We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Grand Canyon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location for the Grand Canyon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I normally opt for Hilton or Marriott properties. But couldn't find any close to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. The hotel itself was okay, nothing special but not bad either. Looking at the other hotels in this area, the Best Western is certainly in the top 2. The room was clean and comfortable. They layout of the hotel is unusual, with separate buildings/structures.

We stayed in a building immediately next to the main building on the second floor. After several minutes of searching,we could not locate an elevator. Troubling as we had 2 large pieces of luggage that we had to drag up the stairs. Once we reached our room, we called the front desk, thinking we just missed it. Not the case, no elevator in this building. This will certainly give an idea of the age of this particular hotel.

The hotel has a bowling center and an arcade. We didn't use any of these facilities so I cannot comment. We did eat the included breakfast. It was about what you would expect. Cereals, fruit, sausage, bacon, canned gravy, sub par eggs, hard biscuits. If you want to save a few dollars, eat at the hotel. Otherwise, McDonald's would be a better alternative.

This hotel is certainly average. Unfortunately, if you are looking for a 4 star hotel in this area, you are not in luck. I would probably try the Red Feather Inn next time, but would stay at the Best Western if the Red Feather was not available.

Room Tip: Request the first floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear BamaCruiser26,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us this past November on your family's trip to the Grand Canyon. We truly do appreciate your review and are planning on installing elevators in the outer buildings during this winter season. I will also pass your comments regrading breakfast on to our food and beverage team. We truly take your opinions to heart and use them as we move forward. We hope you do give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations should you return to the Grand Canyon.
Happy Holidays,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    1,232
    584
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,109
1,333
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A really great hotel! Although it's only a 3* we were only here two nights and had a great time. The rooms were large and comfortable, if basic, and the food in the breakfast buffet was surprisingly tasty! The lobby area and pool were really nice, and the hotel was only a short drive from the entrance to Grand Canyon National Park. A standard Best Western - no faults, especially with what you're paying.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Catherine L,
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to the Grand Canyon this past July. We are glad that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind review and we hope that you will stay with us should you return in the future.
Happy Holidays,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we could only get the small king bed room, however it was fine. We were trying to stay thanksgiving weekend, but it was all booked so we stayed Fri, Sat. The trip was to get sunrise and sunset photos of the Grand Canyon. Which was just down the road
The room was quite and cozy with a mini fridge microwave and coffee maker. there was a breakfast included which was a nice extra. staff friendly, would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear kiwiaz,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the Grand Canyon. I am glad that you got to see some of our town on your way to the Canyon. Iwill pass your comments on to our staff as they really do take pride in our Hotel. I hope you will have a chance to visit again in the future.
Have a wonderful Holiday season,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located outside the Grand Canyon village and therefore better value for your dollar. Not that you have to travel far to the gate and enter the National Park so I can't see much point in paying the inflated prices for staying at the hotels within the Park, unless you want to splurge at El Tovar and wake up to the magnificent views.
Service was good and staff very friendly. Wonderful for families with a bowling alley, air hockey table and more.
Laundry facilities welcome after being on the road for several days.
My second visit in my three visits to the States so this is a recommendation in itself.
Strongly advise an early dinner, half the price if you order before 6.30pm and still the same excellent service and very good food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Lloyd055,
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We truly appreciate your review and am glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our Hotel's amenities. I will pass your compliments onto our staff! I hope that you will stay with us in the future should you return to the National Park.
Happy Holidays,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in best w. for 3 nights, is a nice hotel, what u expect from a middle class hotel.
The rooms was nice and clean and in good size, the bed very comfortable.
The restaurant in the hotel was great whit food typical for canyon.
Stuff was very helpful whit the info we wanted.
Breakfast was poor, but ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Emma H,
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to the Grand Canyon. I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not up to par with the rest of your stay. I will definitely pass your comments on to our food and beverage team. We truly appreciate your comments and suggestions and we will use them going forward as a training opportunity for our staff.
Again, thank you for your review and I wish you a happy holiday season,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good. It is close to the Grand Canyon. The bed was OK and the bathroom was clean. The restaurant in the hotel was good. We ordered Pasta with Vegetables - it had too much garlic and we ordered Buffalo short ribs - it was very well cooked and delicious.

Breakfast seems like we were at a school cafeteria with lines to get food. The breakfast was average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Daniel_Araya,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Best Wester Premier on your recent trip to the Grand Canyon! I appreciate your taking your time to write a review for our Hotel. I will pass your comments regarding your meal in the Coronado Room on to our food and beverage team. We do appreciate your suggestions and use them for trianing going forward. I hope that you will stay with us again should you have the opportunity to return to the Grand Canyon.
Happy Holidays,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Large well presented hotel. Warm welcome ,reception took their time to ensure you were well informed on every aspect of your stay .Beautiful room. Really appreciated the laundry..Breakfast was a marvel. Very large dining room and very crowded but the selection was first class. Well situated for the Grand Canyon . Free parking, very reasonably priced, very happy with our stay would stay again anytime .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear thepipefishfans,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the Grand Canyon! I will absolutely pass your compliments on to our reception staff and the chef! We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review for our property and hope you will have the opprotunity to return to the Grand Canyon again.
Sincerest warm holiday wishes,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we’re proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we’re sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.