We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your beds! We found pubic hair in ours!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
A TripAdvisor Member
“Check your beds! We found pubic hair in ours!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

My review is a little dated, but I thought that i would give other travellers the benefit of our ghastly experience.

We had almost completed a 2000 mile road trip around Callifornia, Arizona, Nevada, and had booked mainly budget accommodation. The Grand Canyon Squire was intended as a little luxury near to the end of our trip, and was by far the most expensive at over £100 per night.

The room itself was seemingly clean and very very spacious, with two queen beds. After writing our journal, I went to get into the first of the queens, only to find sheets that were crinkled through someone else's sweat (but smoothed to appear as if they hadn't already been slept in). Worse still, the bed was FULL --- HAIR. Hence I was mortified. It was almost midnight and I decided to raise it in the morning, as we had a second bed to use. I went to this one, and it was exactly the same - crinkled and with someone elses hair inside.

Aside from this the hotel is well situated to explore the Grand Canyon. The restaurant was nice, but you had to wait 90 minutes to get a table, and the dining room was cramped and the food very pricey - they definitly cash in on the captive audience they have.

You could take a risk and stay here as if it weren't for the beds, it would be perfectly nice, but it makes you wonder that if the sheets are (badly) recycled, whats going on behind the scenes?

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    1,254
    587
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,130
1,359
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

Had two nights here, found the deluxe rooms large but even in April the tennis court and pool were closed. Both were described as seasonal so check before you go if this is important. The hotel is on the flight path of planes (some quite large) landing nearby, landings starting at 6.30 in the morning and at regular short intervals which sometimes shook the room. The breakfast was adequate but was fairly chaotic as residents massed around the food counters getting and waiting for food to be replenished - perhaps Mcdonalds over the road would have been a better bet and less stressful. Perhaps a bit of updating would help the hotel but overall no real complaints.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

We booked this hotel primarily because the hotels within the Grand Canyon National Park were full for our last minute travel dates.

We chose a deluxe king room and we were able to check in early around 1:00 PM with no wait. The hotel lobby was nicely kept, but the room decor was a bit dated, the furniture was cheap, and the carpet was worn in places. The room was fairly large and the deep bath tub was nice, as was the separate vanity area complete with makeup mirror. Our room did not feature a sofa as depicted in the panorama on the hotel website. We had no internet access in our room despite information in the hotel guest book instructing us to use a data port on the side of the telephone for in-room internet access. The front desk told us we could use their wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms. We found it strange for a large international hotel chain to not provide internet access in the rooms. I was also surprised that there was no safe in the room.

Our room was not as clean as I expect or would have liked. There was substantial dust on the toilet bowl lid, and we found some hairs in the bathroom upon our arrival which were different colors than our own. The counters and bath tub were not cleaned thoroughly during our stay.

The building in which our room was located was designed with room doors opening directly to the parking lot, but we did not experience any noise from outside except occasionally from helicopters en route to and from canyon tours. I went into an adjacent building with interior corridors and was glad we were in our building; the interior hall was underlit, the carpet was coming up at the seams, and the hall smelled dirty or perhaps moldy.

We tried to eat lunch in the hotel restauarant on our first day. The sign in the hotel lobby indicated that the restaurant was open until 2:00 for lunch. However, the host informed us when we arrived at 1:40 that they had decided to close early that day. When we pressed him, he said he would check (presumably with the chef) to see if they could accomodate us. We waited several minutes, but he did not come back so we ended up at McDonalds down the street.

We did not eat the complimentary breakfast, opting for full breakfast in the restaurant instead. The first day, the food and service were pretty standard. The orange juice was good for a hotel restaurant. The second day, however, no one came to offer us beverages or to take our order after we were seated. After at least five minutes, we finally asked a busboy to send a waiter. The waiter arrived with a scowl and proceeded to act annoyed with us for the duration of the meal. The food was not as good the second day, either, with cold english muffins and overdone eggs.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was the best we had at the Grand Canyon - much better than El Tovar for significantly lower prices. The waiter was attentive and anxious to please without being overbearing. The wine list was not as extensive as we're used to and was more budget-oriented than we would have liked.

We tried to visit the hotel game room one evening, but we were turned away by an employee who indicated that they were closed even though several other groups were playing games inside.

We visited the hotel bar the same evening, and the service was prompt although the ambiance was not what we were hoping for. The bar was a "sports bar," complete with loud televisions and a couple of pool tables. We felt overdressed in what we considered to be casual clothing. The bar in the hotel restaurant was much nicer the following night.

Overall, this hotel was worth a visit for its close proximity to the Grand Canyon. However, next time I think I'd try to plan further ahead to stay in the park or try the Grand Hotel or the Holiday Inn Express. Both looked newer and therefore probably offer fresher rooms.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

We arrived at the hotel during the course of a late spring snowstorm. As might be expected, there was a long line at the check-in desk - both those with reservation and those who didn't want to drive in the snow any longer. Despite the line, check-in went smoothly. We booked an oversized room, which was amply sized with a large bath and an extra sink/make-up area outside the main bath. There was some hallway noise during the later hours, but hotel staff responded quickly to the problem.

The dining room was understaffed (unprepared for the snowstorm and the resulting crowd) and as a result our dinner was a bit prolonged and not particularly good.

We didn't use the fun center, to much to do in the Grand Canyon, but I can see how popular it might be.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

As some of the other reviewers, our "non-smoking" room had a smell of smoke. After the night the clothes we slept in also got the smoke smell.

Other than that there were no problems. We got a special internet rate, the room was quiet, and the service at the restaurant a bit after 11:00am was very good.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

We stayed here for one night in March. It was a nice hotel, easy to check-in, no major problems. It was about a 5 minute drive to the Grand Canyon whcih was nice. It was relatively clean and it was noise-free. The staff was very nice as well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in July for 1 night and it wasnt very good! First Impressions were okay. We booked our room on the internet and asked for 2 double beds and a single bed in one room(which they said was fine) when we arrived they gave us the bed and it was fine, the pool wasnt open as we arrived late.The restuarant/buffet was average not the best and in the morning we had this econamy breakfast which was okay. The activites wernt very good but it was a peaceful place and the lobby was nice to sit in. The problem came to when we paid the bill, they charged us $20 for the extra bed and we got told that was included with the price, we spoke to the boss and he was VERY rude to us and we ended up paying for the $20 we wernt supposed to. The service was not very good.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.