We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Charming and kind of cool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho de los Caballeros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho de los Caballeros to your Saves list
Rancho de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1551 S. Vulture Mine Rd., Wickenburg, AZ 85390   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Funky, Charming and kind of cool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well, to be honest, we are not horse back riding people. We'd rather the horses be left to graze and live in peace. That said the people in charge at Rancho seem to take pride in the animals and for that we are gratefu.

The staff was friendly. Not Matt Dillion friendly but pretty darn nice. The dining room was good, but we opted to head into town for a few meals and the front desk was more than happy to provide us with suggestions.
We stumbled across a "dive" Mexican place called Anitas that was surprisingly good. Looks were deceiving. The El Rancho was good as well.
The Pony Espresso is fantastic for baked goods and your caffeine fix, we've stopped there when driving thru. But unfortunately they were closed when we stayed.

We had a suite, which was nice. It had a "funky" wet bar set up. Mind you, this isnt a Ritz or 5 star hotel. Its supposed to have a ranch type feel to it…It's historic….so if you are looking for a resort feel, maybe you should opt for Scottsdale.

They offer jeep tours, shooting, and hot air ballooning for a fee, and of course Horse back riding. If you want to travel a little ways out of town there is a lake pretty near by. Sedona and about 90 min away and you can take a day trip to the Grand Canyon.

Glad we tried it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We loved our stay at the ranch.

Pros:
Wonderful family trip. The staff was incredibly warm and welcoming. The staff knows you by name after a day, as well as your and your kids' favorite food and drinks. The overall vibe is that of being a welcome family friend. There is a great kids program and the wranglers were fantastic with the kids.
The pool is small, but warm and a great place to hang out for the kids between or after rides.
The food was very good and plentiful.
The best recommendation I can make is that my 9 year old cried when we left. She made great friends and wants to come back to adopt Joshua, her favorite horse.
This is the type of place where memories are made.

Cons:
The rooms (think some have been updated) are a bit dated. They do need some updates for both the rooms and bathrooms.

Tips:
Be very honest about your riding ability. There are rides for everyone, but they will apply the California public schools approach to your group and gear the ride to the lowest common denominator to make sure everyone is comfortable.
The pool can be dominated by kids in the afternoons. That's not a negative, IMO, but you should be aware of it if you're expecting a spa-like experience.
Spa is nice, but I wouldn't do it again. I didn't feel it was out of the world special and if I had to do it over again, would just do more riding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

A real vacation, not jus a trip. My husband and I found the Ranch online and decided to go on a whim. I hope it doesn't minimize the romance by saying it felt a to us like a very upscale family camp. We had no kids along but were amazed at how parents and kids we talked to raved about the kids program. It's seemed a good balance between program activities and time with parents. Both kids and parents expressed their confidence in the kids staff and their feeling of safety. We were surprised by this type of program and are already planning to bring our adult kids and our grandkids next year. We found the desert beautiful. The staff very attentive. The naturalist, Dick, a delight. Our nature hike with him a real treat. The horse ride was just right, an easy pace through peaceful desert trails. The food was excellent. I am a vegetarian and was actually rather impressed with the daily vegetarian selections. The spa was very nice. Our couples massage was perhaps one of the best we've had. It is worth noting the claw foot tub does not accommodate a couple as they advertise. My husband and I are of average height and weight and could not fit together comfortably in the tub. Our guest room was beautiful, but not take your breath away. I think it's important to remember the real draw is the land, nature, the ranch, the service, the experiences. We'll definitely go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Dude ranch w a golf course - great Kid's program - very friendly staff - basically all-inclusive but you pay for drinks. It's old but not run down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We are a New England family that has visited Los Caballeros ten or more times over the past 25 years. Many visitors to this ranch return frequently and family groups often include folks from two or even three generations. We love the place because it mixes upscale with down to earth/casual and it combines riding and cowboy stuff with a nice golf course and decent resort amenities. Those seeking super hip or pure upscale or pure dude ranch will be disappointed. Couples or families seeking a pretty, comfortable place in the Arizona sun to mix riding, shooting, nature hikes, swimming, golf, tennis and good food from pleasant servers will find the ranch unique and highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

if you did not have other ranchs esperience,perhaps you would love that one.
But ,if not ,you only could be very disapointed.
And ,sprecially,if you choose this ranch because you found it in the selection of "luxury ranches "
...IT s not at all luxury...
The resort is not nice,the environment same,food is terrible ,horse back riding not interesting,reception s staff specially unfriendly ,only our maricopa room was great and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosCaballeros, General Manager at Rancho de los Caballeros, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time post a review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I am familiar with with your experience and I tried to make things better, but understand that we failed and there was nothing more that I could do to make things better. First impressions are very important and we did not do a good job with you and your family. I can assure you that we are much better than that and our comment cards reflect that.

I would welcome the opportunity to host you again in the future. Please contact me directly if that is something that you would like to do.

Best regards,

Rui Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were an extended family with 3 children, ages varying from 6 to 15, and one family member who is allergic to horses. Everyone had a great time as there is lots to do besides the horses; tennis, swimming, hiking, Jeep tour (which was an amazing and informative adventure through the desert that gave us all a new respect for the terrain), Skeet shooting (fun even for first timers), cook outs that are amazing (a lunch time cook out at Vulture's Peek and an evening cook out within walking distance of the Ranch), historic Wickenburg with cute shops, a wonderful museum, and loads of history (the staff can zip you into town if you do not have a car) and the golf course and spa.

The resort staff are second to none; from the wranglers, to bartenders, to maids, to wait staff, to manager, they are friendly, professional and fun. Many of the staff knew our 6 year old son by name and would take the time to chat with him and answer his never ending questions. The ranch owner hosts a Meet and Greet on Monday nights.

The food is outstanding and you never go hungry. The menu varies and there is lots of choice. There is always a plate of wonderful cookies at the bar to snack on throughout the day, but be careful, as one leads to more! Water, ice tea and lemonade are free at the bar throughout your stay.

The horses are beautiful and very well taken care of. Make sure you take the time to watch them run from the ranch to their night time paddock (around 1620) and the reverse in the morning (around 0725). The trail rides through the dessert are an experience and rides are grouped on your riding experience so make sure the head wrangler knows your abilities. We were able to 'lope' and canter on our rides. There are no helmets so if you want one you need to bring one.......the sun was very hot and we all wore brimmed hats. No adults wore helmets but a few kids wore them on the kids morning ride.

Riding for kids under 8 was a small issue as it turned out to be a few laps around a small ring every morning. The ranch advertised riding in a ring with instruction so I asked and our son was given a different horse with a wrangler instructing him, we were all thrilled and our son's smile was huge.

There is a photographer on site who takes amazing pictures of you throughout your stay, she does a really great job of capturing the moments and expressions. You can buy a CD of all your pictures at the end of your stay.

The ranch also has lots of nature walks which we did not have time to take in. One evening a week, the ranch hosts an evening of star gazing with professionals to show and educate you about the night sky. It was incredible.

This resort definitely has something for everyone. We will be returning with even more family!

Room Tip: All the rooms are divided bungalows, cute and quaint. Let the staff know your needs and they will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho de los Caballeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de los Caballeros

Address: 1551 S. Vulture Mine Rd., Wickenburg, AZ 85390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho de los Caballeros 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come ride our rugged trails, tee off at one of Golf Digest's Top 100 U.S. courses or luxuriate in a spa treatment featuring local desert ingredients. Savor cookout feasts with old friends and old wines, or make new friends over fresh local fare in the nostalgic main lodge. Bring the kids and celebrate our holiday traditions like Christmas boots by the fireplace and Easter egg hunts. Or make it a memorable couples-affair with peaceful rides and moonlit nature walks. At Rancho de los Caballeros there's always something to do, including doing nothing - preferably by the pool. Come retreat for a weekend or more and see what makes us so special. With 20,000 acres of lush open range, 100 saddle horses and seasoned wranglers to reassure greenhorns, the ranch offers an uncommon Western vacation you'll never forget. Full American Plan rates include three inspired meals each day... just listen for the dinner bell and savor a half-century tradition of Western hospitality and personalized service. At Rancho de los Caballeros, you'll feel right at home on the range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rancho de los Caballeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho De Los Caballeros Hotel Wickenburg
Rancho De Los Caballeros Wickenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho de los Caballeros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.