We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next Best / Last Resort Option for RV's, won't be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Camper Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tusayan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Camper Village
Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon Camper Village to your Saves list
Highway 64, 2-1/2 miles from South Entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Sturgis, South Dakota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Next Best / Last Resort Option for RV's, won't be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Make sure you are booking at the correct one - this is Camper Village Vs Trailer Village as there is a BIG difference, and these guys are more expensive.
Camper Village is OUTSIDE the park in the town of Tusayan, about 6 miles from the canyon and El Tovar etc... We found out that the shuttles stopped running outside the park the day we arrived (9th) and not the 15th, shown in all the literature - which relates to Inside the park.
My wife thought she was booking Trailer Village, which is 1/2 mile from the canyon, has shuttles running and has cable, paved roads and likely much better facilities, I am sure.
There was lots of space when we arrived, maybe 10 RV's and a handful of tents. I am sure it looks better when it is full, but basically a lot of gravel and power posts.
We arrived late and the place was pretty quiet at 8am the helicopters started with an endless flight path just to the east and the winged aircraft right overhead. Didn't bother us too much as it was constant and not going at night.

Bathrooms were OK and were cleaned regularly, although if you don't have your own shower make sure you have quarters...

The service seemed to be pretty decent. Our dump cap would not come off and they fixed it the same day.
The basketball court was being set up for a Salmon Bake for the whole town to attend, with live music, big BBQ's and lots of tables (fortunately) for the day after we left...

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask if there are any parties planned
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    12
    17
    28
See reviews for
31
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a awsome time at camper village. The camp grounds were laid out with a lot of thought in mind. spacious lots, clean bathrooms,very helpfull and friendly staff for all our needs. they also had nice big fire pits in the center of the camp where campers can meet and greet. only minutes from anywhere in town. my girlfriend and i stayed for 4 days. on the second day we took the 13hr tour of the grand canyon.we were up at 5 am and rode our bikes to the air port.my girlfriend and i had such a great time we would recommend this experience to everyone who could find thier way to this beautiful area. oh and did i mention resturants, general stores ,gas and everything within walking distance.while we we there we seen some wildlife a huge bull elk and cow just alongside our camp grounds. cant say enough good things about this place yours truely Paul and Lynn Fugelsang.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

We have traveled for 6 weeks staying in many campgrounds/rv parks, but this park was the WORST and MOST EXPENSIVE. We wanted to leave immediately upon arrival at campsite, but there is a no refund policy and we paid for 4 nights ($180 total). Lots of candy wrappers, cardboard, cups, dirty kitchen sponges, and dirty used socks....disgusting and similar trash everywhere. Tall weeds, sand spurs, and dirt everywhere. We felt like we were in a dust bowl. Very run down and disgusting for campers. Do NOT stay here; we did leave early with no refund. Too nasty to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We recently stayed at the grand Canyon Camper Village for 4 nights while visiting the Grand Canyon in April. It was very disappointing .On our 2nd day there I went into the office and told the front desk there was a plugged toilet in the ladies' restroom. On the morning of the day we left and it was still plugged!!!!! No-one had fixed it or even locked the stall and said 'out of service' or something .It was disgusting!! That was also after a couple of cleanings as well .We were very disappointed with our site. There were dozens of molehills on the site and every day there would be a few more hills .After someone left there was no effort to rake out the site to smooth it out or anything. And yes, I know the moles come back but there are ways of catching them (we live on an acreage and if we don't keep things under control the moles become a problem at our place). It wasn't just the moles, it was the mud, etc as well that had dried out. There was no groundskeeping after anyone left their spot.It seemed you just wanted to get people to come and not even attempt to want them to return .I know I definitely won't recommend your campground to any of our friends for the future (I know of several that are planning a trip to the Grand Canyon in the next year). The office was friendly enough but in general, we felt there was no care in the property itself. Don't charge 'nice' campground prices if you're not a nice campground. And the Wi-Fi was also a disappointment .It was so slow I gave up using it (it kept timing out of a screen when I tried to use the internet, etc). It was definitely a huge let-down after reading info about the campground.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creede, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Unfortunately, this is practically the only game in town. We were there in our motorhoime that requires 50 amp electric and for that you pay $50.00 per night. The sites are all dirt/mud and you are on the glide path of the airport.
In our travels to Alaska, Newfoundland and all of the lower 48, this is the biggest rip off ever.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This campground is a little on the pricey side but was very quiet. Free wifi worked well near the office but even where we camped in a tent there were several wifis available. The tent area is on a tree covered hill overlooking the RV spaces. Bathrooms and showers were kept clean. Showers were coin operated but did not have any problems with them. Plenty of hot water and got my shower done for 75 cents, about 6 minutes of running water. Staff was very friendly and provided helpful hints regarding local establishments. Located very close to the south gate to Grand Canyon National Park and near a shuttle bus stop if you don't feel like driving. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

My family stayed in Camper Village on July 3 &4. They left out the fact that on July 4 that they were having a big concert and party. We were there with my small niece and the concert didn't get over until midnight. There were drunk people walking around being loud and pounded on our camper. There was also no petting zoo or tepees like the thing above says. It was nothing but a field with hookups and bathrooms. No pool or playground either. It was very close to the park and we did get reservations. We just felt like they should have told us when we called for reservations about the concert because we wouldn't have stayed there if we had known.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Camper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Camper Village

Address: Highway 64, 2-1/2 miles from South Entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tusayan
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An RV campground with full hook-ups and restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Camper Village Hotel Tusayan
Grand Canyon Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Camper Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.