We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, close to South Rim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Berkley, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, close to South Rim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here on our visit to Grand Canyon. The staff was wonderful! Cheery, helpful, friendly and pleasant. The rooms were large and clean. The only problem was the hotel pizza was horrible, but after a long day at the Grand Canyon we did not feel like going any where else to eat. Also the food in the main restaurant was just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Lisa-Lisa2:

Thank you so very much for posting this review after your stay here at the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn.

We do enjoy a wonderful proximity to the entrance of the park and the Grand Canyon Village. Moreover, we do try to have affordable rates for families, traveling retirees, young students, newlyweds . . . who might be on a budget or have worked so hard to save for a trip. Our staff is always glad to hear they were helpful and knowledgeable.

We were also happy to know you enjoyed one of our spacious double queen rooms and had a comfortable night’s sleep. It is nice to know you have ranked us as having one of the best-provided breakfasts you have had at a hotel. You need a good breakfast for all that hiking and playing in the canyon most people do. And it’s nice at night when there isn’t much to do to enjoy the bowling alley and arcade with a pizza and some pop. All good family fun!

Thanks again, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    1,150
    554
    207
    117
See reviews for
1057
1221
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, location is great for visiting park and is a much cheaper option than staying in the park. Staff were helpful and got a bellman to assist with bags at check-in. The room was a spacious double queen, nice linen and comfortable beds. Bathroom large with a soaker tub. Has a fridge and a keurig coffee machine. This hotel has amongst the best provided breakfasts I have had at a hotel. Large dining room with lots of hot and cold options. In hotel restaurant as well as basement lounge beside a games room/ bowling alley.

Room Tip: Select main building not annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Lisa-Lisa2:

We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review on tripadvisor.com for our Best Western property.

We appreciate you commenting on our affordable rates and thank you for also mentioning on our staff. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations and the nice amenities in the room. You also mentioned our breakfast buffet, which is extremely well liked. We try to have something on the buffet for everyone. . . from a fresh assortment of fruit to eggs and bacon to cold cereal to biscuits and gravy. Choice is everything.

Thanks again and come again :)

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and overall had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and the room had just been remodeled. We stayed in the main building on 2nd floor and were pleased with the size and layout of the room. The remodeling brings me to the first issue. After 2 long days of driving, we were looking forward to sleeping in a little that first morning. We were rudely awakened at 7 am to the sound of carpet being installed in the room above. I didn't know what the noise was, as we were not warned, so I called the front desk. They were very apologetic and told me that the contractors were not supposed to start until 8. Oh well, we were up and ready for our first view of the canyon.

The next issue appeared that night when we were getting ready for bed. We had the air turned all the way down to 65, as far as it would go. It was so hot in the room and we could not comfortably sleep. We all slept without covers. I told the front desk when we were on our way out for the day. She called maintenance while I was standing there and asked if it was okay for them to enter the room. I told her it was fine. After a long day at the park, we came back and it was still set on 65 and still hot. We opened the window that night. I told them again the next morning and they didn't seem concerned at all. Still not fixed on our last night. Then when checking out, I told them again and that we slept two nights in a row with windows open. No response and no concern. Then they made sure to charge us the $10/night for the roll away bed.

Overall, a nice place. Just expected a little more concern over something so uncomfortable. I would definitely stay again, but will check the air before unpacking!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Michele C.:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our hotel.

We are so glad you had a great experience visiting the Grand Canyon. We appreciate you mentioning our staff as being friendly. Unfortunately, it sounds as if they might have been a bit more concerned and helpful about your heating issue. I apologize for them having made you feel that way. I have forwarded your comments to both the maintenance director and front desk manager to address with their staff. Guest’s issues should and are our number priority always.

Thanks again for pointing that out to us and so glad you would stay with us again despite the few issues you had.

Thank you, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Comfortable large rooms equipped with coffee maker and fridge. The hotel is outside the park but very close to the entrance. The breakfast buffet is included and has quite a spread. Attached is also a very nice white linen Restaurant with decent food. A special that includes the dessert is offered between 5 and 6 pm for $15. We thought it was a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Icheckeditout:

Thank you for posting this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

We are very glad you were comfortable and enjoyed the amenities in your room like the coffee maker and fridge. We are also glad you enjoyed the restaurants and the food. We try hard to be affordable with our rates and prices for eating. We know vacations can be expensive so what we can do to help we do.

Thanks again and come again.

Sincerely, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel very near the Canyon. Great breakfast buffet, staff very helpful. Good Mexican restaurant nearby. The money you save you can use at the park!It also has entertainment and a very reasonably priced store with good quality presents.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Benjamin B.:

Thank you Benjamin for writing and posting this nice, short, concise review of our hotel.

We do enjoy a very good nearness to the canyon, which is one thing everyone appreciates after a long drive up here. Some people travel over 8 hours a day just to see this magnificent creation of the earth. We also take great pride in serving a good breakfast everyday to send off our guests with full stomachs for a great adventure. The town of Tusayan and the park (for small towns in a very remote area) both have some very nice dining spots with all of different cuisines. We do try to be affordable and with that extra money, we do encourage you to spend in our wonderful, fully loaded gift shop!

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Arizona and Nevada. Our stay at this hotel was one of the best on our trip. We encountered friendly smiles and warm welcomes wherever we went. It was refreshing! My two sons especially enjoyed the incredible breakfast buffet each morning. The greeter was friendly, the food was presented beautifully, the strawberries were the biggest we have ever seen, and it was delicious! As for the rooms, they were large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The black and white pictures throughout the hotel caught our attention and added to the southwestern / Indian theme. The location was perfect - only 5 minutes from the gate of the GC. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was going to the Grand Canyon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear fkeysrealtor:

We just love to hear people had a fabulous time visiting our state. Arizona is an amazing place with so much to see and do not to mention we have the Grand Canyon and you cannot beat that!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and rated us as the best of your trip. Our employees strive to be friendly and welcoming! The breakfast buffet is great as we can send off our guests off with smiles and full stomachs to go explore and hike the canyon.

The black and white photographs are amazing and so many people comment on them and look at each one throughout the hotel. One of my personal favorites is on the third floor right before you enter the Navajo Room . . . "Ttrain wreck south of the Grand Canyon Village." taken in 1939.

We thank you very much for posting this review and for the nice recommendation!

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.