We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tubac Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tubac Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   1 Otero Road, PO Box 1297, Tubac, AZ 85646   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Spring
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic property. Golf courses were great. Accomodations were great as well. Food service was TERRIBLY SLOW. It took close to an hour and a half for breakfast. Food was good but overpriced. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    62
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
103
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed last week at the Tubac Golf Resort & Spa for 2 nights in a Queen Casita. It was spacious and the surrounding grounds were lovely. My complaints? Tired furnishings (armoire with a handle missing; small, old television; stained draperies), inexpensive finishes (laminate bathroom counter with painted plywood-looking cabinet), and slow, intermittent Internet. I can live with this in an inexpensive room, but our bill for 2 nights was $473.53. At that price, I expect more. We've traveled all over the world and I am almost always happy with hotel accommodations (see my other reviews), but this this was a big disappointment. Others in our group were of the same opinion.

Room Tip: I heard the Hacienda rooms are lovely; if I ever return, I'll keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis Orchards, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked the Stay and Play package at Tuac Golf Resort. The villa was sparkling clean with quaint southwest decor. Each unit is on the ground floor and has it own patio. The grounds are very well kept with acres of grass which is unusual in Arizona.
The golf course is in great shape. The 27 hole format can lead to some very long rounds.

Room Tip: I didn't see any distinct difference in the room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just back from 2 days stay at Tubac Golf Resort. Took friends from England with us, and spent the days golfing, resting and eating very well. The hotel is a great little hidaway, down south of Tucson. Front desk where very accomodating and friendly. The rooms (Hacienda Suite) are spacious. Great bathroom and a nice patio looking out over a golf fairway. The rooms are a bit tired looking but well worth the price. We had dinner at the Stable restaurant, and all of us were very surprised over how wonderful a meal we had. The over all service is good, but not outstanding. The staff is missing the caring aspect of hospitality. They do what they have to do but not more. The golf course was in good shape and we had a wonderful time playing and enjoying the fantastic weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Tubac golf resort again, because we love the atmosphere of calm when arriving. Our first stop is a at the " golf bag drop" where we not only get greeted nicely with a hug, but have everything taken care of for our golf arrangements.
The next stop is the check-in. We were not disappointed here either. A very nice welcome and check-in to a fabulous golf course view "Hacienda Room". Lovely location for winter, because you can see the sunset. Our room is wonderful, fireplace, nice patio, very cozy.
We strolled the grounds,very well kept, and settled at Stables Bar outside, to watch golfers hit over the island green. A very peaceful sight. Walked to Ponchos, Home Store, fabulous site of authentic southwestern furniture and items.
Dinner at Stables Restaurant was excellent. Our waitress, Vicky, very experienced and friendly, made the night. Delicious dinner and lovely view . We planned a dinner the next night at another location in Tubac , but changed our minds, and came back to Stables, where we had an even more delicious dinner the next night, waited on by excellent waiter, Josh. Delicious food again.
Dennis Palmer, VP & Head at Pro Shop, made our golf reservations smooth. He, and Ben, Golf Pro, have a handle on repeat customers that is admirable. Dan, another pro golf instructor, has been known to give a quick golf lesson right on the sidewalk, while greeting or saying goodbye. He actually helped me with a "golf chip " problem, the result of which I use to this day.
Tubac Golf Resort is doing something right. They remember you and treat you like special guests each visit. We are coming back again .

Room Tip: Winter months, ask for Hacienda Room with sunset view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a quiet weekend in one of the hacienda king suites. The room was nicely appointed and very clean These rooms are the most recently renovated and quite nice. We asked for a room more private, and were given a room near the chapel, out of the traffic flow..( not that there is a lot of traffic!). We ate in the bar one night..(the restaurant is rather expensive), and one night we drove to a mexican restaurant that was recommended by a friend closer to the border (Sorry I can no longer remember the name..it was mediocre anyway.) All in all, this was a nice weekend and I would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRATHMORE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Beautiful property. Quite a surprise to see all the lush, green grass and water in an otherwise arid area. If you are a golfer you will appreciate the course. Lovely pool, jacuzzi and spa. Restaurant is superb. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are soundproof unlike some properties we have visited.

We stayed in a pet friendly, hacienda room. It was a little worse for wear. One of the panes of glass in the window was cracked. It appeared as though a previous guest may have left a pet in the room unattended. The door had been shredded as a result of a pet clawing the door. The area rug on the floor was well worn and curling at the edges. However, there was absolutely no lingering pet odors from previous guests and a sign had been place in the room to advise that the room had been specially treated to remove any cigarette odor. It was a non-smoking room. Very muted lighting.

A little disappointed with the room as we paid 179.00 for the first night and 199.00 for the second night. Definitely not a budget hotel.

The hotel is not within easy walking distance of the village of Tubac, a car or bicycle would be required.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tubac Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubac Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Otero Road, PO Box 1297, Tubac, AZ 85646
Location: United States > Arizona > Tubac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tubac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tubac Golf Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful luxury destination resort is set on 500 acres at the base of the Santa Rita Mountains in Southern Arizona, south of Tucson. The resort features 98 luxury Hacienda style accommodations, two restaurants and cantina at the golf course, a full-service spa and salon and a 27-hole championship golf course. The resort is just five minutes from the charming Village of Tubac, a world-renowned artists community. This romantic, almost secret place is still a haven for Hollywood notables, politicians, accomplished business executives, and generations of families who returned year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tubac Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubac Golf Hotel Tubac
Tubac Golf Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tubac Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.