We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big E Steakhouse & Saloon

Big E Steakhouse & Saloon
395 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
+1 928-638-0333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Tusayan
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Big E! The Big E is the Grand Canyon dining spot to enjoy great food and great entertainment. No other Grand Canyon restaurant has this combination.
Durango
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Large portions, had a steak cooked perfect, yummy mashed potatoes tasted great but a little pricey. Great atmosphere, live music, rustic look, lots of fun

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    115
    119
    74
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive, slow and unpalatable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The beautiful facade may lure you in, but make no mistake, this place is terrible. First off it is slow. Very slow. Expect you food to arrive one hour after ordering. There's only a couple of waiters for about fifty diners so that might be the reason. When the food arrives, you'll be disappointed. It is not awful, but it is definitely bad enough that you'll wish you'd gone to McDonalds instead. Finally, it is extremely expensive. All steak is around 35 dollars, which I would pay happily if it were decent and not dry. Overall, avoid it. There's not many other places to choose from in Tusayan, but if possible don't go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Relaxed environment, enormous serves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were looking for a meal late and they had a table. Food was decent quality but the serves were much too big. You really only needed one main course between two people.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Food less than avarage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I don`t know, how are the performances in this Steakhouse-Theatre, maybe good, but the meals we got, were not tasty, the backed chicken was dry and unsalted and the salad was withered. The waiter tried to be helpful and polite, but we left this place unsatisfied, spending pretty big amount for the dinner. Not recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

There is not much choice of eating places in Tusayan but I knew that this was a good one because I've eaten here previously. We were quite early so were shown to our seats without any delay. The service was quick and efficient. Drinks arrived promptly, and there was no delay before the food arrived. We both had steaks which were good, well cooked and with masses of trimmings. The restaurant is very more dimly lit than I would like, causing me to have difficulty in reading the menu, but that is a small complaint.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big E Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Big E Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big E Steakhouse & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.