We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes this is the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Delta, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yes this is the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yes a very nice room, we came here not knowing the area. Good breakfast in the morning. Very helpful staff. Would stay here next time. Nothing to do with HIE, if you r going to eat in the town, it is very pricey, so keep that in mind

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    597
    430
    161
    66
See reviews for
496
621
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was our first family trip to the grand canyon national park and we wanted to stay close and minimize the commute since we planned multiple day trips to the canyon. we found this hotel in a quaint town not far from the national park (about 6-7 miles) which was great. We tried to book a hotel in the park but that was too expensive and not booked out.

Tusayan is a very small town of a few places to eat, a few restaurants, and a few other shops very close to the Grand Canyon National Park. Location was the main attraction for this hotel. The check in process was smooth and friendly. The room was average ammenties and cleanliness for the location. It had good space as well. There was internet but we were on a high floor and it was too hard to pick up reception in this huge hotel. That was one of my criticisms.

Breakfast was good - typical of a holiday inn express (yummy Cinnamon Rolls). Bottom line - good hotel due to location and price and ammenties including breakfast which is very important in a small, quaint town with very few options. I would recommend this hotel to any traveller who comes to the Canyon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. Choose a room close to the main level if possible to get b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express at is one of a handful of hotels in Tusayan that offer great access to the South rim of the Grand Canyon. The setting is spectacular. We stayed 2 days in July, 2012. While the rates were a bit high, they were competitive with the other accomodations in Tusayan. A decent breakfast was included in the hotel fee. We stayed in one of the king suites which were located in a seperate building from the main desk and hotel. It was a great space with amenities that would allow for an extended stay. Our only issue was that the beds were very soft...not really to our liking...but we were comfortable none the less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my first trip to the Grand Canyon! This hotel is Less then 10 min away. I was very happy during my stay, the customer service was great and they're breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean. The pool was not that big but it was heated. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed in the King mini suite for 2 nights which was located in a different building away from the main busy building, which I was thankful for because it seemed more quiet than the hussle and bussle in the main building. However the pool is a ways away in the main building, but there was a hot tub (jets not powerful at all) in the suites building which felt great after a very chilly day in the Grand Canyon. This buiding also had it's own breakfast lobby as well with cheese omlets, bacon, biscuits & gravy, cereal, a simple and quick pancake maker that does all the work for you and makes as many pancakes as you want, yogurt, juices and more. The wetbar was perfect for what I needed it for (a sink with a counter) since we brought our slow cooker to cook dinner in. I found the bed to be very comfortable, camparable to our bed at home, and it was nice to unwind on the sofa watching tv after a long day of driving.
I'm happy with our choice and will stay here again if we ever return due to it's proximity to the South Rim. I debated on staying further away not in Tusayan to save a little cash but after road tripping in from the north and out to the south, I'm glad we didn't stay further away because everywhere else really is quite a drive in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for only one night after visiting Grand Canyon NP. We reserved a Standard King room. At arrival, for no reason, they told us we've been upgraded to a suite. OK.

Big dissapointment!!!!

Instead of getting one regular size room that you would expect from this hotel categorie, we got a room with two very small rooms in It. One with a a couch/TV/desk, the other with the king bed that hardly fitted in It.

Decor is old and cold. Carpet was dirty. Linens were old. This hotel needs remodeling.

We went to have dinner at the restaurent at the Best Western next door. We should have stayed there. I don't know if the room would have been better but at least there is a good restaurant on the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel has a great location. Check in was done well considering everone came aat once (after sunset at the park). Our room opened onto the parking lot, noisy & a view of the front end of a truck wasn't the best. The pool was nice but, the hot tub was hot water only, no bubbles.There was a timer on the wall, it didn't work. When an attendent or worker came in he said the never had bubbles (then why a timer?). Breakfast was a laugh. When it got close to closing time they turned off lights & machines as people were using them Then they put up ropes that completely closed off the area (& exit). Hard to get out if you are holding coffee etc. and have to move a post. 1 ice machine (with a big sign- don't fill your cooler here). If we come back we will stay at another place at this location Skined my ankle on the metal frame of the bed. .

Room Tip: must be a better room in another hotel at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.