We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your vibe.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buddha

The Buddha
2-24 7a. Avenida, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
011 502 4466 3721
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
world
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Choose your vibe.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The great thing about the Buddha Bar is that you get to choose whether you eat and drink among a lively scene or something more chilled. This place has 3 levels - each offering a different atmosphere. The ground level has the bar, a pool table and often live music. The second level has a chill out lounge with a laid back vibe while the upstairs terrace offers something in between.
There is a BIG menu here offering food which includes Guatemalan, Mexican, Asian and other international choices - all at great prices. Every day there is something different on the 'specials' menu too. Service is quick and the food standard good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Drank here a few times, but only ate once.
The Good:
Big selection of drinks and cheap too
Good atmosphere on the different levels (note - the top floor doesn't open until the evening)
Good portions
Quite tasty
The Not So Good:
Service does take a while. Be prepared!
The top floor is the only one with views. The others are inside.
Unless you sit totally under a light, you can't really see what you're eating. The candles don't cut it!

Over all, it suited us, so we would eat there again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, slowest kitchen ever.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went to watch a World Cup game, having heard it was a popular spot. The third story set up was really cool and they happily changed the channel to a Spanish one for us. Everything was good until our food took over an HOUR to come out and the place was way way way less than half full. They told us it was because the chicken wings had been frozen, but that doesn't make sense. You can fry frozen wings! Anyways, it's a good place for drinks and vibe but I would not go there hungry again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'm vegan, so I'm always looking for restaurants that have good vegan options. It's pretty amazing that The Buddha has more vegan options than the vegetarian restaurants in San Pedro have.

My favorite is the Thai Tempeh salad. The Nasi Goreng and currys are also great. Portions are large, food is fresh, and they have great drinks. I have not found better food in San Pedro.

My only complaint is that they allow smoking. Sometimes you get lucky upstairs, but often there's someone smoking at the next table.

They regularly have live music--fun!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Huge food portions and great vibes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The food portions here are more than generous and The taste is FAR from bland! After mulling over their extensive menu for quite sometime I picked the chicken wrap, rich flavours and stuffed with tender chicken and potatoes, yes! Potatoes! Marinated with in white wine and balsamic vinegar with sweet caramelised onions... Delish. The friend I was with got serious food envy and ordered the same after me, and were also not disappointed.

The staff are cool and aim to please. There is something going on here each night of the week. Live music, films, pool. It's a great little travellers hub. Sure it's not a 5 star restaurant, and those people who expect that and complain about 'thugs' playing pool and bland food baffle me. These guys use the best ingredients they can get their hands on and have tried to create a relaxed and backpacker atmosphere - to which they have succeeded!

AMAZING selection of beers too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buddha also viewed

San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to The Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buddha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.