We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, good but overpriced food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 State Route 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Utica, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice stay, good but overpriced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a recent trip to the Grand Canyon. The hotel is located just south of the park, but the convenience of being in town was nice. The hotel itself is very nice and clean. The service was great at the front desk, including providing recommendations on which point on the Grand Canyon was best for viewing a sunset. We stayed on the third floor, which was being renovated. We were worried about the noise, but the workers were either super quiet or were working during the day when we were away. The renovated space was very nice.

Then there's the restaurant. We ate there because we were tired from a day of traveling and just wanted a decent meal. I ordered the NY strip steak and baked potato. The NY Strip was good, but not the best steak I've ever had. I would have been fine with the quality of the steak, but the price was a premium at $38. For that price, I expect an excellent steak, not just good. My partner's meal was also just okay, and overpriced. Bear in mind that your food options are pretty limited in the area too.

Overall, good experience and would go back, but would avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    135
    127
    60
    51
See reviews for
167
165
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On a whim we decided to stay overnight at the Grand Canyon. We chose this hotel for its location and it was pet friendly. The lobby is beautiful and has a gas fireplace. Good thing, because we had to wait a long time for our room to be ready. We were able to check into one room, but the second one was still being cleaned. Now these folks saw 3 adults and a dog sitting there for 1.5 hours, past 5 o clock. I thought surely they would alert us when our rooms was ready. Finally my husband advised me to go inquire. The desk is about 100 feet from where we were sitting. "Oh yes it's ready". REALLY?????? I never will understand that one…… So we get into the room and if it wasn't already late and we were tired I probably would have bailed. The room was gross. The carpet had a hole in it. The bedspread was from 1980 something. The bathroom was super dated. I don't even remember if the TV was updated. At one point I smelled gas and went to alert the front desk. They said "oh that is the dryer" its fine… REALLY???? Its right across from my room! There is a steak restaurant in the hotel. We opted for take out pizza. Dining choices are super limited around here. The gift shop was quite nice and prices were fair! I stocked up on souvenirs here. The hotel is super close to the park entrance so it was great for that!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I drove from Las Vegas to this hotel for what was supposed to be a nice trip to the south rim grand canyon. It was our first time here. We Arrived on Friday 1/6 at night. Asked the receptionist if we could upgrade to a better room at check in and was told we had an upgraded room. The lobby looks nice and the gift shop is convenient. However our room was on the third floor. Walking to the room all the rugs are worn down and it definitely needs updating. The room # was 336 deluxe room with balcony over looking the parking lot. The room has been updated with a nice new bathroom, granite counter tops. The room includes two queen beds, coat rack no closet, desk, end table and desk area with chair. It also has an area with an old safe, old microwave and the worst kurig coffee maker I have ever used. However the rooms here do not have central heat or a/c. They have the annoying hot/cold wall units found in most motels. We had complaints to the front desk concerning stains on floor, no body wash, and finally no ice. None of the ice machines on the 3rd and 2nd floors worked. When asked why they were not working no one could say. Needless to say we are checking out a day early. Wish we had stayed at the Best Western across the street.

Room Tip: Do not accept anything other than a deluxe room with balcony. Most other rooms that have just king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside County
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The was my third trip to the Canyon and the first time I did not stay in Williams and take the train in. This hotel is about 1 1/2 miles outside the South Rim gate. Part of the year, there is a shuttle stop here but not in the Fall and Winter months. We went in the winter so I had to drive in every day. It is about a 20 minute drive to the Village. The rooms were very comfortable but nothing fancy. They have queen size beds and not double beds in their double rooms. So 4 people could stay in one room comfortably. We had a balcony room but did not use it as it was cold during the day and below freezing at night. They were in the process of renovating some of the rooms so nice rooms will be even nicer. The downside was there was no small refrigerator in the room just a coffee pot and a microwave. The coffee pot is a Keruig single serve pot and they give you plenty of coffee. Also the TV had a limited amount of channels. The cost was $90 with the AAA discount for a week day stay. This was the cheapest in the area at the time. But keep in mind that this was winter. It will be a lot more than that in the Summer. Another downside were the food choices in the hotel were limited but the ones outside are not that much better. A burger combination at McDonald's or Wendy's was over $10. You can find better and more reasonably priced food choices in the Village. I would definitely stay here again when I visit the Canyon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you stay in the warmer months. It would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here and we were very happy with the entire experience.
The rooms were clean as well as the rest of the hotel and even though they were under some construction at the time, everything was kept in one spot at a time and it did not inconvenience us in any way or take away from our enjoyment.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I make an annual trip to Denver in the winter time and always stop for a night in Tusayan. We spotted The Grand last year and visited the lobby to check it out. It is definitely better than the other hotels we've tried in Tusayan. The beds were very comfortable, the restaurant is convenient and the lobby is inviting - a great place to hang out. There is also a gift shop which is another convenience if you're on your way during the holidays and have one more gift to buy.

As a comparison, we've also stayed in the park at several of the concessions. They are expensive, small, very noisy, and in need of upgrades. I haven't stayed at El Tovar so I can't compare the accommodations at the beautiful old hotel but The Grand is a bargain compared to the Thunderbird Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was real nice, it was real close to the door so that we could take our dogs out side when they needed to do there thing :) We did find it was on the cool side a lot of cold air around the windows even with the heat turned up I even put a towel around the window & closed the drapes.
I Loved to pool & hot tub OMG it was so relaxing Awesome :)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 149 State Route 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.