We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool old school funky place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho de los Caballeros

Save Saved
You added Rancho de los Caballeros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1551 S. Vulture Mine Rd., Wickenburg, AZ 85390   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wickenburg
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Cool old school funky place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Dude ranch w a golf course - great Kid's program - very friendly staff - basically all-inclusive but you pay for drinks. It's old but not run down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We are a New England family that has visited Los Caballeros ten or more times over the past 25 years. Many visitors to this ranch return frequently and family groups often include folks from two or even three generations. We love the place because it mixes upscale with down to earth/casual and it combines riding and cowboy stuff with a nice golf course and decent resort amenities. Those seeking super hip or pure upscale or pure dude ranch will be disappointed. Couples or families seeking a pretty, comfortable place in the Arizona sun to mix riding, shooting, nature hikes, swimming, golf, tennis and good food from pleasant servers will find the ranch unique and highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

if you did not have other ranchs esperience,perhaps you would love that one.
But ,if not ,you only could be very disapointed.
And ,sprecially,if you choose this ranch because you found it in the selection of "luxury ranches "
...IT s not at all luxury...
The resort is not nice,the environment same,food is terrible ,horse back riding not interesting,reception s staff specially unfriendly ,only our maricopa room was great and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosCaballeros, General Manager at Rancho de los Caballeros, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time post a review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I am familiar with with your experience and I tried to make things better, but understand that we failed and there was nothing more that I could do to make things better. First impressions are very important and we did not do a good job with you and your family. I can assure you that we are much better than that and our comment cards reflect that.

I would welcome the opportunity to host you again in the future. Please contact me directly if that is something that you would like to do.

Best regards,

Rui Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were an extended family with 3 children, ages varying from 6 to 15, and one family member who is allergic to horses. Everyone had a great time as there is lots to do besides the horses; tennis, swimming, hiking, Jeep tour (which was an amazing and informative adventure through the desert that gave us all a new respect for the terrain), Skeet shooting (fun even for first timers), cook outs that are amazing (a lunch time cook out at Vulture's Peek and an evening cook out within walking distance of the Ranch), historic Wickenburg with cute shops, a wonderful museum, and loads of history (the staff can zip you into town if you do not have a car) and the golf course and spa.

The resort staff are second to none; from the wranglers, to bartenders, to maids, to wait staff, to manager, they are friendly, professional and fun. Many of the staff knew our 6 year old son by name and would take the time to chat with him and answer his never ending questions. The ranch owner hosts a Meet and Greet on Monday nights.

The food is outstanding and you never go hungry. The menu varies and there is lots of choice. There is always a plate of wonderful cookies at the bar to snack on throughout the day, but be careful, as one leads to more! Water, ice tea and lemonade are free at the bar throughout your stay.

The horses are beautiful and very well taken care of. Make sure you take the time to watch them run from the ranch to their night time paddock (around 1620) and the reverse in the morning (around 0725). The trail rides through the dessert are an experience and rides are grouped on your riding experience so make sure the head wrangler knows your abilities. We were able to 'lope' and canter on our rides. There are no helmets so if you want one you need to bring one.......the sun was very hot and we all wore brimmed hats. No adults wore helmets but a few kids wore them on the kids morning ride.

Riding for kids under 8 was a small issue as it turned out to be a few laps around a small ring every morning. The ranch advertised riding in a ring with instruction so I asked and our son was given a different horse with a wrangler instructing him, we were all thrilled and our son's smile was huge.

There is a photographer on site who takes amazing pictures of you throughout your stay, she does a really great job of capturing the moments and expressions. You can buy a CD of all your pictures at the end of your stay.

The ranch also has lots of nature walks which we did not have time to take in. One evening a week, the ranch hosts an evening of star gazing with professionals to show and educate you about the night sky. It was incredible.

This resort definitely has something for everyone. We will be returning with even more family!

Room Tip: All the rooms are divided bungalows, cute and quaint. Let the staff know your needs and they will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Three hardworking professional women seeking a relaxing getaway...We are fairly seasoned travelers who have been to many of the usual luxurious destinations. This time we were looking for something different. OK, to be honest, it was my nutty idea and I talked my friends into it. But by the end, we all agreed it was one of our favorite girls trips. The staff were genuine and friendly without exception. The horseback rides on the desert trails were gentle or exciting, depending on our comfort level. The wranglers gave calm and concise instructions. The food was delicious, and it felt liberating to not have to choose restaurants or worry about reservations. We drank wine by the pool in the afternoons, and became too lazy to try out the golf course, but it looked nice. I can't wait to bring my children to the ranch when they are old enough to experience this lovely, traditional, all-American way of life.

Room Tip: Book your spa appointments in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

First time to Arizona and sadly arrived too late at night to enjoy the scenery or eat in the restaurant, disappointed to see that no arrangements had been made for catering for our notified late arrival so despite all meals being included in the rate we missed out. Horse riding great but ensure you are honest when being asked how well you ride, as we ended up with a 3 hour walk in the desert as 3 of the group it turned out were novices in with 4 experienced riders so nothing faster than a walk was permitted. Golf course well established but greens very fast, overall course not too challenging. 2 tennis courts very good condition, well maintained gardens with the option of a daily guided nature walk. Off site ATV 3 hour excursions or open top jeep tours available, skeet shooting and an entertaining evening cook out in the desert was fun. Cuisine good and well organised, staff attentive and happy to please. Jackets being needed at dinner which could then be removed once seated seemed a bit of a strange requirement. Rooms still need further modernising and en suite bathrooms definitely needed bringing into the 21st century, also need roomsafes but a wonderful place for a 3 day break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was our first time at the ranch. Everything exceeded our expectations. Riding a good horse in beautiful terrain with a great guide really heals the spirit. Food is really good also.
We will definitely try for next year!

Room Tip: We had 212 on the end and loved the privacy, quiet and bird watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho de los Caballeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de los Caballeros

Address: 1551 S. Vulture Mine Rd., Wickenburg, AZ 85390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wickenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rancho de los Caballeros 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come ride our rugged trails, tee off at one of Golf Digest's Top 100 U.S. courses or luxuriate in a spa treatment featuring local desert ingredients. Savor cookout feasts with old friends and old wines, or make new friends over fresh local fare in the nostalgic main lodge. Bring the kids and celebrate our holiday traditions like Christmas boots by the fireplace and Easter egg hunts. Or make it a memorable couples-affair with peaceful rides and moonlit nature walks. At Rancho de los Caballeros there's always something to do, including doing nothing - preferably by the pool. Come retreat for a weekend or more and see what makes us so special. With 20,000 acres of lush open range, 100 saddle horses and seasoned wranglers to reassure greenhorns, the ranch offers an uncommon Western vacation you'll never forget. Full American Plan rates include three inspired meals each day... just listen for the dinner bell and savor a half-century tradition of Western hospitality and personalized service. At Rancho de los Caballeros, you'll feel right at home on the range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Rancho de los Caballeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho De Los Caballeros Hotel Wickenburg
Rancho De Los Caballeros Wickenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho de los Caballeros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.