We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Grand Canyon South Rim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Grand Canyon South Rim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2012 and it was the nicest Best Western we stayed in during our 2 week road trip. The room we were in for the 1st night suffered from being located above 'Housekeeping' and the heat from the laundry driers made the room uncomfortable to sleep in as you couldn't turn the air-con down below 18 degrees. When we spoke to the reception the following morning they moved us to another room and we also got a reduction in the final bill due to the issue. This was good customer service.

We ate at the in-house restaurant one evening and had an excellent meal, far better than the steak house we'd tried the evening before. There was a good hot buffet breakfast and the bar downstairs had a good range of beers. There were internet terminals to use to sort out travel plans and check emails, as well as the hotel having Wi-Fi.

We thought the rooms were superior to those of the Holiday Inn and this BW also had a guest laundry which HI did not have.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CheshireNomad,

Thank you for staying here with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We are so happy your family enjoyed their stay with us and that we were able to move you into a more comfortable and cooler room after the first night. Our staff prides themselves in good customer service and it’s nice to know it’s appreciated by our visitors. I will also be sure to let the Food and Beverage Staff know how much you enjoyed your dining experience. Our breakfast buffet is extremely popular.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 928 638-2681.

Sincerely,

Heather Vaughan
Rooms Director
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    1,383
    644
    225
    118
See reviews for
1,275
1,509
69
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TELFORD
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We drove here from Los Angeles and arrived early evening. Check in was swift and the staff member was very helpful and gave us alot of information. Our room was well presented with a decent selection of amenities. (fridge, safe and coffee machine). The bathrooms are a little on the small side though, but was clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. The Saguaro Lounge downstairs in the hotel was a great find. A sports bar with a great snack menu. Good service, great food and all at a decent price.
The hotel is very close to the Grand Canyon Airport, ideal for those helicopter flights. You can also buy your Grand Canyon Park entrance ticket at the hotel which is handy. But best of all the hotel is only about 6 miles from the rim.
I would stay here again next time I am in the area, no worries. Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear ManHeadingNorth:

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write a review for us.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities of the hotel. The Saguaro Lounge and the Sports Bar/Bowling Alley are great places to enjoy within the property and we pride ourself in good service and great food.

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and look forward to your return.

Happy New Year,
Heather
Sincerely,

Heather Vaughan
Rooms Director
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed for one night over the year end break. Weather was extremely cold (well below zero), but the room was warm regardless.
Room was tidy, relatively clean, but quite small. We had four people travelling and were stumbling over the 4 suitcases we brought.
Room was very noisy, our room was near the entrance on the lower floor and could hear people coming and going all night, as well as people running / jumping on the floor above us.
Location is great - a short drive up to the Grand Canyon park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Tom P:

Thank you for staying here with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts in this review you have posted.

Since the elevation at the Grand Canyon is just about 7,000 ft. above sea level, we do not only experience very cold weather but this year it has been unseasonable colder than the past few years. Right now we have about 6 inches of snow on the ground and it was -11 degrees at 6 a.m. this morning. So yes, it’s cold alright. As for the noise issue, I do apologize. Unfortunately, some guests don’t realize how noisy they are in the halls or how much noise travels down from the floor above you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay and we certainly hope you will stop this way again and be our guest.

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Really, really enjoyed this stay. The front desk staff were extremly pleasant and helpful. While you can tell it's an older property the upkeep seemed very good and the rooms we were in (2 rooms in building 300) were very nicely appointed and had very comfortable beds. We thought that the temperature control was more than adequate. We really liked the Keurig machines in the rooms and the breakfast buffet was top notch. The fresh fruit and raisin bread were highlights of that.

The only quibble and some would say it's a benefit is that the WIFI was extremely slow and limited during peak usage hours (evenings). In the early morning it worked fine - which led me to believe it's a bandwidth issue. In any case, I should have took the opportunity to be totally disconnected.

At first we were concerned that we were not in the main building but it really worked out fine and would not hesitate to stay in building 300 again. It has interior doors and you can park close to your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Theorbo-pgh:

Thank you for staying here with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

We are so happy to hear you "really, really" enjoyed your stay. Our front desk staff is wonderful and I know they appreciate being singled out by our guests. Also as you mentioned, the breakfast buffet is very good and very popular. Unfortunately, as far as the internet service goes, we are in a very remote part of the country and are working on improving the WIFI or the bandwidth issue. However, as you said so perfectly, we do hope our guests take the opportunity to disconnect and enjoy this magnificent environment you cannot find anywhere else on earth.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future should your travels return our way.

Happy New Year!
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here on Xmas Eve and Xmas Day!! Great location for getting into and around the park as it is just outside the entry gate. Staff was extremely helpful with my many questions and facilities and room were very good. The place was full the two days we were there but our room was quiet! Crowds get big at breakfast but they move folks through quickly. All in all a very good alternative to staying in the park. We would return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear ChesterChandler:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this feedback review. We always appreciate knowing how our quest’s stay was and it helps improve our service.

You visited the Grand Canyon during a magical time of the year and so happy to learn your stay . . . and holiday . . . was pleasant and relaxing. Thank you also for acknowledging our staff as well as we all try hard to make everyone’s stay as pleasurable possible.

We look forward to your return maybe to break in 2014?

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed only one night and wished to be more. The staff were kind and provided two rooms with communication for my 5 person family. The breakfast was fine and the rooms are large and confortable. The hotel is just near the Grand Canyon entrance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear A_Berghotz:

Thank you so much for commenting and reviewing our hotel here on TripAdvisor.com after your stay with us this December.

Whether you stay one night or several with us here at the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we want everyone’s stay to be memorable and enjoyable as yours was. Thank you for acknowledging how kind and nice the staff was to you and your family. Breakfast here is a popular amenity especially for larger families because we have such a variety of items.

Was sorry your stay was so short and we hope you’ll return soon and stay with us again. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in November in a Courtside room. Also has rooms inside for a little more. Convenient location just outside the South rim of the Grand Canyon. The staff were super friendly! It was a really good deal! It included a superb buffet breakfast in a nice, big dining room. It has restaurants, sports lounge, a bowling lane and a small fitness center. The room was nice. A much better deal than lodging within the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear stephenjrigarlsford,

Thank you for staying here with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to our entire staff who try very hard to make every travelers stay here memorable and enjoyable. I know they will appreciate your kind words. I hope you will stay with us again should you have a chance to return to the Grand Canyon.

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.