We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$40 "Incidental Charge"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Feather Lodge to your Saves list
Red Feather Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“$40 "Incidental Charge"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This motel charged my credit card a $40 incidental charge. Upon calling about this today I was told first, "You weren't charged (ah...yes I was...I am looking at it). Then, "You should have been told that is done, and we are not holding your money, your bank is." (Obviously this is not the first call they have received).

Farewell forever, Red Feather Lodge - I prefer making sure guests are told of weird policies if you are going to have them instead of things like continental breakfasts and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    644
    526
    123
    61
See reviews for
436
639
62
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This is just another average roadside hotel/motel which is not necessarily bad but neither memorable nor special. The price is what one expects for the location and you are not paying for quality. The room was clean and nice and I have no complaints there. There is a good Mexican restaurant next door which is a bonus, especially as you can use the hotel wifi there. The bed was comfy and I was well rested the following day. What more can you ask for in a motel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I waited too long to book a room for this trip & this was the last place left that wasn't icky. Overall, it was fine. Beds were good, clean, etc. We had a problem w/our shower & they sent someone up right away to fix it, but it still wasn't right. We ended up staying here another day & were put in another room & the shower works fine. Staff was very accommodating, beds comfy in terms of hotel beds. Didn't use the pool b/c it was too cold. We were out & about all day & then came back her to clean up for dinner. Also, they discounted our rate for both nights which we didn't expect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights to visit Grand Canyon. There are two sections: a hotel section with rooms on three floors accessible from the aisle inside the building - this was where we stayed. And a lodge part where the room doors open to the outside of the building/parking lot. The room was clean, spacious, nice and due to the hotel layout reasonably quiet! It is only several miles to the park and if you want you can walk to McDonalds, Wendy's and the Plaza Bonita, a Mexican restaurant belonging to the hotel. Guests get 10% discount there. We had reasonable food at prices ok for Tusayan (where you pay 4.40 for a gallon of gas!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel part and it is probably quieter than in the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is located near the Grand Canyon which was the main reson why we stopped here. Unfortunately no restaurant so we had a late dinner at McD. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Free parking and wi-fi. Overall average, ok value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOndon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rooms clean, good heating and Wifi connection. Beds comfortable simple modular type bathrooms-but clean. Quite central for eateries with Mexican, steak house Pizza and pasta and Mcdonalds within walking distance.

Room Tip: Id ask for a top floor room as you can hear the people walking upstairs if they are in a noisy group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staff was kind all around, especially the housekeeping team! Room was typical hotel style with antiquated tube TV and heating/cooling system. Bed was extra firm...not so good for my pregnant wife. Third floor was pretty quiet, so request this floor if staying. Make sure and get back to the hotel before 7:30 PM if you want a parking spot close. We were late our last night and barely found a spot out back. Watch for holes in the back lot as my wife stepped in one and almost broke her ankle! Take advantage of the discount offered at RP's stage stop...good sandwiches, decent espresso and warm atmosphere.

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Feather Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Feather Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.