We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close Friendly Staff Pet Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
santa cruz ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very close Friendly Staff Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was a clean friendly place
Very Pet Friendly
Face it you will be at the Canyon not in your room
Excellent view of indoor garden with inside balconies
Eat accross street at Steak Place and Pasta Place

Room Tip: Stairs are hard if you are tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    232
    291
    134
    108
See reviews for
241
328
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Even though this isn't the finest hotel, it serves it's purpose. It's close the the park and the rooms are very large. Check in was a breeze and Gary was super nice. I Howe er would not recommend eating at their restaurant. Too expensive, bad service and the food quality was not so great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Don't mistake this place for a resort.
This hotel is stuck behind a strip mall off the main street. The check in was fine and Rich, the Concierge, was great he set us up with everything we needed.

The pool is in a back corner staring right at the access road and parking lot.
The room had a stale smell and was lacking any fresh air. The rooms all look out into an atrium that has a spa in it. The overwhelming chlorine smell forced me inside with the windows closed.

They do not have a complementary guest computer, for that you have to go around to the strip mall and pay $3.75 for 15 minutes. The breakfast was tasteless and the price include the tip, I'm not sure what that was for, no one came to my table.

There are much better places to stay in town

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Not a good start with a very poor reception. Rooms were OK, I quite liked the odd decor and it was nice and quiet. Tried to get a drink but the bar was "shut for the season"! Paid a fortune for some out the back room with a service charge on top. Ate the dodgy buffet for dinner and the place was packed. Only highlight was a very nice waiter and a litre of house wine was the cheapest we found anywhere! [The next night we went to Cook Pizza and Pasta over the road which was absolutely gross.] I also got charged for a free phone call from the room (check the small print with your vouchers - if it says "some hotels may charge for this service" in microscopic print then this one surely will). I argued the point and showed the voucher but there was no getting round it. As others have said this place is probably only so populated because there isn't much choice around and you don't quite know what you're getting til you get there. There was nothing really bad about it, it was just OK. Glad I was only there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here two nights. The room was clean . We had no problems with the staff. The reason for staying here was for the view outside not inside..The restaurant was not good...over cooked steak , soggy vegtables and over priced.....I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The only good part about this hotel is its location, as it is close to Grand Canyon NP. The rooms are outdated and need to be renovated. You can smell the chlorine of the indoor spa inside the room. We had a reservation with breakfast included, but we didn't get it at first because we were told that it is never included even though it was clearly stated on the voucher.
The concierge made reservations for us to fly in a helicopter over the Grand Canyon, but somehow our reservation got lost and we weren't able to fly, that was very disappointing.
I hope to visit the Grand Canyon again, but I won't be staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresaweigel, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unfortunate experiences you encountered during your recent stay at our hotel. This is the first year that continental breakfast was not included with your room and some of our travel partners have not changed their forms. Our Concierge has not “lost” a helicopter reservation, although recently a helicopter reservation had to be cancelled because of a mechanical problem with a helicopter. We appreciate your feedback and wish to thank you for taking the time to let us know of your disappointment and please be assured that when we are notified, we do our best to correct all problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Although this hotel is outside the Grand Canyon park, it's only about 15mins away. We stayed in the king suite and it was clean and neat. The area was quiet and pleasant.

Rich the concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He helped us create an itinerary for the day at the Canyon and our trip up o Vegas - all with a smile and good humor.

Overall, a pleasant stay with polite staff. A bit expensive for what it is, but it's all the same in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.