We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food w/ inconsistent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Grill - CLOSED

Maria's Grill
40 Avenida Goya, Tubac, AZ 85646
520-398-3350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food w/ inconsistent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place was recommended by an employee at the Tubac Golf Resort where my wife and I were staying. We had a nice lunch w/ reasonable prices and a great mango margarita at "Happy Hour" prices. Our server was excellent on this occasion. We returned two days later for "Happy Hour" and had a nice Nachos dish but our server (different from our first meal) incorrectly priced our Blue Moon beer as an imported beer because she haughtily said it was a Belgium beer. If she knew what she was serving she would have known that it was domestic and at a lower price. We ordered the same beer two days earlier as a "domestic" beer." If you go here, we hope you don't get her as a server.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Every time, we have visited Maria Grill, have never been disappointed. Great food, and nice preparation. On Friday's, they have good entertainment which is even an added bonus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great comfort food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Maria's on the advice of locals and it was well worth it. We ordered the chicken pot pie (wisely split it...it's enough for two) & also enjoyed the taco salad (again, enough for two). Great Margaritas. Excellent service & good value....recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best bloody Mary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I went here for breakfast on a Sunday morning and had an excellent meal. On Saturday and Sunday Bloody Mary's and Mimosa's are the special. Fantastic. The breakfast was great. Everything from good American fare to wonderful Mexican fare. My friend had the Huevo Ranchero and the size of the serving would easily have fed two people. I would recommend this cafe for breakfast any day to anyone who asked.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rico, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped for a quick lunch and had a BLT while wife had the taco salad. Both were quite good, and the price was right. Service could have been better as 3 different waitresses served us and each one had to ask who ordered what. The place was quite busy so that could figure in, but the nenu was interesting, the food good, the price good, so we will go back to try some of the other items on the menu. Seems like a "senior hang-out" Definitely worth a return trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.