We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Gran Sueno

Hotel El Gran Sueno
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Gran Sueno
Save
You added Hotel El Gran Sueno to your Saves list
8 Calle 4-40, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
1 review
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good price, clean, great location - close to everything. Buy a loaf of banana bread from the ladies in the a.m.Lots of good eating right outside door of hotel. Internet cafe just down street. Very short walk to pana dock and tuk tuk taxis.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views. Having curtains on bathroom was not a big deal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arequipa, Peru
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Outside of it's absolutely OUTSTANDING views, the hostel was pretty average. The beds are a little worn, as are the sheets, the place is clean but not sparklingly so, and it's got a nice open-air feel to it, but I definitely didn't see the value. It was around $12 night per person per room when I was there, and there were a lot cheaper places I saw which were a lot nicer too.

Overall decent, but really nothing at all special.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better-- for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The rooms are small, the view is good, owners are helpful. That there is only a curtain to the bathroom might not be exactly the standard. Otherwise, nothing to complain about except for the price: there are better options for that price around. We paid - after a bit of negotiating - 140 Q for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was clean and nice enough for the price. The view is nice and there is a roof terrace with couple of hammocks and tables. Only complaint we had was that there is only a curtain separating the bathroom from the room which really doesn't give you any privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed 1 night here in Nov. Arrive by the Lancha from Pana, and since it is a fairly steep, hilly place, decided to take a Tuk-tuk. Took us the long way around to this hotel, and charged us Q15. Don't bother as this place is a short walking distance from the Pana ferry dock. We got taken:).
Anyhow, the Gran Sueno is a nice simple hotel. Rooms are bring, clean, en-suite with electric hot water for showers and cheap (Q130 for 2); without breakfast (breakfast is easily available steps away fro the hotel on the way to the Pana ferry dock for $3). Also has a nice juice stand close by, were you get fresh fruit juices for Q5. We were in room 6, and did not have a great view of the lake (rooms with view were taken) but the rooftop deck was very nice (with hammocks, and a great view of the lake. Recommended.

Room Tip: Get room 9 or 11; best rooms with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent a night in San Pedro, and walked into Hotel Gran Sueno for a room. We were wuickly greeted and given a lovely room that far exceeded our $17/night expectations! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Pros:
1) Perfect location, just up from the docks
2) Friendly, welcoming family
3) Colorfully & cheerfully decorated rooms. It's obvious this place is a labor of love (hand painted walls, cute decor)
4) Free filtered water for your bottle
5) Insanely cheap ($17/night USD for an ensuite double with lake views!)
6) Super clean and neat
7) Lovely lake views
8) Free wi-fi that works

Cons:
1) No free breakfast. But, don't care- you can get a typical Guatemalan breakfast at a lakeside cafe for $3!

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel run by a nice family. We paid 140Q and we got the first room with a privet toilet and shower. The room was very clean, something that is hard to say about MOST of the hotels/ hostels in San Pedro. The location is great as its on the main street and close to both docks. The room was fairly big for two people with T.V, WiFi and lundry service. We arrived by mistake for one night and spent the whole 4 nights in this hotel. Not fency but you get your money's worth.

Room Tip: Try to get the upper floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Gran Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Gran Sueno

Address: 8 Calle 4-40, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hotel El Gran Sueno Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Gran Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.