We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Bonita

Plaza Bonita
352 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ
928-638-8900
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 restaurants in Tusayan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The service was very good, but where this Plaza Bonita excelled was the quality of the food. The recipes were unique and the ingredients fresh. Every item we ordered was outstanding quality. The atmosphere was nothing special. Lots of parking and easy to locate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    91
    172
    72
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty, but a little pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was by our hotel so we thought to give it a try. We just wanted good food after a long day at the canyon. We loved the food and atmosphere, and the margaritas were delicious!! The prices were higher than we liked, but you are in a tourist town next to a world traveler's destination...what do you expect? I would recommend it!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic mexican food in a cozy setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The concierge at our hotel recommended this place, and we ended up here about 9:30pm. We were greeted en espanol, and showed to a booth. We loved all the different chairs and tabletops, and the service was quick and friendly. We had a Negro Modelo and Dos Equis on draft, the (free!) salsa had a good kick, and the portions were large. Our server recommended a particular shot of tequila called Centennario which was really smooth. They have a wide selection available, and overall this meal was a great value. We even saw the concierge walk in as we were leaving, so this must be a locals favorite as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recommended for a good meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had a very refreshing salad with grilled chicken and a margarita. Our waiter was friendly and efficient.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Food, Sweet Waitress, Would Go Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pros -
Super nice staff, they even let me use my horrible Spanish with them. They helped us with our two small children too.

Food - Fantastic food. Best Mexican food I have had in quite sometime. And honestly for it being right next to the grand canyon and all the tourist hordes that come through I am amazed that the food and service were so good.

Cons
Price - it is not too pricey and when I think about where it is the price is fine considering location.

Overall: Great food, sweet waitress, best you can do for where you are

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Bonita also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.