We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view with a really nice owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Cafe y Restaurante

Dolphin Cafe y Restaurante
8th Calle Panajachel Dock | San Pedro la Laguna, Lake Atitlan, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
+502 5692 4201
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: VIEW OF THE LAKE,,, WE ACCEPT VISA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view with a really nice owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We came here for breakfast after trying all the more popular places around San Pedro and were not disappointed. The view was the best we had seen, food great and staff really friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must check it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant with amazing view. Fantastic service & great food. It is not easy to locate since it has a subtle entrance off the main strip but up stairs is a spacious comfortable place. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible View, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were finally drawn inside by the great smells coming out the door day after day. It's easy to miss the Dolphin because it is on the second floor and doesn't have much street frontage. But check out the menu posted there and see if you don't find something -- or a dozen things -- listed that sounds just like what you're wanting.

Once upstairs, one whole wall is gorgeous lake. Candles and a big beautiful mirror make the room welcoming. Everything's clean and fresh. The new owner, MaMaTe (spelling?) is called "Dolphin" by his friends and has a small dolphin tattoo on his hand. He speaks good English and is eager for your experience at his restaurant to be perfect.

He took me over to a laptop hooked up to good speakers and invited me to choose the background music for my meal, via Youtube.

The food is very reasonably priced, and portions are generous. I got 7 or 8 breaded shrimp, which were quite good. I was happy to see the big pile of steamed veggies that came along with it, as well as rice, guacamole, a salad, french fries and tortillas. I believe this was 40 quetzales ($5)! You will find locals eating here among the ex-pats and turistas -- they surely know a good value when they see one.

The Dolphin specializes in seafood at great prices, and is known for their ceviche, which comes in three sizes -- 20, 40, and 60 quetzales. But the menu truly has something for everyone. I intend to go back for more seafood and to try some of the Dolphin's many interesting offerings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Highly recommend! And they serve diet coke for all you addicts out there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Portions are large with very fair prices! The atmosphere is top notch- very clean with a great view of the lake. It's owned and ran entirely by locals and they seem to really care about serving great food and giving great service. We got the fajitas-yummy. Another couple we ran into said the burrito was great. Very easy access from the Pana dock, just take your first right and you'll run into it, so it's a good option for your first meal in San Pedro. The owner was so friendly I'm sure he'd help you out with any questions you'd have about the town too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
2 reviews
“This is the place to eat Ceviche in San Pedro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This unassuming restaurant has a humble entrance disguising what could be the best view in San Pedro de la Laguna. The attention to detail here is amazing as is the food. I have tried breakfast, lunch and the famous ceviche which is absolutely to die for. For a light meal I highly recommend the tacos served on corn torltillas that literally melt in your mouth or for those in need of a big classic meal....I had the Dophin's version of Cordon Bleu and it was fabulous with incredible flavor and quality ingredients. There is a large breakfast menu and the little sides of cheese and beans are just right. All juices are fresh squeezed arrive at the table in generous portions. All meals are very reasonable and the service is great. In addition, the bathrooms are clean and modern. The Dolphin is definitely one of the best restaurants in San Pedro.....just a short walk up from the docks and take the first right....its right there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Cafe y Restaurante also viewed

San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Dolphin Cafe y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Cafe y Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.