We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Grand Canyon National Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very close to Grand Canyon National Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived 12/30/12 to stay for two nights.
The rooms were fine, basic & clean.
The breakfast room was big but not big enough for the amount of people in the hotel, we made breakfast & ate it in our room.
No microwave or mini fridge in room, which is not ideal when traveling with a toddler & baby.
Room didn't get serviced despite being asked three times ( staff knocked on door twice early in the morning before we left to GC, once late afternoon, when toddler was sleeping so said not to worry )
Hotel is in a good location as a short drive to the Grand Canyon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Nlb74,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our hotel location and your room accommodation. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It is our regret that our breakfast area did not live up to your expectations and that your room was not serviced. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    673
    469
    167
    68
See reviews for
526
703
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Intervale, NH
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yes it was off-season but the room with 2 Queens was only $63 on a Friday night. The place is clean close to the canyon and practically next door to the IMAX Theater.
My only complaint was the breakfast room although quite large was not big enough to hold all the guests staying there. We got our food and ate in the lobby. We noticed several tables where people were done eating but just sat there and yakked. One table of 3 stayed there for over an hour after they were done, closed the place down when they could have given up their seats for others waiting, really rude.
Woman working the breakfast room was very cheerful and accommodating, don't know how she can stay so upbeat with such a crowd.
There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi but we were too tired after our drive from LV to take advantage of it.
Noisy guests who let doors slam are a peeve, must be real fun in high season.
We had no problems with the WiFi but they did post a letter from the town's mayor saying the entire town is experiencing these difficulties so don't blame the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really close to the Grand Canyon rim. Price was decent considering there's a huge demand. Breakfast was decent, it is pretty busy but that's expected. We went to the nearby Mexican restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

An ideal location to visit the Grand Canyon. Great reception staff who were very knowledgable about the local area.
Breakfast included and plenty of choice. We visited just before Christmas and the hotel has lots of decorations up, it had also been snowing which added to the atmosphere.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The HI Express at Yusayan, AZ is very convenient to the Grand Canyon and overall is a good place to stay. Unfortunately their internet is VERY slow and would not connect easily. The room we had did not heat too well (thermostat way off) and the TV controller did not work. Other than that, it was a fine stay. Easy walking distance to restaurants and other attractions like the IMAX Theater. HI Express had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Roger S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased that that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the internet connection. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The accomodation was very basic and relatively clean, the indoor pool and hot tub were great for the winter months. The main attraction for this hotel is the location, which is at the gate of Grand Canyon National Park. If you want to take good sunrise and sunset photos in Grand Canyon, staying in this hotel is a plus, as you need to get up quite early in the morning for the spectacular sights. The hot breakfast was adequate with bacon, cheese omlette, pancakes, scones, etc; they even had fresh fruits such as orange and banana.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Without getting super lengthy...this property needs to be updated... Wear and Tear was showing everywhere....The heater did not work great and it was 4 degrees outside when we woke up. The room was lacking some of the normal conveniences that other rooms in this class have (microwaves) (mini fridge)

With that said, the staff were ok...the hot breakfast was actually very good...

I don't think this is the best moderately priced lodging the Grand Canyon Villeage area has to offer and I will try to find out the next time I am here.

Room Tip: Use this property as a last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.