We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay - great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sakcari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sakcari to your Saves list
Hotel Sakcari
7a Av 2-12, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay - great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic stay at Sak'cari Dec. 28. Charming little place right on the lake, with spectacular views of the lake and surrounding volcanoes right from your balcony. Room was comfortable and clean. Grounds were impeccably well-maintained.

Matthew was most helpful in making arrangements for airport pickup and delivery to the hotel, despite a delay in the arrival of our flight.

San Pedro de Laguna is particularly charming, with its narrow lanes and streets. The town enjoys plenty of excellent restaurants, bars, and shops, without taking on a "crowded" feel.

Will definitely return to San Pedro, and stay with the kind folks at Sak'cari.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
46
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room was just above the lake and to get to it, I needed to walk through a lush garden with draping bougainvillea and other eager plants and flowers. I never minded when I found that I forgot something and had to go back to my room.

Isabelle, warm and friendly, took care of me and and the room - I felt like I was a guest in her home. Matt, the owner, went out of his way to be extremely helpful when the artist delivered the paintings from San Juan before I was ready to take them. And on the day I was leaving, when both bank machines in town were not functioning, they saved the day again.

In addition to being a beautiful location, very reasonably priced, friendly and comfortable, I'd also say that they went way beyond my expectations to help me have as smooth a stay as possible.

The name of the hotel means "Sunrise," and it is deserved. I often awoke just before dawn and it was glorious to watch the sun climb up over the volcano and ignite the trees to the west with those first yellow rays. The fishermen and I paid homage most mornings.

Room Tip: I loved being close to the lake, but if you don't like to hear the waves against the retaining w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

spent one night at Sak Cari San Pedro last week. Wasn't sure what to expect. Clean Hotel, Wonderful location on the shore of Lake Atitlan, Staff - I think the owner- was excellent, very helpful and the room was clean. Price was great and I highly recommend. Down the way is the Cafe Atitlan - Highly recommend. Overall very pleased, would go back any day and stay longer! Felt very safe and secure at this location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great lakefront location and nice staff. My wife and I came for our Honeymoon and had really nice time staying there. Try to get a lakefront view!Have a pleasant stay. bye bye, (Reviews must be at least 200 characters...)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Clean, good price, beautiful view and gardens. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.
The location was very good. The Mayan people are very friendly and I made new friends. I would sit on the balcony or on my bed and stare at the lake and mountains- gorgeous.

Room Tip: With a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel Sakcari is more expensive than some other options in San Pedro, but at less than $40 for two for a lakefront room, it's a wonderful deal.
The grounds are quiet with lovely gardens, the rooms comfortable and the design makes the most of the lakefront setting. Rooms have big windows and outdoor seating areas, and there are lawns and gardens with chairs and hammocks. The place is incredibly tranquil yet you're in the heart of the San Pedro's traveller's district, with restaurants and bars nearby.
A big plus for us was the kayaks available at no charge (simple sit-on models, mostly). We went out every morning and the lake was beautiful, with local people doing their washing and fishing from the shore.
Pay coffee and beer available, but no breakfast. Wifi worked on the terrace, but signal for our room. Friendly staff.
It's a great option, and San Pedro is a fine place to spend time. (Better than Pana.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the lake. We liked the three rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The place was simple, safe and clean, that's all I ask when traveling... The view was to die for! The place is super safe, I went out on the terrace late at night to see the moon over the late and a las, there was a guard checking to see that all was well. A really nice plus when you are a women traveling alone. Next door, you'll find the Italian's... best coffee and breakfast.
Live Music weekend night's at the BUDA and the Clover. I recommend the Gallo and the Mosa Beer's really great. Enjoy!
Carmen H.

Room Tip: Anything that looks over the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sakcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakcari

Address: 7a Av 2-12, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sak'cari El Amanecer is an Eco-hotel located on the beautiful shores of Lake Atitlan. It has 20 lovely rooms overlooking the lake, the names sak'cari and amanecer mean sunrise in Tz'tujil and Spanish. The hotel is located in the heart of San Pedro La Laguna within walking distance to fine restaurants, bars and spanish schools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sakcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sakcari Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sakcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.