We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this property when we could not get one in the village at a decent price. This is close to entrance and park-- as well restaurants .the rooms were very clean updated. Would stay again. Great breakfast!!

Room Tip: Pleased with king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    616
    440
    162
    67
See reviews for
508
633
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel seems to be existing on location alone. The rooms are small, sparsely equipped, and lacking Internet connectivity (though they advertise free wi-fi). They overcharged us from the agreed upon rate, though they did refund the difference when we noticed it. Can't recommend this one. Breakfast room was extremely over crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ILPat_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are relieved that the hotel refunded the overcharge in your bill. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Looked at best western & was deterred that it was a little more expensive & it was having serious Internet connections. We found the HI express to be a standard hotel...with no frills but basic standard, clean accommodation. The one negative was the paper thin walls where we could hear the muffled conversation & tv of our neighbors.

My parting tip is to have dinner at Coronado restaurant at the Best Western...the menu was surprisingly tasty & fresh!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Camnicsydney,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipling. SK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

In my opinion, with the nearby lodges in the park, this Holiday Inn must have felt it did not need to try too hard. The rooms were pretty basic, not a lot of room, no fridge or micro, and poor internet. TV had just a handful of channels, and the bathroom was small. Overall our stay was comfortable enough, and the staff were friendly, helpful, and ambitious. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, and the attendant on duty was working hard to keep it that way with the large number of guests there at that point in time. Overall a good place to stay, but I will try somewhere else If I pass through again.

Room Tip: There is a newer outbuilding likely open in the Summer. Might be worth inquiring about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear WidmarshSK,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is typical and very good HIExpress where we have stayed durin our GC exploration. Perfect location, great mini-suite. Very loud, anyway, you are in Express. Alnmost no internet connection because of the issues in the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

we stayed here as apart of our road trip from Salt lake city UT to Phoenix AZ. The day we stayed it was snowing heavily and we reached to hotel late. Why? because previously we were going from Grand Canyon East entrance while driving from Page AZ. While driving on highway 89, way to Grand Canyon National PArk came on highway 64 west and we took right and message was road closed after 25 miles. I thought it might open till Holiday Inn. Because sign did not mentione that we can not access any services using this route. I assumed that Tusayan would be accessible because no sign like "No Access to Tusayan". Anyway we started our journey and it started snow after 20 minutes or so we reached to park entrance and still no sign I asked park ranger and she said very bluntly No, YOU Can not go from here, I asked and reply was roead was not plowed. We have to come back and make loop via Flagstaff and Williams because of snow and weather it took us 5 good hours. I will reccommend that business associate of Tusayan shuold be very proactive in winters and put the sign on highway 89/64W junction about the accessibility.
Big relief was we reached hotel safly and got upgrade. But I found this hotel walls like paper thin all talking, phone ring travel room to room.
Breakfast amazing...Hot cinnamon rolls I liked it.
It is very closed to Grand Canyon National Park.

Room Tip: This is a big hotel, I think they have 3-4 separate building. Do not take out your luggage till you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Amit j,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However. We’re sorry about the paper thin walls. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The holiday inn is a good option if you have to stay near the Grand Canyon. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable, with a big LCD tv, coffee machine.... There is an indoor swimming pool and Idro-massage. For breakfast you have a wide choice (pancakes, sandwiches, fruit, cereals, sweets). Recommended even if for the same price I would choose the best western( I have been also there), because the breakfast is better and the hotel has more facilities( especially for dining).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.