We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tourist info from Rich the Concierge.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
1 review
“Great tourist info from Rich the Concierge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Although this hotel is outside the Grand Canyon park, it's only about 15mins away. We stayed in the king suite and it was clean and neat. The area was quiet and pleasant.

Rich the concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He helped us create an itinerary for the day at the Canyon and our trip up o Vegas - all with a smile and good humor.

Overall, a pleasant stay with polite staff. A bit expensive for what it is, but it's all the same in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    278
    366
    166
    130
See reviews for
295
407
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying in this hotel but were met by rude, snooty & unhelpful reception staff. Apparently their computers were not working so we were left standing for 10 mins until someone explained this! Unfortunately my psychic powers were not working that day so guess this was our fault for not guessing that this was the reason we were been ignored.

This was the 2nd week of our 3 week road trip so we had stayed in numerous hotels, so far we had an amazing experience & the hotels which were cheaper were way above the standard of this one.
The room was a reasonable size but the staff made the stay pretty unpleasant.

The hotel experience of course was not the reason for our visit & was soon forgot when we visited the Grand Canyon.

There is a pizza place over the road which looks a bit like a takeaway which is recommended as the pizza and pasta is very good. The hotel food was average & expensive and the bar was closed which was ridiculous.

For the price try book earlier and get in somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresaweigel, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We appreciate your feedback and have discussed your experiences with the front desk staff. Our front desk staff tries to acknowledge people waiting but sometimes there are multiple parties and it is impossible to make certain everyone has been greeted while waiting. We wish to thank you for taking the time to let us know of your disappointment and please be assured that when we are notified, we do our best to correct all problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel was fine - an economic option in a convenient location. Best feature by far, other than the Grand Canyon itself of course, was the hotel concierge - Rich is the very best we have encountered. Even before we arrived he sent advice, travel guides and was extremely helpful. When we arrived he was on hand to up date us, book tours and make further suggestions. A great stay thanks to splendid and helpful advice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We found an injured baby mouse in our room (which I see a previous reviewer also experienced). We threw it out then found a second one dead, next to the TV unit. The hotel has a small and rather dingy jacuzzi but it was OK. The restaurant was also OK but our waiter spoke to me as if I was stupid. The buffet breakfast was OK and a reasonable price. Apart from the mice, the room was otherwise was OK but there was a flimsy glass door leading out onto waste land at the back. It didn't fully close and was probably where the mice were getting in. There was a small bathroom with sink and wash area in the bedroom (typical of motels). There was a coffee maker in the room. No safe deposit box. TV was huge old fashioned monstrosity in a similar style wooden cupboard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was certainly not the fanciest hotel I have stayed in, but the rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is in need of updates, but it was certainly not broken down, etc. The price was excelent and I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

When we visited it was labour day weekend. The hotel cost a fair bit for a night. Comfy enough but just not close enough to the canyon. Next time we will spend more wisely and get closer to the canyon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights as part of small tour group. Room is very spacious and quiet. 11yr loved the second tv and sofa in the front room. Wi-fi can be bit hit and miss - noticeable in evening which may be due to high number of users at that time. Need user and passcode from front desk. Location is convenient walking distance to restaurants and IMAX. Shame a hotel this size does not provide a small coin laundry which would have been great. Pool located away from main building but near 2 of the buildings where majority of guests staying. Cannot comment on the food as we ate out.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.