this could be good! The owner greeted and seated us and she was very personable. They have two dining rooms and a full bar, which isn't obvious from the street.

We were in a bit of a rush at 7 pm on a Saturday night and quickly ordered beef & broccoli and Sesame Chicken. I was impressed that the waitress asked how spicy I wanted the chicken dish, and "very" was my answer.

The egg drop soup (included) was good and the food arrived quickly, with rice in a bowl w/plate on top for traditional chopstick use, or anglo spooning. The portions were generous and very tasty. Lots of veggi's in both dishes, which we liked. I took 1/2 home with me, but my friend devoured all of his beef & broccoli.

The owner (Mae?) came over to chat as if we were long-time customers, and we heard others talk of her restaurants in NY and Phoenix prior to this one. Gr8 place for this size town!

I do plan to try lunch with some friends while in town and recommend it to others. Upon mentioning this to some local friends, they all rave about the place and ambiance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“By far not a good Chinese food experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Have had very tasty food in the past. Went to dinner on the way to the movie and was disappointed with the very blah taste. This was the worst Chinese food ever. I'm 73 and have had many to compare. We had almond chicken,sweet and sour pork and fried rice. All poor.
Sorry but must report this

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Popular with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's the only Chinese restaurant in town and it's very popular and good. We ordered the seafood sauted with vegetables and rice and both of us ate well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We 2 had lunch here Nov. 2012. It was a nice meal, with a good selection of Vegies and Tofu - with tip under $20
No long wait for either service or meal, restaurant was about 1/3 full.
Will go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congress, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistent quality Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

food is good. last visit the service was a little slow, especially for people who are on lunch break from work. Staff is always friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sizzling Wok also viewed

Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sizzling Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sizzling Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.