We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Plaza Resort Tusayan AZ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Everett, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Canyon Plaza Resort Tusayan AZ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good location for visiting the Grand Canyon. The hotel seems older, but the room was clean and in good condition. We were happy with the larger sized rooms and the convenience of a mini fridge and microwave in the room. We enjoyed cooling off in the outdoor swimming pool after hiking in the canyon.
The lady at the front desk rushed us through the check in process and did not seem friendly. Not that we wanted it to take a long time, but having never been to the grand canyon before we had a few questions about the area and the amenities that we wanted to ask her about. She spoke extremely fast and was hard to understand. There was no one else waiting to check in or out. The lobby was empty. She made us feel like she just wanted us out the door and quick.
Checking out was uneventful. Just don't expect a high level of friendly customer service here. They provide a few discount coupons for the hotel restaurant, but we decided we would be better off eating elsewhere.
There are stores and restaurants in walking distance and it is a short drive to the park entrance. If you do not want to drive the parks system also have free shuttle busses that you can ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    260
    340
    157
    121
See reviews for
278
376
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place needs investment. It is welcome to the 70's! The rooms are basic but comfortable. We ate in on the first night which was a mistake. It's expensive and we complained about the salad, Doug, our server agreed with us, but did nothing to fix things. We then had 15% service charge added to the bill automatically, which is a NO NO. The spa was not in service. The only good thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Grand Canyon National Park. Eat at Bonita's for a great meal.Its just a couple of yards away.

Room Tip: In the middle of the building you are treated to the constant sound of water running from a feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

for the price that you will pay to stay at this "resort," the rooms are basic, the decor is outdated, and the breakfast buffet is only barely acceptable. We ate lunch at a decent Mexican restaurant within walking distance down the street and upon a "Yelp" recommendation, chose to eat dinner at the Coronado Room in the Best Western (also easy walking distance). The only saving grace about this hotel is that it is located next door to the National Geographic Visitor Center and shuttle bus service to and within the park is easily available in front of the NatGeo Visitor Center. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel was booked by our travel agency on a motorcycle tour of the southwest. It was average, but the location was excellent. The park shuttle was right there. It was a little hard to find initially, as the hotel sits next to the IMAX and in back of the visitor Center. The rooms were dated, but comfortable. The beds were fine. The pool area was nice, although the pool was cold when we were there in May. The breakfast is a $ buffet, which was convenient but pricey. The gift shop was nice, with many park items and clothing with fair prices. We would stay here again because of the location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Advertised as a luxury resort, this has to be a huge exaggeration. Rooms are very basic budget motel. Decor is dated 70's, 80's. When the front desk was questioned on the luxury claim for the room we were advised it was due to it having a coffee making machine and hung up on me.
The staff are rude and should under tae some formal training in hospitality.
The claim to being a resort maybe due to the small above ground pool which is located in all places- in the parking lot, no grass surrounds here just asphalt. The location is down a laneway behind a street fronted hotel and your view is accross the carpark to the rear of that complex.
Looking out the rear window gives the vista of numerous abandoned rusting and junked old vehicles- a scrap yard. No resort style views anywhere to be seen.
Luxury resort has to be a joke, unfortunately the price is not.

Room Tip: Find a good room, any other location in town would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nothing to shout about this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. I was amazed to find a video game console in the room. One and only hotel in 4 continents I have travelled which has a game console in the room. Nice hotel but overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just ok.
Great location few miles from the park entrance, it's very convenient if you want to sleep local.
The room was comfortable and clean but dated, with a very noisy air conditioning and a bathroom that saw better times.
Probably the location helps selling the rooms without much attention to detail, but for 1 night and the right price it's a good option in the grand canyon area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.