We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but the situation is changing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikaso Hotel Resto

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hostelworld.com
Mikaso Hotel Resto
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   4 callejon A I-82 Zona 2 Canton Chuacante, San Pedro La Laguna 07001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Valence, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place but the situation is changing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was probably the best hotel in San Pedro but the rising water level is slowly changing the deal. Indeed have the lake waters started rising for 3 years now at an alarming rate and when I visited it already swallowed a couple of buildings of the hotel forcing the owner to move the dorm from a nice location on the first floor to the ground floor where the view is not as nice.
That said the place is still a great place to stay with breathtaking views on the lake and surrounding mountains either from the balcony of the ground floor, the massive first floor terrace or the top floor terrace. Two free-to-use working hot tubs allows to enjoy reasonably-priced drinks or food from the bar/restaurant before sunbathing on the deck chairs.
Regarding the rooms the dorm is clean and the beds are comfortable but it lacks windows and feels a little cramped. Rooms look way better but I didn't try them.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room, go for it as the dorm is not the best pick here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
32
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is a characterful building with a huge potential, but it definitely needs some maintenance work. The rooms (we have stayed in two) desperately cry for fresh paint. Room no. 6 on the ground floor is quite dark and contrary to what was promised, there's no hot water. When I touched the switch on the shower, I got an electrical shock. We were offered to take a shower in an external bathroom, but this one was also cold. Finally, we showered in another room, which was lukewarm at best. Room no. 5 is lighter, the shower is (just) okay. When we look out of the window, we see a pile of trash in the garden. The reception area of the hotel is quite dirty (you don't really want to sit on the sofas there) and some old and broken furniture is placed here. Apparently, no one of the staff seems to care. The kitchen for guest's use is large, but poorly equipped. There are no soup spoons, no towels, no lids for the pans. There's no salt, pepper, oil or vinegar. Use the fridge and you will be charged an extra fee of more than 2 USD. Quite hilarious! There's no wifi in the rooms. A good thing about the hotel is the really hot Jacuzzi. All in all, the hotel is not as great as it could be, if only the management would pay more attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at Hotel Mikaso.
Would have stayed longer, too.
Amazing food and coffee and drinks at very reasonable prices.
Unbelievably friendly and helpful people at the hotel.

Super views!!!
Surrounded 360 degrees by mountains and volcanoes.

At night you can see so many stars!
As well, the lights from Panajachel, San Marcos, San Juan, San Pablo, and more!

Very conveniently located a five minute walk from the central dock in San Pedro, two minute walk from the Santiago dock, or a short 20 Q. for two people Tuk-Tuk ride.

I came across this hotel after a three week stay in San Pedro studying at the Spanish Cooperative School. I had time to reaearch and visit other hotels in San Pedro and, for me, hotel Mikaso was the best choice.
Quiet, clean, safe, very affordable, kind staff and great food.
Oh, and you can hear the sound of the waves of Lake Atitlan if you book a room with a 'lake view'.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I admit I wasn't sure to make of the Mikaso at first: it took them 4 days to respond to my email, then once I responded they didn't complete my reservation and no longer had the room available for my stay. The bathroom was so small you had to step over the trash can to get to the toilet. Nobody ever at the front desk except for one couple that would go there and make out for hours.

But by my second day, and on our second room (they had to move us, because of the reservation issue), we really fell in love with the place. The food was good and the kitchen staff was wonderful. The view can't be beat - fishermen standing in their cayucas, three volcanoes, water birds, gorgeous flowers, the whole town of San Pedro -- and there were some charming pets (an orange cat, a german shepard, and a yellow lab). You have to walk a narrow path through corn and coffee fields, as well as the most beautifully tended garded I have ever seen. We enjoyed sitting in the comfy chairs outside our room, and lingering upstairs over coffee or beers (depending on time of day) or sitting in their hot tub. It's far enough from the bars and backpacker scene that the noise won't bother you, but it's close enough that you can join in if you want to. And our second room seemed bigger.

It's my understanding that this is the nicest place in town; Sak'cari is right next door, has the same view, and looks nice too. Sak'cari were a little cheaper, and much, much more responsive via email. But we really ended up enjoying Mikaso, and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

At a moderate price, you can have a room with water on 3 sides, watch the ladies washing their clothers, catch the early am fishermen in their dugouts, and watch the sunrise. Room good size and clean, decent restaurant (Poutine?) and free computer/wifi. Quit and tranquil, yet a 5 minute walk from the madness, bars etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay in San Pedro. Separated but not far! Great food also. Just the perfect spot! Like in every other low budget hotel in Guatemala, bring your ear plugs!! In the case of Mikaso is people passing outside your room the ones that make noise!

Room Tip: I beleive the best rooms are in the second floor; Less people walk outside your room, so it´s quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I usually stay with local families when I'm in San Pedro La Laguna but made reservations at Hotel Mikaso when I had a group of friends visiting with me. We had 3 lake view rooms in a row and the little single room nearby. That gave us our own beautiful patio area with plenty of seating and wonderful views, especially early in the day. We shopped at the produce market and Tienda Aracely and used the nice share kitchen to prepare breakfasts and lunches. There's wifi in the restaurant area and on the top deck. The staff was accommodating and stored our luggage for us since we were leaving San Pedro hours after check out time.

Although it wasn't a problem for us, do note that you can't drive to the door of the hotel; it's a block or so from the nearest street. I was surprised that they didn't accept credit cards at this time. Also, the nearest part of the lake has lots of seaweed. For us, that added to the interest; we enjoyed watching locals collect it for drying and the herons and egrets feeding in it.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms cost more but we loved having a nice deck area right by our rooms as a gathering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mikaso Hotel Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikaso Hotel Resto

Also Known As:
Mikaso Hotel Resto Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna
Address: 4 callejon A I-82 Zona 2 Canton Chuacante, San Pedro La Laguna 07001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikaso Hotel Resto 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the edge of the lake Atitlan in the middle of a beautiful garden, Mikaso Hotel offers you 15 private rooms plus 2 dormitories. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, jacuzzis, common kitchen, pool table, concierge desk, spa services, meeting room and a restaurant with the nicest roof top terrace in town, giving you an incredible view of lake Atitlan and the Volcanoes. Our staff will be please to help you plan your excursions around San pedro & Lake Atitlan, whether it's hiking the volcanoes, kayaking on the Lake, learning about the mayan culture or just discovering the surroundings. Welcome to Mikaso Hotel y restaurante en San Pedro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mikaso Hotel Resto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikaso Hotel Resto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mikaso Hotel Resto to your Saves list