We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with fantastic view (just don't eat there)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel IslaVerde to your Saves list
Hotel IslaVerde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 7014, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with fantastic view (just don't eat there)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

first of all the positives as there are plenty. the setting is truly spectacular, probably one of the best spots on the lake, with unbeatable views of the lake and surroundings. the hotel itself is wonderful, tastefully done, with beautifully maintained (yet kind of wild) gardens. The communal areas are just a perfect place to relax and admire the view, with hammocks and swings aplenty. the fact that everything has been done to protect the environment is admirable and it doesn't hinder comfort. everything is recycled and theres free drimking water available at all times. one can easily spend a whole week here. 

there's also a few areas for improvement. for a place like this I would've expected a bit of a warmer welcome as it is all rather business like. when i asked for a massage, therapists were not available that day and no other update was given on subsequent days ("i will try to remember but if i forget remind me!") so i didn't bother in the end. there's plenty of massage places in san marcos btw. I applaud the fact that the waitresses are all local ladies from the village but I'm afraid they haven't been trained properly. they just seem clueless and on occasions it seemed they'd never seen the menu before. several dishes and drinks were not what we'd ordered so we gave up in the end. it was not a language thing since we both speak spanish. Internet is intermittent, which is acceptable in remote locations, but it wasn't clear when and why it would be switched on/off even when we had paid for a whole day. then the food: I'm a big fan of the slow food movement but not at the expense of flavour and taste. they've got wonderfully home grown herbs in their garden and yet, the food tastes of ... nothing. portions are big but it's a big splurge of nothing on top of another one, and it is very pricey for what it is. I fed the fish in the lake several times although I'm not sure even the fish would eat it. it is not the case with breakfasts which were generally nice. I would recommend to eat somewhere else or to buy food at the supermarket in panajachel.
finally, and I know a lot of people who would disagree with me as it is quite personal, but I never like it when the house cat is allowed to walk and sit everywhere (on the computer, breakfast table, counters, etc.). I don't find it particularly hygienic but then I'm not a cat lover.
all in all, definitely a place to stay but they need to improve their customer service. i would go and eat somewhere else for tastier and much cheaper food and don't rely too much on the services they sell. magical nevertheless.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello client,

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. We appreciate constructive criticism and definitely take it to heart. Since your stay, we've actually switched our internet providers, so that we now no longer have to charge for internet. We appreciate that you're able to understand that since we're in a remote location, amenities of more developed countries aren't always available or as accessible as we'd like them to be, so thanks for your patience in that regard.

As for the food, we're sorry that it didn't live up to your expectations, but as you can see, our food is normally something that we pride ourselves on, and that most people enjoy. But we're grateful for your input.

Thanks again and we wish you the best on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Isla Verde Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    40
    10
    6
    13
See reviews for
27
77
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Martin Chile Verde
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We came here for one of my last nights in Guatemala and had an excellent stay. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The food was delicious and enjoyed on a patio that sits right above the lake, the most interestingly placed dining room I've sat at in the Atitlan area after more than 15 visits. Their concept of providing local ingredients, cooking from scratch, and purchasing as little pre-packaged food as possible was a welcome change from many places I have eaten in Guatemala. There are numerous creative spaces to hang out and relax spread throughout the property, my favorites being the canoe swing and panoramic yoga room. The fireflies were wonderful to watch as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Client,

Thanks so much for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review for us! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will make another visit soon. Take care and all the best.

Sincerely,
Isla Verde Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the 3 nights we spent here. We were looking for an escape from the bustle of the city. This fit the bill perfectly. The little cabins were really cute with a breathtaking view. It feels like you are staying in a tree house in the middle of the jungle. Added bonus: the night is lit up with hundreds of fireflies. Its a great center area to hike the mountains and visit surrounding villages. If you are looking for a luxurious resort, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a peaceful, nature getaway than this is perfect. Staff is very attentive, in a non-obtrusive way. Food is delicious and original.

There's no ATM anywhere nearby so don't forget to bring enough cash. However, they do offer to go back with you into town on your way out to get the balance (if you don't have enough) for Q50.

Room Tip: Each room has a great view. Expect a lot of stairs but this is part of the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Client,

We're happy to hear that you got to see the fireflies at night!! That's one of the many special things that our location offers, in addition to great views and a quiet natural setting. Your feedback is valuable for us because it helps us know any improvements that we can make as a hotel, so thanks for taking the time to write us a review!

All the best,
Isla Verde Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved this hotel for its tranquility, simplicity, the fine view from our cabin and the delicious food.

Watch out for the quirks of the menu pricing system. Breakfast and lunch are good but dinner is either a 3 course set meal or pasta, neither of which are great value but everything else makes up for it. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved our cabin with its outdoor bathroom. We wish, with the benefit of hindsight, that we had made this our base to visit the other villages, rather than stay in San Pedro and San Marcos. The climb up to the cabins is steep, so would be a challenge for the less mobile but great exercise for everyone else. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Client,

Thanks so much for your feedback. We try and take each review as constructive criticism so we can improve our hotel experience for future guests. We're lucky for our great location on Lake Atitlan and we try to provide a special experience to everyone that comes across our path.

Thanks again and all the best!

Sincerely,
Isla Verde Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I planned on staying at Isla Verde 1-2 nights but ended up spending 2 weeks! It is quiet, only the birds and waves of the lake at night. The food is wonderful, the service outstanding, and it was the relaxing peaceful vacation I needed. The staff helped me find short day trips and set me up for massage, yoga, zip lining and more. I highly recommend these cabins nestled in the hills with a beautiful view of the lake. I couldn´t have asked for a better stay.

Room Tip: If you´re in poor physical condition, ask for a lower cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We often have similar clients like you, that plan on staying just a day or two but end up staying longer, once they've settled into our beautiful, tranquil location.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we wish you the best in your future travels!

Regards,
Isla Verde Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice small eco hotel. Bungalows were clean with good showers (warm and good pressure). Food was delicious en staff very friendly. They can arrange shuttles, tours etc. Nice view on the lake in a quit town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello!!

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review!! We think Santa Cruz La Laguna is a great place to get away for a bit while visiting Lake Atitlan, so we're happy that you enjoyed yourself here at Isla Verde!!

Thanks so much and enjoy the rest of your travels :)

Sincerely,
Isla Verde Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Awesome place to unwind for a few days or a month! Very relaxing, best views, great cabins with the coolest jungle themed bathrooms, and great food so you don't need to leave anywhere. Melissa and Daniel were very helpful and were up to a chat even in the midst of being very busy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Client,

Thank you so much for your review!! We're glad that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel and that you were able to relax while at Isla Verde. We know that there are few places to find total peace and tranquility in Guatemala, so it's nice to know that our hotel is one of them.

Thanks so much!

Sincerely,
Isla Verde Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Address: zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 7014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel IslaVerde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.