We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Canyon Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Bordeaux
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently when visiting the Grand Canyon. We were really disappointed for what I got. Old stuff in the room, no fridge (the first time in our trip !) We asked for cold water and were badly answered. So we decided not spending one dollar more in the hotel. We had a dinner (very good) at the view lodge and regretted a lot not being at this hotel.
No internet as well (very slow, doesn't work).
The only interest is the proximity to Grand canyon and tusayan airport (for an helicopter tour) but we would recommend to choose an other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    243
    320
    145
    112
See reviews for
264
352
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I booked this hotel because of the resort in the name but was sorely disappointed. It is nothing more than a big motel, rooms are outdated and musty. Breakfast was so-so, we skipped on day two and got an excellenet expresso from the café alongside the road. The only upside is the location near the entrance to the Grand Canyon and the concierge who will help you with trips. We took the helicopter trip with Papillon, expensive but ride of a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Expensive for what you get, but expected because it is the Grand Canyon. The hotel staff were like zombies; no smiles, walking around without looking at anyone. The breakfast buffet was okay, but again couldn't get a smile or a word out of anyone and couldn't get a coffee refill either. Had dinner across the street at a steakhouse. It should be noted that the staff there wasn't any better. Service was sllloooowwww. They automatically add a gratuity to the bill, which I believe contributed to the poor service. Why give good service when you already have a tip! When the bill came, our waiter held his finger over the automatic gratuity and we had to pry it out from under his fingers. He then had the nerve to stand there to intimidate us into giving him more of a tip. He never even gave us a water refill or came to the table to ask how everything was!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Canyon Plaza Resort in Tusayan, the small town area just south of Grand Canyon National Park' s south rim entrance. There are several hotels, a few restaurants here the National Geographic IMAX building and the airport. We planned a late trip to GCNP so we didn't even check in the park for accommodations.

I read some reviews on TA and of the hotels available, and after checking hotel websites, booked 3 nights at the Canyon Plaza. On the website, I thought I read "renovated" rooms. But I think it was merely that their standard guestrooms look good online. We booked a king "suite" with a pullout sofa bed for our 6-year old. The Suite is more like just a big room. Appointments are dated, carpet old and just okay. I think a little costly for what you get - but again it is Grand Canyon during the height of the season. I'd give the room a C+/B-

We were in building 2. But in building 1, it is actually a pretty cool setup - a huge indoor atrium/wintergarden where rooms open to the inside area - sort of like a Grand Hyatt.
I would have booked the Holiday Inn Express had the dates been available as you get some breakfast included with your stay, which can save some $$ as the McDonald's in town is one of the most expensive in the country (for example - $.99 cent sundae is $2.29 here).

So I'd say the room we stayed in was just average, nothing great, and overpriced. Additionally, the free "hi-speed" wi-fi was non-existent in my room. Mostly, of course, you go here to visit the Canyon, not stay in your room. but when you're in your room, it's nice to feel comfortable. This is a high turnover place, like all the hotels here, but it can use some renovation.

Checked the THE GRAND HOTEL while we were there - which I guess I had not seen on the web prior to visiting. Went in and had some appetizers at the bar before the restaurant opened. Place looked awesome - western motif...I bet the rooms are really nice (albeit probably more expensive).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

As many have said, it is not a resort. And also remember, it is not at the Grand Canyon, but about a 10-15min drive away. But it is perfect if you either cannot afford to stay Canyonside, or simply don't want to (although it is much better to stay on the Canyon).

It is relatively cheap in price. We had a twin room, which was Very Small and dated but clean. We got free buffet breakfast in our package, which was not exactly 5-star but still quite plentiful.

They have a Tour Advisor person in the lobby who can help you organise things to do and give you useful information about the Canyon. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on it, but the menu looked nice. Eating on the Canyon at one of the recommended restaurants is the nicest, but more expensive.

The most interesting part of this place is the inside 'resort' part. It is like a mini jungle, where there is a small pool and spa. The pool has a mini waterfall to sit under, nice after a long walk in the canyon. Like the rest of the place, it is all very 1980's.

Just don't go in with huge expectations and you will have a lovely time. As I said at the beginning, it is a cheap alternative to staying at the canyon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkeye, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is an average hotel with a nice front lobby. Nothing more. The room was old, dated, and smelled like smoke. Elevators VERY slow, and noisy. Pool was ok, but at a different location. Breakfast buffet way over priced. Will definitely find alternative hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I really wanted to like this hotel since I was very excited to be at the Grand Canyon. It was over priced with an extreme lack of amenities. For $200.00 a night you think there would be a fridge, MAYBE even a breakfast. None of this was included. What you get is a noisy hotel, with crappy parking and a rude staff and guests. The wifi, while free, was so slow I could barely upload pictures.
Unfortunately, no matter how many bad reviews this "resort" gets they have a captive audience.
The only good thing is the location. It is very close to the park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.