We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina information” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Lake

Canyon Lake
16802 N.E. Highway 88, Tortilla Flat, AZ
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marina information”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Please read if you are renting a boat from the marina! The people at the Marina were nice but they intentionally don't tell people where the lake ends and the point which you should turn around. DO NOT GO BEYOND SANDY POINT or SANDY BEACH! There are about six buoys that warn you there are unmarked obstacles ahead and that is the point where you should turn around. There is a campground there with a sandy beach. We kept cruising at our own risk but didn't realize it was the end of the lake. We ran the pontoon boat up on some rocks and had to pay $175 for a new prop. This was totally our faults but this could've been easily avoided with just a quick sentence. When we pulled our pontoon boat in, the guy at the marina asked "Did you go beyond Sandy Point" (that's when we first became aware of Sandy Point or Beach)? and when we replied "yeah I think so", he continues "yup, that happens about 4 to 5 times a week." Gee, thanks for telling us! So please be careful, we don't want this to happen to other people who are already spending a lot of money on renting a boat!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride, fantastic scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you are visiting the Phoenix metro area this is the perfect way to spend 1/2 day on a fantastic trip through the Superstition Mountains and Canyon Lake. It's about 50 miles east of Phoenix/Scottsdale. The winding mountain roads take you through spectacular vistas. Don't miss this terrific day trip from Phoenix!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went to the Lake early in the morning, and it was very quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed the rising of the sun as it lit up the different parts of the mountains. The air was still and not hot. There were a huge amount birds tussling around - getting ready for the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get A Pontoon Boat For The Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a blast. Sixteen of us rented two 20' Pontoon Boats. Got the boats at the marina and took a 3 hour tour of Canyon Lake. There are plenty of places to jump off and swim. Didn't fish but maybe next time. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. We looked for sheep on the cliffs but just couldn’t seem to find one. Will defiantly do this again...Worth the trip…

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Float the Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Almost everytime we are in Phoenix, we take time to visit Canyon Lake. What a great time for family and friends to share -- cost is not too bad especially if you have a larger group - take a picnic basket with you because you can stop at many places on shore and enjoy the scenery. We've seen deer and mountain sheep, as well as a lot of different wild fowl. And if you have a mind to, you can buy a fishing license and float and cast - the lake is well stocked. A must see if you like the water.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Lake also viewed

Tortilla Flat, AZ
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to Canyon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canyon Lake to your Saves list