We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 State Highway 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Sullivan, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here while visiting the Grand Canyon for the first time. I loved the fact they accept pets. The room was very clean, great toiletries in the shower were provided and room was very quiet. Restaurant was nice, good food & service. We had a Groupon deal & when I checked in, the lady at the desk knew exactly how to handle it which made it super easy for me. She immediately provided me with coupons for breakfast ( which was included in my deal), saving me from tracking all that down! Very pleased with the customer service. She was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    203
    169
    82
    57
See reviews for
247
214
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is situated no more than a 15 minute drive from the Canyon. It has a gorgeous rustic feel, and the downstairs bar does great lunch and dinner. The rooms are cosy, with a fridge and a microwave. Breakfast is not included but can be purchased for a fee. Perfect hotel for a stop over at the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a very nice stay here. The location is good, right outside the entrance to the park. The restaurant is very good, had one of there steak dinners which was delicious and very filling, I couldn't finish it all. I thought it was a little pricey but ..... it was good. The atmosphere is nice like being in a mountain lodge and the staff was very nice. Didn't use the pool or spa, looked nice and clean. The rooms were comfy, looked like they had upgraded many of the things but not all which I thought was a little odd but nothing I would hold against the quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel end of January of 2012. The hotel could use a bit of a face lift but the rooms were very clean and the service was great. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and were very pleased with the meal (it was very good). The service was something different. The waiter took too long to bring us drinks and and got our order wrong. We booked two rooms here (one for us and our kids and one for my parents). We were all very happy. It snowed while were where there and someone from the hotel was nice enough to scape our windows for us even though the gift shop was selling scrapers. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hi Folks,
We travelled here back in April 2011, and enjoyed the location so much that we repeated our booking in September 2012..Travelling from Melboure Australia - thus is no mean feat !!
Location is great, really easy to explore the South Rim, rooms nice and clean, kids loved the pool, and right next door to a Indian trading post (just ready to take your cash - and they did !!). When we first stayed, kids did the Indian dance in the dinner area - a real blast and something different for us. Would highly recommend - staff great, new the exact time for an early morning wake up (much to the kids disappointment), don't forget to visit Smokey as you travel to the South Rim !.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

When we drove into town we decided to stay here. The customer service at the front desk was great and we got an excellent room. It was perfect for our family of four. We ate at the restaurant and the customer service was terrible. Our server never asked us what we wanted to drink, didn't clear our appetizer and didn't clear our menus. We waited a long time each time before she came back. Never brought us a take out box or our bill so I had to ask the hostess for it. Next morning we went to the espresso place and the gentleman was on the phone and never helped us. We left. Food quality at the restaurant was excellent, unfortunately service made it so we would never eat there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Once upon a time I worked at the Grand Canyon--both North Rim and South. I will always consider this place my home. When the occasion came for me to take my son to the South Rim for Christmas Eve, I really wanted to stay in the cabins at the Bright Angel, but of course they were sold out. When I spotted the Groupon for The Grand, I decided to go with that because the pool and cowboy theme would be fun for my six year old. I didn't have the highest expectations, but the staff did indeed surpass and deliver. My main request was for the Christmas Eve staff to place my son's Christmas gifts under the lobby tree--and they did! They placed the Toy Story Bull's Eye and Jessie doll on the toy train with a hand-written note from Santa! Such joy for our cowboy adventure!
The amazing housekeeping staff was so generous to clean out our rental car after my son got sick. The breakfast was filling and service was great. Dinner service was friendly as well, but prices were a little high--dip into the El Tovar if you can for dinner.
The pool and hot tub were perks as well and great for the kids.
If I have to stay in a hotel on the South Rim again, I will consider the Grand Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful Christmas memories!

Room Tip: We loved the music on Christmas Eve, but maybe more Christmas Eve activities?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHotelGM, Manager at The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Thank you so much for staying with us. Your business is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#3 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Address: 149 State Highway 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.