We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location....Lacking in other areas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location....Lacking in other areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, April 1, 2013. Great proximity to the Grand Canyon but definitely overpriced. We had a "deluxe king room" which was nice, had a separate living room with a pocket door and bedroom. Decent, although not updated but clean, bathroom, with an additional sink outside in the hall. Walls were paper thin, we stayed in the building block near the pool and we overlooked a dilapidated house with rundown, old cars and their trash. Didn't eat there, chose outside restaurants. Would stay again if it was my only choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    244
    322
    145
    112
See reviews for
265
353
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we were there from 3/25-26. My wife had to perform her work and we found out the
Resort's internet service is bad. She was not able to connect during the nite. She finally
was able to transmit 2a.m. the next morning. When I called the front desk they did not
express any empathy and just said try again > midnight. Attitude is a big problem at this
hotel.

Buffet dinner at hotel was bad. Roast beef was salty. Vegetables looked old.


room was not cleaned after 1st nite.

Anyone should consider other hotels in the immediate area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresaweigel, Asst. General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We're so sorry to hear you had this experience at our hotel, as this is not typical of the high-quality service we strive to offer to all our guests. We apologize you didn't find the food or service to your satisfaction. We have been working on our internet service, and our Asst.General Manager would be happy to discuss these matters with you directly. Please give us a call at 928-638-2673 and mention this review response. Our Asst. General Manager would love to find out more about what happened and work with you to make this situation right. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Like every hotel in Tusayan-- this place is ridiculously over priced. You could stay at nicer and cheaper hotels in Manhattan than what you will pay for quick access to Grand Canyon. If you have more time to get to the park, stay in Williams for better prices. We stayed in one of the studio apartments for 200. Here's the list of problems with the room.
*no in room phone and poor cell co coverage is sort of dangerous and inconvenient
*only four TV channels worked
*heater didn't work
*murphy bed was a tiny full
*heater in bathroom was as loud as a freight train

Only good things about room
*friendly front desk staff
*convenient access to Grand Canyon IMAX
*room has oven and fridge

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresaweigel, Asst. General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re very sorry you had such a negative experience at our hotel. We strive to provide a high level of service and amenities to all our guests. We have taken your comments into great consideration and will work on improving the quality of our rooms. If there’s anything else we can do to make this situation right with you, please let us know. Our Asst. General Manager would be more than happy to speak with you directly concerning this matter. If you would like to speak with her or anyone else on our team, please give us a call at 928-638-2673.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Check-in was ridiculous, very busy, but for 20 mins only one person was at the desk checking guests in. When we were being checked in the guy was rude, he reprimanded me for asking about Wifi and breakfast! I didn't respond as I knew he was under a lot of pressure because of the queue of guests to be checked in. Nonetheless, no reason to tell me off for asking about the hotel facilities.

The rooms are clean but dated.

There is a nice swimming pool, and lots of parking space.

We got lots of promotion cards from the check in desk when we just wanted to check in and find out about the facilities.

Very good location, next to restaurants and a couple of shops. 2 miles from the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights right before Thanksgiving last year. When I decided to book this trip all the hotels at Grand Canyon Village were already full or weren't big enough to accommodate 4 people (2 adults and our 2 little kids). So I looked for hotels in Tusayan and this one looked OK and had decent reviews on Booking.com. One of these cases where the photos look much better than the place actually is. Location is fine if you can't stay in the Grand Canyon Village, it's a short drive, no big deal.

We were given a room on the second floor right above the indoor pool (our room window faced the pool), the door faces the open hallway, like in a motel setting. The smell of chlorine was so strong that I asked if we could change rooms, I started sneezing right away. Obviously I'm sensitive to strong smells, my husband wasn't bothered by it. The external hallway was also not a great thing as it was very cold, temperatures below freezing at night and early in the morning.

So we asked to change rooms, my husband starts transferring the bags from this room to the new one and I stay in the room with our two little kids until he's done, since it was near freezing temperature and our daughter wanted to use the bathroom, I was changing the baby's diaper, etc. While we are in this process the front desk calls the room asking if we are moving and I say yes, my husband is moving our bags and we'll be in the other room in a moment. Minutes later someone tries to force open the door in the room and luckily I had used the door bolt, I went to open thinking it would be my husband telling us he was done but it was some guy from housekeeping saying we needed to get out because he had to clean the room (!!!). I said we would be out in a moment and waited until my husband got back. He stayed outside waiting, my husband got back a few minutes later and we went to the other room on the ground floor on the building across the parking lot. I almost went to the car and got out of there at that moment.

This room was a bit smaller than the previous one, had only one sink instead of two, felt like a downgrade, but hey, it didn't smell of chlorine. My husband was the one who convinced me to stay because we had driven several hours from Scottsdale and he wasn't feeling like searching for another hotel, which might not be easy on a holiday week. So I agreed to stay. The hallway was indoor so it wasn't freezing when we were trying to get in. There was an outdoor pool right in front of our sliding door, but it was closed for the season and it didn't smell. Beds weren't very comfortable, I had a hard time sleeping. Even with the heater on, the room was quite cold (temperature was below freezing at night), it seemed to me that it wasn't working very well, can't imagine how it is when it gets colder. The room size is average, the room overall was quite dark, bathroom is OK, definitely not pretty and the furniture looks worn.

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant (buffet) one night and the food was really bad. They have a big gift shop, the front desk staff was friendly, the parking is free. We went for dinner another night at the Best Western which seemed to be a much better hotel choice in town, and the restaurant there was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel has a convenient location to the Grand Canyon, it's only a short drive to the entrance of the park. We had a room on the 2nd floor that is primarily accessed by an exterior staircase. In nice weather that would have been great, but because there was snow on the ground it was a pain to bring the luggage in and out. (You will spend your life waiting for their elevator to arrive, don't waste your time). The balcony of our room opened into the inside of the hotel, with a view of the jacuzzi- though you can't access the inside of the hotel without going outside again. It's just an odd design. The hotel wasn't full, and we probably could have asked for another room with a more convenient location, but it wasn't a major issue. The room itself was clean, and had a nice TV with a minifridge as well. In general, the place could use an upgrade/modernization, but I think the rate was reasonable considering how close it is to such a major tourist attraction. The hotel jacuzzi is really nice, and quite large. There is a changing cabana, but you'll need to bring towels, and then keep in mind that you may need to be outside for a few minutes on your way back to your room.
Everyone at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel which was a nice selection and very moderately priced. The waitress was friendly and we had a great experience with all the hotel personnel. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that can be accessed from inside the hotel, especially if you are traveling in spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Would highly recommend Canyon Plaza for a stay at Grand Canyon. Located just outside the Grand Canyon Park entrance about 3 miles. The area is called 'Tusyan' and is loaded with interesting information stops. An Imax Theater right outside the door of the hotel. Also a bunch of little pink jeeps waiting to take people on tours, parked next to the Imax Theater.
Restaurant at the Canyon Plaza is wonderful. The best dinner buffet! Salads were many and very good. Main courses were fresh and delicious. We also ordered off the menu and were very impressed with the steak selections... perfect.y cooked.
There is an indoor atrium that is beautifully decorated with living trees and plants. Some of the rooms have balconies that overlook the Atrium. There is an outdoor pool, but was closed for the winter months. Weather was beautiful for the beginning of March, sunny but chilly. A BIG indoor pool/spa in the Atrium.
Rooms were huge and very comfortable. Beautiful decor with big bathrooms. Very quiet for relaxing in between excursions into the Canyon.

Room Tip: Take good walking shoes for the Canyon view locations. Enjoy a quiet glass of wine in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.