We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to park entrance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Grafton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to park entrance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

If properties in Grand Canyon National park are booked, the problem I came across, this has got to be one of better places, although I haven't stayed at any others. Beds were very comfortable. Our room was clean. There were photos on the walls of various early adventures people had with the Grand Canyon: circa 1920s. Staff was very friendly and willing to offer suggestions based on what we were looking for as far as the canyon itself to where to find a gas station that wasn't a rip off. Breakfast buffet was included and had fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, donuts, eggs, biscuits n gravy, oatmeal, potatoes,sausage....it was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear AnnaJean11:

We appreciate you taking the time to post this review or out hotel.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay and were happy and comfortable in your accommodations. The black and white photographics that adorn the hallways and rooms are very popular and tell a unique story in themselves of the history of the canny.

We also appreciate you pointing out our friendly and knowledgeable staff. We try to make sure everyone can experience the canyon the way they want. Unfortunately, we do not control the gas prices or they would definitely be lower LOL.

Thank you again and we hope if you are out our way you will stay with us again.

Sincerely Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    1,266
    589
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,139
1,367
59
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Best Western here. Nothing at all remarkable about this hotel stay, although there was nothing wrong either. The rooms were basic, they had everything you need but nothing remarkable. The blankets were very thin. The buffet breakfast was fine, but again, nothing great. No complaints about the service. Overall, everything was just ok so I don't have anything to complain about, but nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Lola048:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of our property.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and experience at the Grand Canyon. We hope you come again.

heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The size of the room was disappointing. I booked two rooms with double beds and the quarters were very cramped. Considering the price of the rooms I expected a lot more space.

The bar was very busy and severely understaffed. I felt bad for the two bartenders that were having to tend bar and tend the tables.

The restaurant was very good. I did not realize it was necessary to place a reservation, but we were able to get in after a 30 minute wait or so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear BethanieN:
We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.
We were sorry you felt the size of your room was disappointing. The more affordable traditional rooms with double beds do tend to be a bit small.

We were also sorry you felt the bar was so understaffed but glad you enjoyed our restaurant’s ambiance and food. The restaurant does get busy, as we are a 250-room property so reservations are suggested.

Thanks again, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel room was very nice. The hotel restaurants and continental breakfast were excellent. Easy access to Grand Canyon and the staff was helpful with suggestions. Several different restaurant choices in town. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear SoccerRef62:

Thank you for writing and posting this very nice review of our property.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our dining experience. We also appreciate you pointing out our wonderful, knowledgeable staff.

We hope you will come again and stay with us.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I actually don't know much about the chain, but I have to assume that this Premier is a big cut above an ordinary Best Western. It has a nice, large lobby, and there was a crackling fire when were there because the evenings were below 20. The breakfast buffet was very good, not the fancy kind with an omelette chef, but everything that was there was of high quality - really nice fresh fruit, good eggs and potatoes. We had dinner in the fine dining room, and we all felt that the service was truly superior. The food was good also, but the service made a real impression. It's a large property, which you can really see at breakfast, but we were in a building in back and were very close to our car, which was quite convenient. We did have to go outside to get to the main building, but only for a few seconds, which was fine even in the cold weather. The health club equipment was sub-par, perhaps because you're at the canyon to hike. The location in Tusayan is great and there are some good restaurants nearby, as well as places to buy water, etc. It sounds like I should give an "excellent." I think the reason I'm not doing so is that the end of our hallway always had a bunch of cots lined up, which made me feel like i was in a second-class part of the property, and the breakfast had limited options. Someone else might give it an excellent. It came close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear H22101:

Thank you for posting this nice review of our property.

We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and all its amenities including the crackling fire that is just about always going in the winter and even in the summer on cooler nights. Many guests do not realize how cold it gets here.

FYI, we have broken ground as one of our spruce-up, re-fresh projects on an indoor pool/spa/gym facility which will be up and running by next summer.

We hope you will come again and see all the improvements we have made. We listen and try to accommodate all comments and requests to become a better place to stay.

Thanks again, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is very nice, with a actual bowling alley and recreation room for kids, excellent idea! Room was nice, comfortable beds! Amenities were nice. The breakfast buffet was the BEST part of the deal! We had a problem regarding the deposit, which was handled quickly and professionally. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear KayL370:

We would like to thank you for writing and posting this review of our property here at the canyon.

Dear EffB:

Thank you kindly for writing and posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel and all its amenities including our bowling alley and arcade . . . and of course the all-popular breakfast buffet. We were sorry to learn you had an issue with your deposit but always relieved to hear it was handled quickly, professional and was solved.

We hope you’ll visit us again very soon and stay well. Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

If properties in Grand Canyon National park are booked, the problem I came across, this has got to be one of better places, although I haven't stayed at any others. Beds were very comfortable. Our room was clean. There were photos on the walls of various early adventures people had with the Grand Canyon: circa 1920s. Staff was very friendly and willing to offer suggestions based on what we were looking for as far as the canyon itself to where to find a gas station that wasn't a rip off. Breakfast buffet was included and had fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, donuts, eggs, biscuits n gravy, oatmeal, potatoes,sausage....it was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Annjean11:

Thank you very much for taking the time to compose and post this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We appreciate you trying our hotel since all properties in Grand Canyon Village were booked. A common issue but no worries since we are only two miles from the park’s entrance and only seven miles to the edge of the rim. We were happy to learn your accommodations were comfortable and clean. Very important to us. The black and white photographic that adorns our hotel are extremely popular and tell the history of the canyon in a very different way. I do agree that our staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. I had to chuckle at your comment about not being ripped off buying gas. It is expensive to live in this remote location so we like to pass on our little secrets to our guests (LOL).

Please come back and enjoy a good breakfast and the canyon again soon.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.