We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great place to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoola Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zoola Hotel
Save
You added Zoola Hotel to your Saves list
8010, zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food and great place to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Were there for lunch, we had chicken with pesto, salade and rice - was excellent! Then some meatballs with tomate sauce, salade and rice which was average. The starter (guacamole) came with the meals and we had to wait around 1.5hours... Big portions anyway and a great place to relax in a great atmosphere, would stay and eat there again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
3
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Cool atmosphere and set-up. Plus the food is awesome if you want to just eat there. Small dorm rooms but you'll barely be spending your time there. If you go to the clubs at night, you have to walk back to the hostel through a small alley which was a bit sketchy but I never had problems. Centrally located and definitely worth the view off the back dock.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Excellent place, out of the way of the main strip which is nice if you want to relax for a while before returning to the party madness! Fantastic food, incredibly comfortable beds, and helpful staff.
Good music in the lounge area too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We didn't stay here but wished we had, we stumbled upon it going for a walk after dinner and found the awesome pool bar which they sometimes heat at night. Then walked over the bridge and found the Israeli restaurant and the hostel. Stay here if you can! It looks awesome!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Didn't stay there but wish I did. Food is very good and there's a great outdoor lounge with low tables and pillows where you can just hang out. Also a heated pool and a bar, although everything in the bar is quite expensive compared to all other places in San Pedro.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Beautiful hostel/guesthous! The zoola is amaizing! The food is delicious! The rooms are nice and decently priced (60 quetzal for private)!

The only downside is the Israeli volunteer workforce.. Which is apparently just 3 guys and a couple girls who make awkward eye contact your whole stay and don't interact at all! Don't confuse me saying their terrible with anything they did being outright rude or aggressively mean, only that as a frequent hostel volunteer I think their only job is to interact with guests and be sociable.. Which they don't bother doing at all! They act like they are working a prison sentence and don't enjoy being there! Terrible case of hostel staff clique-ishness

But still, I would give it a 8/10 based on the kitchen staff, atmosphere, and price! If staff was decent, it could be an incredible hostel/guesthouse.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Was in here the other day, was nice looking, food was ok but it was very expensive.
They brought over the bill before I'd finished eating and when I looked at it I got charged for service which was non-existent. The whole place screams "Pay!"
When you compare it to other places around it's just not worth the money.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zoola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoola Hotel

Address: 8010, zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Zoola Hotel Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.