We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why advertise "free WiFi" when it's unusable?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 State Highway 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Why advertise "free WiFi" when it's unusable?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'm so tired of these hotels that advertise free WiFi and when you get there the service is virtually so slow it's unusable. It's kind of like saying you have a car, but it doesn't run. We just checked in and the hotel looks nice. I went down to the front desk to ask for someone to look at the wifi in my room and the response from the two ladies at the desk was... "That's just the way it is." I'm paraphrasing but that was about what they said. To some people, Internet access may not be important, but to me it is and is you're going to advertise that you have it, it should be usable. That's the only reason I'm giving this hotel a poor review.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    157
    141
    65
    52
See reviews for
194
180
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were here two nights in. The beginning of May. We had a twin Queen size room. The fridge we were expected to have according to our reservation was nit in the room, was quickly delivered after a call to the reception. We also had a micro wave which was NOT mentioned in our booking. The room was quite spacious. The room seems to have ben painted, clean. Renovated.The furniture is a mixture of old and new . Why not totally refreshed? For this reason a bit strange, but the room suited our purposes. Well located. Quite expensive even to local standards. Good wifi.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We payed $160 a night, and were expecting something moderately nice. We were disappointed. The rooms were updated (modern bathroom, keurig, decent furnishings), but it wasn't very clean. We found hairs in the sheets and coffee stains on the comforters. The bar was slow and the bartender wasn't friendly.
Due to our poor planning, we didn't realize it was possible to stay inside the park. I would recommend checking out that option and not staying here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property is beautiful with a nice lobby and pool area. The room was spacious and comfortable but not well kept. The towels and linens are worn and the room wasn't as clean it should of been. Wifi in the room was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a short distance from the Gand canyon without the sky high prices of the lodge. Lobby of hotel is big & grand. Rooms were modern, clean & well equipped. The only negotiate is elevator size. Didn't use indoor nor eat at the adjoining steak house.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very nice experience here. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
The only things we didn't like was the fact that the rooms don't have any fridges. There is also no continental breakfast.
The restaurant is expensive, but my husband and I felt the breakfast buffet was worth it.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in April during the slack time after the Spring Break Rush. The Staff was helpful & friendly. The room was great. Nice bath, nice towels, great bed. We had breakfast in the restaurant - nice value. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Address: 149 State Highway 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.