We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They got the best travel agent ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Bologna e dintorni
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“They got the best travel agent ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel is pretty, clean and in the best possible position ever to discover the Grand Canyon. They give you a lot of advices and the entire crew is there to help you out.

We were wondering about the Antelope Canyon visits and a brilliant and useful travel agent has booked the best trip for us without asking for anything else than a smile.

Great surprise and the pool is so...cool :P

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    248
    299
    138
    109
See reviews for
240
325
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sant Llorenç Savall, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here one night and it was good. The hotel is well situated, near to Grand Canyon and next to the hotel there are some restaurants and bars.

The room is very comfortable and the bed is excellent , we slept very well. The room and the bathroom were clean. In front of our room there are a hot tub and it was great for relaxing before sleep.

But the staff are not helpful and they are unkind, except some waiters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is clean and very close to the park entrance, but there aren't nearly enough parking spaces for the number of rooms. If you return late in the day, you won't be able to park, and there is no overflow parking. You may have to drive around for a long time and finally park where someone pulls out, and walk a long way to your room. The buffet is decent, but not great. The buffet flow is very strange and crowded. Plates are in the middle and people wander back and forth trying to figure out which way the line is going and finally figure out there isn't line.

Room Tip: Bedding is good and room was clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently when visiting the Grand Canyon. We were really disappointed for what I got. Old stuff in the room, no fridge (the first time in our trip !) We asked for cold water and were badly answered. So we decided not spending one dollar more in the hotel. We had a dinner (very good) at the view lodge and regretted a lot not being at this hotel.
No internet as well (very slow, doesn't work).
The only interest is the proximity to Grand canyon and tusayan airport (for an helicopter tour) but we would recommend to choose an other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I booked this hotel because of the resort in the name but was sorely disappointed. It is nothing more than a big motel, rooms are outdated and musty. Breakfast was so-so, we skipped on day two and got an excellenet expresso from the café alongside the road. The only upside is the location near the entrance to the Grand Canyon and the concierge who will help you with trips. We took the helicopter trip with Papillon, expensive but ride of a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Expensive for what you get, but expected because it is the Grand Canyon. The hotel staff were like zombies; no smiles, walking around without looking at anyone. The breakfast buffet was okay, but again couldn't get a smile or a word out of anyone and couldn't get a coffee refill either. Had dinner across the street at a steakhouse. It should be noted that the staff there wasn't any better. Service was sllloooowwww. They automatically add a gratuity to the bill, which I believe contributed to the poor service. Why give good service when you already have a tip! When the bill came, our waiter held his finger over the automatic gratuity and we had to pry it out from under his fingers. He then had the nerve to stand there to intimidate us into giving him more of a tip. He never even gave us a water refill or came to the table to ask how everything was!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Canyon Plaza Resort in Tusayan, the small town area just south of Grand Canyon National Park' s south rim entrance. There are several hotels, a few restaurants here the National Geographic IMAX building and the airport. We planned a late trip to GCNP so we didn't even check in the park for accommodations.

I read some reviews on TA and of the hotels available, and after checking hotel websites, booked 3 nights at the Canyon Plaza. On the website, I thought I read "renovated" rooms. But I think it was merely that their standard guestrooms look good online. We booked a king "suite" with a pullout sofa bed for our 6-year old. The Suite is more like just a big room. Appointments are dated, carpet old and just okay. I think a little costly for what you get - but again it is Grand Canyon during the height of the season. I'd give the room a C+/B-

We were in building 2. But in building 1, it is actually a pretty cool setup - a huge indoor atrium/wintergarden where rooms open to the inside area - sort of like a Grand Hyatt.
I would have booked the Holiday Inn Express had the dates been available as you get some breakfast included with your stay, which can save some $$ as the McDonald's in town is one of the most expensive in the country (for example - $.99 cent sundae is $2.29 here).

So I'd say the room we stayed in was just average, nothing great, and overpriced. Additionally, the free "hi-speed" wi-fi was non-existent in my room. Mostly, of course, you go here to visit the Canyon, not stay in your room. but when you're in your room, it's nice to feel comfortable. This is a high turnover place, like all the hotels here, but it can use some renovation.

Checked the THE GRAND HOTEL while we were there - which I guess I had not seen on the web prior to visiting. Went in and had some appetizers at the bar before the restaurant opened. Place looked awesome - western motif...I bet the rooms are really nice (albeit probably more expensive).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.