We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fine for a Quick Grand Canyon Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fine for a Quick Grand Canyon Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were here with our children for an overnight stay, on a side trip from Scottsdale, during Spring break. We stayed in two connecting rooms, one with a king bed (for my husband and me), which connected to a room with two queens (for our teen/tween son and daughter) in a "priority" room on the third floor. This hotel is absolutely "fine." We appreciated the helpful check-in staff; the full-sized fridge and coffee and tea in the rooms. Our rooms were clean and parking was ample. "Breakfast" was below average -- no fruit, cardboard eggs, awful coffee -- but we were fine with oatmeal, cereal. toast, etc. Since our focus was on visiting the Grand Canyon -- which was spectacular -- we were barely in our rooms. But we appreciated that the hotel was a clean and quiet place to stay, and none of the other accommodations in Tusayan looked particularly impressive. Grand Canyon hint: Buy your car visitor's pass at the Visitor's Center, within walking distance of the hotel, in advance of your first foray into the canyon to save yourself some time in traffic at the gate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear NYCTraveller4,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    604
    436
    161
    67
See reviews for
503
626
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is your typical HIE decor and layout wise. The breakfast room was larger than some I have seen with two set ups to accommodate more people. Even with 2 lines going, the breakfast room was very busy crowded the 2 mornings we were there. People were fighting for tables...some people had to stand or gave up and went back to their room. The internet is a debacle! When you connect you should hear the dial-up sound. Seriously very slow. For such a busy hotel you would think it would be better. Housekeeping was good. We appreciated having a microwave and fridge in our room. This hotel is next to a handful of other hotels and restaurants all within walking distance. There is also a shuttle that can take you around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear stefanier918,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I am happy to read you were pleased with housekeeping and room amenities. However, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the internet service and situation you encountered during breakfast. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our first trip to the Grand Canyon, there are not too many choices in this small village, and I thought I'd be safe booking a HI Express. This hotel is a little lower in my standards, especially for a HI Express. Could use some updating and the beds were not comfortable at all. The staff was very nice and friendly, they provided a small fridge to our room since we stayed for 3 nights. The breakfast wasn't bad, but the hotel was so packed it was hard to find a place to sit for breakfast. There are a few other choices in Tusayan, and if we went back...I'd try another hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear 611KimC,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. We appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind remarks for the staff. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations and for the room conditions yous had experienced. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've stayed at a couple of places near the Grand Canyon. This hotel was really clean. It wasn't new but it was kept very nicely and treated with care. The staff was nice, including the breakfast staff. The continental breakfast was good and it was stocked more often than other Holiday Inn Express' we've been to. I thought the pool was a little small and far away from the building, but I bet it's nice in the summer when it's hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this property to visit the canyon. All of the staff we interacted with were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was the typical HIE breakfast but since the hotel is setup for so many leisure guests they have a nice setup with 2 different lines for guests to have access to all of the food. It would be nice to have a few more seats but you can only do what you can with the space you have and they make the best of it. The indoor pool was ok, but was rather cold and small for the size of hotel. The hot tub temp was great for me, but there really aren't your typical hot tub jets its more like a soaking tub. The internet access was by far the worst I have ever experienced in any hotel I have ever stayed at. It took me forever to get on the site to signin and then the pages wouldn't load. Cell phone service (not hotel's issue) isn't the greatest in the area too so connecting with the outside world was difficult. There isn't a lot of options for chain hotels in the area I think the only other national chain was the Best Western. We went there for a drink and got take out for dinner the one night from their bar.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor, building is setup in an L shape and we were at the bend in the L. Our view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear jacketsman,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the indoor pool and internet access. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Could be updated and cleaner (don't look behind the door in the bathroom and if anyone is missing their socks from their stay before us in room 224, we left them for you!) but beds were clean and the proximity to the entrance to the park can't be beaten.

The breakfast area was absolutely crazy in the morning - people grabbing food everywhere and much of also landing on the floor - and just your normal holiday inn continental breakfast, but hey - it's free!!!

Next time I will try for a room inside the Grand Canyon park but this could still be a back up, especially if I have enough points to make it free again. If I'd paid the $172 that the person checking in beside me paid, I'd probably be quite disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear ShellyontheRoad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy you like our clean beds. However, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the service you encountered during breakfast and if you found the condition of the hotel less than satisfactory. Our goal is to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations and your comments are highly important. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome to any opportunity to improve our hotel.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Location is good, close to the park entrance. That is also why the hotel is so pricey despite offering a fairly poor quality experience. A few things:
wifi is excruciatingly slow.
There's no gym.
And we awoke two nights in a row by very loud noise from the maintenance room. We might have been unlucky. But avoid rooms around 261.
The breakfast is decent, but total chaos since the canteen is too small for this large hotel. Hence, very morning there are lines for food and for tables. Not an enjoyable start of the day. The staff is doing a good job refilling the shelves with food. The bacon and omelette were nice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the pool and the maintenance room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ulric E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs. On the other hand, Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.