We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we stayed in a suite, it was more like an apartment with a bedroom and a living room. we really liked it. the only issue was it was hard to heat the inside, but after having the heater on for an hour, it was solved. very close to grand canyon park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    246
    323
    145
    113
See reviews for
267
354
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here cause its close to the park. It was really nice, clean and friendly!! The restaurant was a little pricey for what I would call mid grade food....but your not really gonna find anything better around Tusayan! Theres a restaurant in the park at the bright Angel resort, it was much better food and fairly reasonably priced also!! All in all our stay her was a pleasant one!!

Room Tip: The rooms that have access to the inside corridor are much nicer, in our opinion!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was one of the hotels I stayed in during my long trip. It was the only one that had bad reviews but I thought it's only 2 nights why not. Well reading some of those reviews again I can echo their comments. Very dirty place. Great for college kids but if you have any self respect you won't stay here.

I'll start with the small issue and work my way up.

1. No WIFI even though they advertise it. It's only in the lobby. They're making it seem like it's available in the rooms. False advertising.

2. Staff is very rude and just hangs up after answering your question. Who hires these people?

3. Don't expect to get refilled on your coffee supplies during your stay. What you have when you check in is what you have.

4. This one is just plain disgusting and unsanitary. When I checked in the toilet was clogged. I left a note for the cleaning crew to unclog it. I was away the entire day and came back late at night. See my photo. The cleaning crew unclogged the toilet but left whatever was clogging it all over the bathroom floor. I immediately called the rude front desk staff and they sent a cleaning guy up. The did not offer me a new room. I spoke with assistant to general manager Teresa Weigel and even though she admitted I should have been offered a room she refused any kind or refund. General Manager Ann Wren-Serna was unavailable and by the looks of it is always unavailable.

Stay away from this place. There are plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresaweigel, Assistant to General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at Canyon Plaza Resort and leaving your feedback. We apologize that your most recent experience with us was less than satisfactory for you. We apologize for the inconvenience and we should have made sure the room was thoroughly clean. In regards to Wi-Fi availability, we have made changes to ensure it is available to all our guests in all rooms. Regarding the coffee, our staff replenishes the coffee every day unless there is a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. If one of our staff does forget to replenish your coffee, the housekeeping staff or front desk staff will bring you more. Our customers are extremely important to us and we want to make it up to you. If you would like to further discuss this issue, feel free to contact us directly 928-638-2673.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent one night here travelling from Las Vegas to Grand Canyon.
Simple place, not renovated in a while, the closest place to the entrance to the park.
Not really the place you want to stay for an extended period of time.
There are cabins inside the park, but they are more expensive and good luck finding them, check if you did not yet.
I think this property has a pool, did not check it.
Used by schools in their trips, but very quiet.
Cannot say anything bad over all. I would have liked a breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed overnight in unexpected circumstances. Front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. They were mindful of our situation and did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Will highly recommend this hotel for going out of the way to assist their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our stay was nice though just slept, showered and the got on the road.
We thought the room was okay. There as a balcony we could of sat out on. We watched a little tv. You could watch movies for a price (we didn't). The bed was comfortable and had a lot of pillows. They do not offer any free breakfast. They have restaurant onsite but we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3night as it was perfect for a gateway to the south tim of the grand canyon. It was literally 5minutes away.
The hotel itself was fine, nice clean rooms, restaurant on site we we choose to eat out.
Staff were friendly, need more communicating between staff though

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;