We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Camper Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tusayan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Camper Village
Save
You added Grand Canyon Camper Village to your Saves list
Highway 64, 2-1/2 miles from South Entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location is good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This is not Trailers village. Our GPS had it wrong. It is a mile south of the Park entrance. It is not pretty to look at but the facilities are good. We mostly slept there with little hanging out. We stayed two nights on our way to Las Vegas. No real complaints. The sites are level but gravel. There is a volleyball setup in the middle of camp. There are places to grab food nearby. It is very close to the airport (I highly recommend a helicopter tour). We had our own car so we did not try the shuttle. I think Trailer Village would be better if you can get a site.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    15
    17
    28
See reviews for
31
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights in a rental RV. I had read the reviews and was apprehensive, but everywhere else was full. We need not have worried, the campground is well located for all amenities in Tusayan, restaurants, Imax and shuttle into the GC park. Access was easy and full hook up pull through sites. We used our own facilities but the washrooms looked clean but dated. The lady on reception was pleasant and helpful. She had discount vouchers for Imax and helicopters and could make bookings for you. The price was $50 per night but captive market and we booked in advance but paid on arrival. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews after I booked for five days. When I arrived, the Lady suggested that I should stay for a few days and I always can extend my stay if I like it, which I did. Out of 20 things, I counted 16 likes and 4 dislikes about the area (city) and campgrounds. Very nice and clean little city. You can walk anywhere for anything and the restaurants are very nice! There are alot of people traveling in and out, doing their family thing, kids running and laughing (yes no playground or pool! But they are here for the Canyon fun). Dust, yes, but I'm not up north, I'm in a dessert! I'm mostly out doing the Canyon things, and in the evenings I here listening to kids having fun, meeting people, I'm in my 60's having a great stay and glad I didn't read the reviews before I booked!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acampo, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was very nervous to stay here after reading all of the terrible reviews but so glad I did. We stayed here 10 years ago and loved it. Came back in June 2012 with 5 kids and we LOVED IT again!!! Every morning and evening the Elk come right down into the park and they are NOT afraid. But please remember, they are wild animals, some people were putting their kids about 8 feet away from them, just to get a picture. Crazy!! Staff is super friendly, Park is very clean. Lots of stores within walking distance and IMAX right across the street. Drive into Grand Canyon or take the free shuttle (once you buy your pass). Showers are coin operated and it does take a while to get hot water so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Make sure you are booking at the correct one - this is Camper Village Vs Trailer Village as there is a BIG difference, and these guys are more expensive.
Camper Village is OUTSIDE the park in the town of Tusayan, about 6 miles from the canyon and El Tovar etc... We found out that the shuttles stopped running outside the park the day we arrived (9th) and not the 15th, shown in all the literature - which relates to Inside the park.
My wife thought she was booking Trailer Village, which is 1/2 mile from the canyon, has shuttles running and has cable, paved roads and likely much better facilities, I am sure.
There was lots of space when we arrived, maybe 10 RV's and a handful of tents. I am sure it looks better when it is full, but basically a lot of gravel and power posts.
We arrived late and the place was pretty quiet at 8am the helicopters started with an endless flight path just to the east and the winged aircraft right overhead. Didn't bother us too much as it was constant and not going at night.

Bathrooms were OK and were cleaned regularly, although if you don't have your own shower make sure you have quarters...

The service seemed to be pretty decent. Our dump cap would not come off and they fixed it the same day.
The basketball court was being set up for a Salmon Bake for the whole town to attend, with live music, big BBQ's and lots of tables (fortunately) for the day after we left...

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask if there are any parties planned
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a awsome time at camper village. The camp grounds were laid out with a lot of thought in mind. spacious lots, clean bathrooms,very helpfull and friendly staff for all our needs. they also had nice big fire pits in the center of the camp where campers can meet and greet. only minutes from anywhere in town. my girlfriend and i stayed for 4 days. on the second day we took the 13hr tour of the grand canyon.we were up at 5 am and rode our bikes to the air port.my girlfriend and i had such a great time we would recommend this experience to everyone who could find thier way to this beautiful area. oh and did i mention resturants, general stores ,gas and everything within walking distance.while we we there we seen some wildlife a huge bull elk and cow just alongside our camp grounds. cant say enough good things about this place yours truely Paul and Lynn Fugelsang.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

We have traveled for 6 weeks staying in many campgrounds/rv parks, but this park was the WORST and MOST EXPENSIVE. We wanted to leave immediately upon arrival at campsite, but there is a no refund policy and we paid for 4 nights ($180 total). Lots of candy wrappers, cardboard, cups, dirty kitchen sponges, and dirty used socks....disgusting and similar trash everywhere. Tall weeds, sand spurs, and dirt everywhere. We felt like we were in a dust bowl. Very run down and disgusting for campers. Do NOT stay here; we did leave early with no refund. Too nasty to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Camper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Camper Village

Address: Highway 64, 2-1/2 miles from South Entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tusayan
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An RV campground with full hook-ups and restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Camper Village Hotel Tusayan
Grand Canyon Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Camper Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.