We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel close to Grand canyon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel close to Grand canyon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Friendly staff. ITis not à luxury hotel but the room had a good bed and everything we needed. There was a strange chemical smell in both corridor and room - but except for that clean and tidy. There was LOTs to chose from at the breakfast - but it wasn't Very fresh and the coffe was terrible. Free parking and good location not far from the south rim.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Lina R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    673
    469
    167
    68
See reviews for
526
703
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in the building across the road with a spacious room and separate lounge area with a 2nd tv, desk, coffee table and sofa. Comfortable and clean. Bathroom was rather small. Coffee making facilities, fridge and microwave. Used the pool which was a good temperature with a picture of the Grand Canyon on the wall. Easy parking and coffee available all day. Good location for the National Park and eating facilities. Near to Grand Canyon Airport for our helicopter trip over the canyon. Visitor centre nearby and a gas station, general store & post office. Only small criticism was that reception staff preferred to answer the phone even though customers had been waiting in person for 10+ minutes. I believe the phone is an interruption and you should deal with those there in person first.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here twice in same week. We were backpacking in the canyon. I stay in HIE 100 plus nights a year. I'd rate this one the worst. I was on vacation with a client and have never been so embarrassed. The help is rude and down right mean. Took over an hour to get checked in both times. Breakfast area is blocked until opened for service so to can't sit and read the newspaper and enjoy coffee. The town on the south rim is best avoided. Just stay in the park or drive to Flagstaff. This place has so much business that they don't need to live up to HIE standards. Rooms are old.

Room Tip: Drive to Flagstaff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Scott H,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service and accommodations you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

ok for a one night stay on a visit to the grand canyon. room was clean. beds comfortable. breakfast was nice. hallways a bit dirty and ice machine broken. lamp in bedroom was broken. we didnt bother getting it fixed as we were so tired..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Jenwaria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate am delighted to hear that you found our rooms clean, breakfast nice and beds comfortable. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night, got a great rate on Expedia, and thought the breakfast was the best ever for this type of hotel. The indoor pool looked inviting, but I didn't have my swimsuit along to try out the pool. The rooms are good, but will be better when the ongoing Reno is completed. Front desk stalk was helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My family and I came here for one night. A couple of days before our trip, I called to request for a late check out. Woman on the other line said no problem she'll take care of it. So we got there, checked in, no issue. Once we got settled in, I called the front desk just to follow up. Front desk woman who answered sounded annoyed that she just got there and do not know about it. I proceeded to tell her that I called a couple of days ago. I didn't want to argue so I just thanked her and hanged up. Breakfast - another story. The breakfast area is tiny. So it quickly filled up to capacity. Food is typical of Holiday Inn Express but the lady who's taking care of that area was sweet and nice...just about the only friendly staff I encountered in our stay. Anyway, the hotel is old but it served its purpose for a one night stay.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear umiko56,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to front office services and breakfast option. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Overall, this hotel was very good, but can't give it a 5 star rating. This is why:

Pros: Great price, for the value
Staff was very friendly, gave good advice about nearby restaurants
Breakfast was very nice, great variety and clean breakfast area, again, friendly staff
preparing and cleaning
Comfy bed: even had identified hard and soft pillows
Great location. Only thing closer to the canyon was the lodges

Cons: Cleanliness of room-would have been 5 star had it not been for the cigarette butt left
on the floor after they came and cleaned it for the next day.
View from the room was directly onto trash dumpster and nearby shed
My wife says the towels were a little hard, should have been softer. I was fine with it.
It was the only hotel in its vicinity of two others which did not have its own restaurant.

But I would recommend this hotel, and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.