We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Very Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Palm Bay, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another Very Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of December (very off season which I love). The rate was excellent and we were had a room in the main building. We had been here 5 years ago and the place was as great as it was back then. The breakfast was great and we had the special between 5-6 at the restaurant. Well worth the $15.00 with tasty soup and a superb steak. After 6 the price goes up quite a bit. The clerk at the front desk greeted us like we were family and was very cheerful. The room was very clean with plenty of space and finally a hotel that leaves you lots of towels that I never even had to ask for (I have a thing about being left 2 sets of towels with no extra hand towels or washclothes that most hotels give you and can be really stingy with, but not this place).

The distance to the Grand Canyon is unbeatable. It is so convenient and saves you a lot of money from the lodging in the Grand Canyon which have just so so reviews. We will always stay here when we visit the Grand Canyon. We did not have our bathing suits for the Hot Tub but found it to be clean, very warm (it was freezing outside) and relaxing to soak our feet in after a long day of walking at the Grand Canyon.

A note about housekeeping: We did our laundry here and used the front loader machine. When our clothes came out there was clomps of mud on them (someone before us must have thrown in their clothes in after rolling in mud). A housekeeping staff member was sitting in the room and saw what happened. She was so apologetic and went to the front desk to get us our change back and then wiped the machine out. I did not get her name but kudos to her for being so helpful and accommodating.

Thanks again for a great stay and we will be staying here in the future and would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. It is convenient to everything this hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear vacationtoanywhere:

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and were so happy to learn your stay was enjoyable.

The off-season here is quite different from the summer “vacation” season but a treat for anyone who hasn’t been here in the winter months. It is cold, but so beautiful especially if we get a dusting of snow which many people never experience or get to enjoy. Also thank you for letting us know how attentive our staff member was when your clean clothes came out muddy from the previous person washing theirs. Our Staff is wonderful and tries to pride themselves with excellent customer service.

Thank you again for both the good review and the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit through this part of the country.

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    1,266
    589
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,140
1,367
59
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed there for one night.
It was a very nice hotel, the service at the front desk was grear and the concierge service was excellent.
The room was good and warm, very clean.
The breakfast was also good.
Very recommend to get before sunset to the grand canyon & also the sunrise is an unforgettable show (dress warm- it's very cold there...).
another thing the hotel has to offer is bowling!!
It is a very recommend place to be next to the grand canyon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear meriva26:

Thank you so much for taking time to write our hotel a review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and room while you were here visiting.

One of the best parts about visiting the canyon of course are the sunrises and sunsets. They are just amazing and so colorful, almost real. However they are, and we thank Mother Nature everyday for them.

Thank you again for the recommendation and we hope you’ll return and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked the Squire Inn through Expedia and got a treasure at a great price! The hotel staff was wonderful - they let us change our reservation without a penalty. The room was luxurious and warm even though it was 10 degrees outside! Breakfast came with our room and it was diverse, fresh and delicious. Strawberries in January at the Grand Canyon - wow! We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant - if you go before 6 p.m. it's $15; after 6 p.m. it's quite pricey. Our server was very attentive although our food took a long time. It was tasty though - we'd order the onion soup and prime rib again! The only blip in our stay was a loud knock on our door at 8:11 a.m. for housekeeping. The "do not disturb" signs don't stay on the door when it's gusting outside! Maybe they could wait a bit - maybe another hour? Or get signs that stay on the door!

While we didn't go bowling it did look fun. And the arcade area would be great for kids and teens.

We'd definitely stay there again. It was a wonderful place to stay and so close to the park - we went in and out of the park several times during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Kay N:

We'd like to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review and comment on our hotel. We were so happy to learn your stay was memorable and enjoyable.

The breakfast buffet . . . and our restaurant . . . are very popular and have good service and excellent food with a large variety to choose from especially fruit as you have pointed out even in the cold winter months. I’m sorry you didn’t get a chance to go bowling, maybe next time?

Again thanks and we anxiously wait for your return visit soon.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon checking in, I was told two rooms were booked under my name instead of one - In fact, two rooms under my surname, one with the correct first name and the other with a name I had never heard of. When asked about what happened and who the other person was, answer from the staff was straight and simple: ‘I am asking you!’ Her tone was so unquestionable and impatient that for one moment I thought it must be me who made a careless and stupid mistake and selected two rooms while making the reservation. Then I pulled out my confirmation email showing one room booked. Another staff stepped in and explained it could be a bug in their system which messed up bookings from guests with the same last name (obviously not the first time). I received no apologies.
Came back from outside later and the room keys didn’t work anymore. I went to the front desk and found out the credit card was declining. Tried to get another card from my baggage but the room was in a separated building and I couldn’t even enter the front door without a key. Back to the front desk again and asked for the key to be fixed first. The staff did this unwillingly like I had no intention of coming back. Finally, problem solved with my third trip to the front desk. Good to know that they asked for my phone number at checking in because of the ‘two room’ issue, yet what they did was simply locked the key and didn’t even bother to make a phone call to save their guests some wasted journey.
Also worth mentioning is that some rooms (like ours) are in a separated building. You need the room key to open the front door but it doesn’t work properly all the time, and there’s no staff in the building either. The same night I went out to get something from my car and some guests waiting outside took the opportunity to get in. Each of them said ‘thank you’ no less than three times, apparently had been bearing the freezing cold for a long time with problematic keys and no staff helping them.
Sound proof in this building is poor as well. You could hear people slamming doors all the time.
This hotel does provide comfortable beds and ok breakfast and we all know that accommodations at Grand Canyon are limited. However, with the chaos in management and terrible attitude of staff, the hotel does not worth the price they charge, at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear fei613:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this feedback review. We truly appreciate knowing how our guests stay was so to improve our service.

From what you have written you did have a series of unusual things happen during your visit which we all were extremely sorry to hear about. I cannot explain what happened with you having two reservations. However, although we cannot live without our computers, they do have glicks and unfortunately we as human have to adjust that glick when it occurs. I was glad to learn someone was able to straighten out this issue but saddened to learn you thought some of the Front Desk staff had not been helpful. I have passed this concern to the Front Desk Manager to address with the Front Desk Associates as no one should not be helped in a welcoming manner.

As far as the issue you had with your key card please know it is a common and regrettable issue that key cards stop working. Not to make any excuses but if a key card gets near a cell phone or any kind of equipment that might have a magnet in, it will deprogram them. With that said, re-programming a key card should not have been an issue for someone at the Front Desk to do for you. Something else that will be address by Front Desk Manager with their staff.

Lastly our hotel does have three outer buildings which are older as this hotel has been here in Tusayan for 50+ years. Many guests don’t realize how loud they might be speaking in the hallway which makes it seem noisy. Our maintenance department is actively working on this issue to resolve it.

We have a wonderful management staff and feel badly you had such an ordeal with your stay. On behalf of the whole management team, please accept our apologizes and if you are ever here at the Grand Canyon again please contact me and we will try to make up for this past experience you had.

Sincerely, Lynn
Exec Admin Asst to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2012 and it was the nicest Best Western we stayed in during our 2 week road trip. The room we were in for the 1st night suffered from being located above 'Housekeeping' and the heat from the laundry driers made the room uncomfortable to sleep in as you couldn't turn the air-con down below 18 degrees. When we spoke to the reception the following morning they moved us to another room and we also got a reduction in the final bill due to the issue. This was good customer service.

We ate at the in-house restaurant one evening and had an excellent meal, far better than the steak house we'd tried the evening before. There was a good hot buffet breakfast and the bar downstairs had a good range of beers. There were internet terminals to use to sort out travel plans and check emails, as well as the hotel having Wi-Fi.

We thought the rooms were superior to those of the Holiday Inn and this BW also had a guest laundry which HI did not have.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CheshireNomad,

Thank you for staying here with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We are so happy your family enjoyed their stay with us and that we were able to move you into a more comfortable and cooler room after the first night. Our staff prides themselves in good customer service and it’s nice to know it’s appreciated by our visitors. I will also be sure to let the Food and Beverage Staff know how much you enjoyed your dining experience. Our breakfast buffet is extremely popular.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 928 638-2681.

Sincerely,

Heather Vaughan
Rooms Director
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELFORD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We drove here from Los Angeles and arrived early evening. Check in was swift and the staff member was very helpful and gave us alot of information. Our room was well presented with a decent selection of amenities. (fridge, safe and coffee machine). The bathrooms are a little on the small side though, but was clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. The Saguaro Lounge downstairs in the hotel was a great find. A sports bar with a great snack menu. Good service, great food and all at a decent price.
The hotel is very close to the Grand Canyon Airport, ideal for those helicopter flights. You can also buy your Grand Canyon Park entrance ticket at the hotel which is handy. But best of all the hotel is only about 6 miles from the rim.
I would stay here again next time I am in the area, no worries. Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear ManHeadingNorth:

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write a review for us.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities of the hotel. The Saguaro Lounge and the Sports Bar/Bowling Alley are great places to enjoy within the property and we pride ourself in good service and great food.

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and look forward to your return.

Happy New Year,
Heather
Sincerely,

Heather Vaughan
Rooms Director
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.