We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location and Spacious Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient Location and Spacious Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked a king mini suite which was spacious and very clean.The breakfast was as expected, quite o.k. but a bit frugal. My rating would be better if not for:
The matress was so soft I felt as if I was on a sailing ship.
The price was too high for this category hotel (partially my fault, I booked the week before).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear SophievdS,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It's nice to hear that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the room conditions. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. The issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    603
    435
    161
    67
See reviews for
503
625
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff was really nice.
The food was very yummy and varied; but breakfast was always crowded. There's lots of tables, though, so check toward the back. There's a room back there most don't notice.
The rooms were comfortable and the heater/AC worked well. It was always clean, even though it wasn't made up yet when we got back to the room about 4pm.
There's free Wi-Fi, but it is spotty (slow), so I didn't even try after a couple attempts. I just checked my email at the front. If you have to have free Wi-Fi and you don't have 4G, stay somewhere else or ask for a room close to the front.
This is a convenient location and we would go back next time we go to the canyon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location just outside south entrance to park. Recently upgraded rooms (at least in rear building). Excellent staff that repeatedly worked to meet all expectations. All at a very budget-friendly cost. It will be my hotel of choice on next visit!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our room was average - nothing remarkable, a little rundown, but more or less comfortable. The front office staff were very helpful with giving us information on visiting the Grand Canyon. The breakfast in the hotel is very good. The hotel is very conveniently located - it is about a 5 minute drive to the national park entrance, and about another 10 minutes to get to the visitor centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Maheshwari29,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this property when we could not get one in the village at a decent price. This is close to entrance and park-- as well restaurants .the rooms were very clean updated. Would stay again. Great breakfast!!

Room Tip: Pleased with king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel seems to be existing on location alone. The rooms are small, sparsely equipped, and lacking Internet connectivity (though they advertise free wi-fi). They overcharged us from the agreed upon rate, though they did refund the difference when we noticed it. Can't recommend this one. Breakfast room was extremely over crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ILPat_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are relieved that the hotel refunded the overcharge in your bill. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Looked at best western & was deterred that it was a little more expensive & it was having serious Internet connections. We found the HI express to be a standard hotel...with no frills but basic standard, clean accommodation. The one negative was the paper thin walls where we could hear the muffled conversation & tv of our neighbors.

My parting tip is to have dinner at Coronado restaurant at the Best Western...the menu was surprisingly tasty & fresh!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Camnicsydney,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.