We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. Very friendly well one and the receptionist even phoned our room 30 mins after checking in,to see if we were happy with our rooms. We were, clean,spacious,comfortable large beds. We laughed at the sign on toilet advising you not to drink the water!
We had enormous pizzas one evening in the hotel and enjoyed the bowling. On the second night we ate out- plenty of tasty steak houses to choose from and wandering elk!
Breakfast is complimentary and although a bit chaotic but worth enduring.the hotel is very handy for visiting the Grand Canyon with a choice of taking a bus from nearby the hotel or driving as we did.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Scott 2012:

We appreciate you taking the time to post this review of our hotel.

We are glad you decided to stay with us because driving from Vegas to the South Rim and back to Vegas makes a very long, exhausting day. We are glad to know you enjoyed the accommodations and found them comfortable. Tusayan is a very quiet, little, sleepy town, which does make for a good nights sleep.

We hope you will come again.

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    1,384
    645
    225
    118
See reviews for
1,276
1,510
69
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I think this is a rip off. We arrived late in the afternoon, payed $ 236.- for a night and get a very dark (only a small window facing out the backjard) Breakfast - don't expect to much! check out at 11:00 - no chance to stay till 12:00, because we where on a early morning trail and only returning after 11:00 we had to check out at 5:00 in the morning :-(
we stayed at thr Bellagio in Vegas yesterday and payed just as much for a room facing out front to the fountains.
I will pass Best Western in future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Thinkabout:

Thank you very much for writing this review of our hotel here at the Grand Canyon.

We are sorry for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Thanks again. L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Three nights for nearly £600 for a motel-style place? It has to be done when everywhere else is either booked up, plainly awful or too far from The Grand Canyon, but grudgingly in this case.
Rooms a fair size for a motel and quiet, but you have to go outside and back in to get to the main building. Coronado Room restaurant, where we had dinner one of our nights was pretty good, but not great value ($75 for 2 courses for 2, without drinks). The basement Family Sports Bar and Fun Room was great - not an atmospheric place to eat or drink - which we did once - but pool, slot machines, games and 10-pin bowling - really - all available. Wi-Fi erratic in the room, but free.
Tusayan itself is hicksville writ large - but eat dinner at the Mexican Plaza Bonita - jolly, busy, friendly and good value (huge margaritas for $8.99!) - completely unlike the funereal, arrogant and understaffed tragedy that is The Grand across the street - AVOID! Even the nicely-decorated bar is unfriendly and ridiculously expensive: $9 a beer! Come on!
But just up the road is one of the seven natural wonders of the world, so they can all get away with anything, I guess.....

Room Tip: The 2000 block was fine for us, but you do have to run outside to get to the lobby - it went down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Retyree:

We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review.

We are sorry you felt the rate you received was not good value for the accommodations and the amenities our Best Western Hotel had to offer. We are also sorry you felt Tusayan was like Hicksville. It is a small town in an extremely rural and remote part of the United States. But if it wasn’t for this Hicksville where 600 individuals live . . . which nearly everyone works for the National Park, National Forest Services, the water companies, sanitary district, the airport, and the many hotels, restaurants and shops in the town . . . there would be no hotels or restaurants to serve you thus there would be no Grand Canyon to visit. It is where we call home and our community enjoys making guests and visitors welcome and ready to see the show down the road.

Thanks for your comments, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, rooms are nice and the breakfast buffet is amazing with a huge selection of excellent food. Our one major complaint however was the late check-in time of 4pm. They would not allow us in our room before that. We had originally showed up about 1:30. It's very common to be able to get into your room early when you arrive in town. They told us to come back at 4. We returned at 3:50 and she told us the room would be ready in 10 minutes. I thought she was joking at first but she was serious!! They would not allow us in the room early. Very poor customer relations on that point!
The restaurant had an early bird special when we were there. If you ordered before 6pm there was a wonderful dinner for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sanda24:

We apprecaite you taking the time to write and post this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and it's amenities. Many of our guest truly enjoy the breakfast buffet, especially the frest fruit. In addition, the EarlyBird Special is always a good meal and a nice bargain. You'd be surprised how many people like to eat early.

We are sorry you had an issue checking in early, as we do try to have rooms cleaned as quickly as possible to make avaiblable or at least have a few available for early check-ins. However if the hotel is booked solid there are times that we just don't have the ability to have accommodations available early and that is why we have a check-in time posted. I hope this did not interfere wtih your Grand Canyon visit.

Thank you again, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel was very convenient to the Grand Canyon (about a ten minute drive). There is a trolley stop at the hotel for transportation, if wanted. Their was a good flat screen TV, refrig, and microwave. The rooms and bath were very roomy and clean. The public areas were decorated with western artifacts, and displays. They had a top notch buffet compared to the usual hotel fare.
The only negatives were the price (just under $200 per night), and aggravating slow WiFi. They insisted they would correct it, but if you use WiFi for business, or communication with the family as we do, it was very frustrating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear HunkyJoe:

We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel and your accommodations. The artwork, especially the black and white photographs that depict the history of the canyon in a very special way are very popular with our guests.

We are sorry you had an issue with the WiFi. Moreover, yes we know just how frustrating it is. The hotel is working earnestly with the providers that serve Tusayan to get this issue resolved.

Thanks again. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great hotel to stay near the Grand Canyon. Rooms are huge and comfortable. Staff is helpful and friendly. We had a room off the lobby on the 2nd floor and it was amazingly quiet. The restaurant is a treat - food is good and not as pricey as you would expect for a fine dining est - there was a mix up on our order but our server was quick to correct and make sure we were pleased. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn.

Thank you for your kind words and we are just delighted you enjoyed your stay and the proximity of the property to the park’s entrance and the South Rim. We are also delighted you were able to enjoy the fine dining we offer in our Coronado Room.

We are happy to know you will be staying with us again and we hope you will recommend our BW to anyone coming to Northern Arizona.
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As we visited this hotel in 2004 and 2008, this year it was a bit of a dissapointment! Staff was very young and nearly capabel for their duty. We were assigned a room which was already occupied. We asked for a kingsize bed but were assigned a room with two queens. Dissapointment 1.
Rooms are spacious, with also a large bathroom. On the bathroom floor there were some long black hairs. As my wife is blond and I'm almost bald, they didn't belong to us. Dissapointment 2. We stayed for two nights, as did the hairs.
Since this is a large hotel, there are many guests to be serviced for breakfast. It served us well. Seating is a bit of a struggle but there is always room to be seated.
In our opinion the management has a lot of work to do to meet the standards we experienced in 2004 and 2008.
We are in doubt if to return while visiting Grand Canyon in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Frank H:
We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review.


We are sorry to learn you had an issue checking-in with our staff and that there was somewhat of a mix up concerning your room type. I have asked the Front Desk Manager to look into the situation with your accommodations. We work hard on making improvements not only to the property but to our staff as well. We hope you will try another stay with us again but it not; we appreciated your business in the past.

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.