We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop for the night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 2260, Tuba City, AZ 86045   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tuba City
Certificate of Excellence
Fruita, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for the night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There are not many choices for hotels in Tuba City, but this place is the best option if you are passing through. It is a newer hotel in a good location right off of the highway. Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable and staff was friendly. Only spent one night here but was pleasantly surprised by this place. Only complaint was that the breakfast was pretty bad, but most hotel breakfasts are. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    160
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
154
194
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

No complaints about the hotel. It is very beautiful, decently priced. Staff is extremely friendly! Breakfast was ok...nothing extravagant. The drive from the Grand Canyon wasn't all that long. Would definitely stay here with my babies again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in Tuba City and used the hotel as a basecamp for daytrips to the Hopi villages on the three mesas. Be aware that the property is a good fifty minutes to an hour plus away. Rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable. Staff was unfamiliar or had limited knowledge on visits to the villages and wanted us to hire a commercial guide (we explored on our own). Breakfast was a disappointment - no traditional food - and limited dining options. Tuuvi Cafe across the street at travel center was really tasty with great service. Denny's next door to hotel was also surprisingly good...Net net I would recommend this for anyone staying in Tuba City...price was right and a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived without reservations (we didn't know when we'd be passing through) but were able to get a room at a reasonable rate (an AARP discount, if I recall correctly). The reservation staff was welcoming and efficient. The hotel, which was envisioned by the Elders of the Upper Village of Moenkopi and which is owned by the village,is tastefully furnished with Hopi art. In addition to the lounge in the lobby, there is another lovely, quiet lounge looking out over a replica of a kiva. The atmosphere is very peaceful.

Our only disappointment was with the food. There is no restaurant at the hotel, though a full breakfast is included in the room charge. But at 6:45 a.m. the "hot" items on the breakfast bar were lukewarm, and only a lightly tinted water came out of the orange juice machine. We ate dinner at the Tuvi cafe across from the hotel, but if we go back, we'll probably eat at the nearby Denny's for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is located and owned by the Hopi's. It is almost new, attractive and very comfortable. Decor is southwest with Hopi influences. Great morning breakfast. Good starting point to explore the Hopi region. Adjancent to the hotel is a Denny's and across the street is the Tevi Cafe, which is in the truck stop.

Note that alcohol is not allowed on Hopi land.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for 4 days beginning Sept.26th, because it was centrally located from everything we had planned to visit and we weren't disappointed. In fact we couldn't have made a better choice because our day began with an extremely nice complimentary breakfast and ended with a beautifull,comfortable place to sleep. The entire environment of this facility exceeded our expectations. Our only regret is that we never had the time to enjoy the pool, which was right outside our door. I read the reviews before I booked this hotel and am so glad that I ignored the negative comments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, WV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were anxious to try out the new-to-us Moenkopi Legacy Inn for our two-day visit to Hopi. We were not disappointed! Ample parking, luggage carts, a smiling and welcoming front desk staff, beautiful lobby, southwesternish feeling hallways and room (we had a Village Suite). Everything was functioning -- TV, fridge, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and wireless internet. Bathroom amenities were by Sister Sky -- *very* nice! And most importantly...an extremely comfy bed which resulted in a restful night's sleep! The pool and hot tub were still open in late October even though the morning temperature was in the high 20s -- and people were actually using both!!! Breakfast was more than adequate-- I had eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, orange juice. A big pot of oatmeal was available as were blue corn pancakes. I have no negatives to report. AAAA++++

Room Tip: Village Suite is larger than the standard rooms but has no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites

Address: PO Box 2260, Tuba City, AZ 86045
Location: United States > Arizona > Tuba City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tuba City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites, the first hotel to be built on Hopi tribal land in 50 years, was the inspiration of the Elders of the Upper Village of Moenkopi. It was their vision that their Village should be a place of welcome and gathering for visitors to the land of the Hopi. Situated in the Upper Village of Moenkopi across the street from Tuba City, the Legacy Inn is at the Western Gateway to Hopiland and the Hopi mesas. It is also the beginning of the Hopi Arts Trail that connects visitors with artists and galleries on all three Hopi mesas.Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi tub, fitness center, courtyard, business center, gift shop, and evening Hopi cultural programs. The Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites is the perfect venue to host your business meeting or event. Offering 3,096 square feet of meeting space and three break away conference rooms, we can ensure that your event is a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moenkopi Legacy Hotel Tuba City
Moenkopi Legacy Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.