We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Nice rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and had a great time!
Had a room on the top floor,small balcony overlocking the restaurant.
The outdoor swimmingpool was freezing cold soo we used the indoor hot-tub.
Easy to find in Tusayan as it is a tiny "town" not very far from Grand canyon,would stay there again if its to cold to stay in the campgrounds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    242
    294
    138
    107
See reviews for
235
319
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let me start by saying that if you're planning on staying in a hotel/motel for your Grand Canyon stay, there isn't much to choose from, and the prices reflect that (not just here, but the other nearby choices as well). The motel is quite dated, and the carpets and decor were in desperate need of a facelift, but the bed was reasonably comfortable. We had a 1st floor room with a "balcony," which was convenient to parking, but the old, cheesy lock on the sliding door did not lock properly, and it didn't make me feel very secure. Since it is an older building, you will not find many outlets for things like cell phone or laptop chargers. The staff was hit and miss. The front desk person was friendly, but others we had contact with were not very helpful. I would definitely skip the breakfast. It is a buffet, but the food was very disappointing. Also, even though you can fill your own plate, you must rely on the understaffed help for coffee or juice, and they are in no hurry to serve you. I think this is how they clear you out faster. As for proximity to the park, you can't get much better; it's about a mile from the park entrance. The property is very spread out, so some of the rooms are quite a hike from the lobby/restaurant.

Final thoughts: If you are planning on making frequent trips to the Grand Canyon, this location is much more convenient than staying in Williams, but you will get much less for your money than you would in Williams. The town is small, and dining choices are limited, but I recommend the Best Western for a good meal.

Room Tip: Check your sliding door before settling in, especially if you're on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good Value. Very close to entrance to Grand Canyon. The room was well appointed with
all the amenitities. The front desk personnel were helpful. I was especially impressed with
the Navajo staff who directed me to several great sites, including Antelope Canyon. Don't
miss it. The helicopter tour was awesome recommended by the concierge. Had several meals
at the buffet and restaurant service was excellant and food was tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed as a large group. The rooms are very nice with a bathroom and additional sink-useful if there are more than 2 of you in the room.
We all went out of the hotel for some dinner and on our return we were going to sit in the bar area and have a drink-as it was only 9pm. However the bar lights were switched off and the barman had gone. We asked if we could get a drink and we were told the bar closes when the restaurant closes! We sat for a while chatting and then the hotel switched the atrium lights off.....a subtle way of telling us it was bedtime I guess!
Next morning we told our group we were getting up at 5.30am to have a 6.30am breakfast (this is what the hotel brochure/paperwork we were given said), but when we got downstairs all the lights were still off. Reception said they had changed the time to 7am 2 days previously. I asked if we could have an early breakfast as that was what the info they had given said and I was told 'no'.
Breakfast was good, but I agree they were very slow to serve coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was the most expensive night of our 11 motel night trip. This hotel is a little more upscale than your normal run of the mill motel. Check in went fine once I got my turn in line. I think this hotel caters to the bus tourists so the front desk lines can be long. We were upgraded to a suite which was very roomy and really unneeded for the two of us but it was nice. The bed was good and the room was nice. If you are trying to find this hotel with your gps unit good luck - doesnt really work. The hotels is actually in Tusayan Az but hotels.com lists it only as Grand Canyon - good luck. It is tucked in behind the IMAX theater. This hotel is huge and goes waaaayyyy back instead of up. It was a long walk from our room to the lobby. We were at the very back. The back building has it's own pool and hot tub - very nice. This hotels is located about one mile south of the south entrance to the Grand Canyon South Rim park - it is not in the park.

Room Tip: choose one in the front building for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights after driving a rental car from Phoenix to see the Grand Canyon. Just like their website sez, its only 1 mile away from the park entrance. During check in at the front desk, we were informed our room was upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. As a convenience the front desk will sell you a Grand Canyon Park pass for $25. The pass is good for 7 days from the day of purchase. When driving to the park we were able to bypass the ticket purchase line and show our pass for immediate admittance.

The hotel restaurant was serving dinner when we checked in and was full of guests. I cant comment on the food since we avoided eating there due to the large crowd (mostly foreign tourists). Out in the parking lot I counted at least 5 large charter buses. No doubt this hotel is very popular because of its close proximity to the park.

Our suite had a king size bed and a separate living room area which was nice. The mattress was tolerable, meaning not like some Ive slept in that were hard as a rock. Both of us were impressed but how large our room was.

I can only think of two things to gripe about. Our room did not include a free breakfast (other reviewers complained it was expensive and not great). Second, the bathroom does not have an exhaust fan. After sitting on the throne and taking care of business there was zero ventilation. Good thing I brought air freshener. We ended up just eating breakfast at the McDonalds right across the street. Even McDonalds was expensive( $7,50 for a breakfast combo that is $4 back home) It was either that or pay $12 for the hotel breakfast buffet.

Room service was good and our bed was made. If you are looking for a hotel that is very close to the Grand Canyon south entrance, this is very close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Canyon Plaza Hotel. The room was OK and felt clean enough but the hallways seemed not as clean, with the carpeting looking old.
The worst part was the breakfast, which was not included in the hotel rate. It was a buffet and we had to get up in order to get someone's attention in order to pour us some coffee.
This is an incredibly busy hotel for foreign travelers by bus. So it was very busy at the breakfast buffet. The food was OK and there was a great variety of choices to please various nationalities. But when we finally got the coffee, it was terrible. It must be the water or something like that...
The following night we stayed at the much more expensive Best Western and the experience was much better. But we did pay a considerable amount more for that experience, $200 per night including tax.
I would definitely stay in Williams which is 50 miles away, if I were going back to the Grand Canyon. The hotel rates are lower and there are many choices for dining there. It is a very easy drive from the Canyon to Williams.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.