We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon View Information Center

Canyon View Information Center
East side of Grand Canyon Village, about 2 mi east of El Tovar Hotel, Tusayan, AZ
928/638-7888
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Tusayan
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went here when we got to town and they were very helpful getting our park passes and discussing sunrise and sunset, types of trails and overall recommendations and tips for shuttles very informative

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“good place for info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

nice to talk to people who know exactly where the best views of the canyon are, they also explained how it is thought the canyon was made, we were surprised the man we spoke to had a good understanding of the native tribes that lived in the area and of the history

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'ville, GA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Get Info.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

...Very informative, nice staff. Staff was willing to give directions, history, suggest routes, etc. You can tell they love their job!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA UK KENYA UGANDA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Get a map and leave as quickly as you can!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I know, I know - you feel like you HAVE to go here because it's the Grand Canyon visitor center. But let me give you some advice I wish I had taken - get a map and get to a different part of the park! The worst, most crass expressions of tourism are on display here - every tourist seems on their worst behavior.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not just a gift shop! Great information and a must see movie to tell you some of the history! If traveling with kids pick up the Junior Ranger book at front desk for information on how your child can become a Junior Ranger. This helps encourage the family to attend some of the ranger talks which are informative for everyone. The Rangers were all amazing throughout the park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon View Information Center also viewed

 

Been to Canyon View Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon View Information Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.