We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Save Saved
You added Hotel IslaVerde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel IslaVerde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 7014, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Although we didn't stay overnight at Isla Verde, we would hike (or took a boat) from our lodge to enjoy their restaurant. Isla Verde nourishes the soul with delicious fresh, home made, pure food. From the moment you set foot on the grounds, you can't help but feel peaceful and relaxed. The restaurant is set in a whitewashed curved room with a large white couch, a table and chairs, leading out into a picturesque deck overlooking the breathtaking views of lake Atitlan. Adorned with hanging vines this deck is the perfect setting to enjoy, breakfast, lunch or dinner. We ordered the stuffed avocado, & sesame encrusted falafel wrap with fresh salad with nuts and berries. The large nachos & guacamole platter was very delicious.
Both the cold lemonade and milkshake were a fair size and really yummy. This restaurant is one of our favourite on the lake, not only for its amazing fresh food & service, but for the setting and atmosphere. Well done!

We're just sad we didn't have the chance to stay here overnight. There's no place like it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Katia,

Thanks very much for joining us for a meal. We try our hardest to make sure that our food is fresh and delicious, so we're happy to know that people appreciate it! Come back again soon and stay with us if you'd like! We wish you all the best in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    39
    10
    10
    14
See reviews for
27
71
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

At first we thought we were mad to book this place, since it is wooden cabuns in the middle of the woods it ahs something a bit different from what we call as a "hotel".
HOWEVER, after the first night you totally get used to take a shower in the open bathrooms and see all the animals around you. we were planning to stay for 2 nughts and evenutally booked a week :))

the hotel is quite, peacefull and has amazing local-western restaurant.
don´t miss breakfast- espically the ESPANOL one, try all crazy smoothies, book a dinner every day (even of share it, this is totally worth it) and most important relax... (:

we also recommend to try the hotel offers such as: the sauna, massages, salsa classes. it is really uniqe and good.

finally, if you are spontanious like us, ask the staff for their recommandations for exploring the lake, you will be surprised how much they know about secret places, restaurants, and hikes.

This is the place for us to also say to the hotel staff a huge thank you all for a wonderful week and a perfect ending to our vacation. Your hotel is amazing and all staff employees are super nice!!

Room Tip: if you have trouble to climb a bit ask rooms 1 to 4. if you really want to enjoy the veiw take room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aviv0,

Thank you so much for staying with us!! We really do take your thoughts into consideration, so it's nice to hear what you have to say about your stay here at Isla Verde. We put a lot of our efforts into creating a relaxing environment for our guests, with the sauna, hot tub and of course, salsa lessons!!

We're very grateful for your input and we hope to see you again soon! Muchas gracias por todo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I don’t think I’ve ever had a hotel experience that felt more “me” than my stay at Hotel Isla Verde. I care about the earth, about nature, animals, what have you. It’s so encouraging to know that there are hotels in the world that care about the earth as much as I do. You can tell that Isla Verde cares about the environment from the first moment that you walk in. The windows are open, they use bamboo and other natural materials to build their structures and, of course, they have their adorable pets hanging around.
The staff didn’t hesitate to explain to us about their solar panel system, water purification system and other features that they had used to help protect the environment around them. They really knew their stuff!! The other thing that I loved was that they encourage any suggestions from their guests about new projects and additional ideas to make the hotel more “green.”
Our hotel stay was amazing at Hotel Isla Verde, not just because of the beautiful setting, but because it also accomplishes a higher goal in addition to being a lovely, romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view! We stayed in Room #7 and it was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks very much for your stay at our hotel! It makes us glad to know that there are like-minded people in the world that care so much about the earth and the environment. Whether it be using energy through solar panels, filtering our own water or recycling our waste, we try to make every decision with Mother Nature in mind. We think it's very important to work together for a more eco-friendly world and we DO really appreciate your feedback! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A weekend getaway at Isla Verde was all I had time for and from the moment I stepped off the boat late on a Friday night, I entered paradise. Isla Verde has a separate dock and upon arrival something feels different. It is calm. The candles flickered and soft beats played from the main house inviting the weary traveler. Isla Verde is a believer in the slow food movement, and you can taste the difference in whatever you order. I noticed people coming to dine from outside the hotel, a good indicator that they're doing something right. And you can taste it. The entire hotel was built with equal care -- in an environmentally sustainable way, while maintaining the beauty and comfort you are probably looking for. The main house has a fireplace, awesome selection of books, and games. The staff are incredibly accommodating for whatever your needs may be.

The cabin I stayed in with my friend had two beds and a private (outdoor) shower that overlooked the lake. No worries, the water is hot -- heated by solar power. The room had an incredible view of the lake from my bed. Both mornings I awoke at sunrise, laid in bed, and watched the light change over the volcano. There was a booklet in our room explaining the thought and process behind Isla Verde, which gave me a greater appreciation of the detail that was put into this place. There are services available such as massages, hot tubbing, and yoga (the studio overlooks the lake too).

Take a dip in the lake or rent kayaks next door from a nice American couple. Awesome experience. Maybe hike along the path around the lake and walk through a neighboring village. It's paradise, you can do nothing and still be happy. Perhaps it was the sun mixed with drinking a cuba libre and eating some of their handmade, homemade pasta. But there is something special at Isla Verde that you won't find at the neighboring hotels, and that something can make all the difference.

Room Tip: The cabins are on a steep hill, so the walk to your room could be an issue depending on the health/a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello guest!

We're so grateful for your stay with us! Thanks a lot for your kind (and poetic) words about our hotel. It's a great thing to hear positive reactions to something that has so much effort put into it. And waking up early to watch the sunrise is a great idea! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you safe travels! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wow, what an amazing end to our Guatemala trip!3 nights at Isla Verde. We stayed in one of their bungalows with bathroom. From the balcony you get incredible views across the lake, good size room and 'tropical' bathroom with orchids growing down from the ceiling and open air views to he lake. It was very magical. Great restaurant and the best liquidos we had in Guatemala.
Thanks Isla Verde!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

What a great title to your review! That is one of our famous fruit smoothies, as well as a very kind way to describe our hotel. Thank you very much for your stay with us. We hope to see you soon!! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Filthy would be the one one word description I would give to this place, from the the fly infestation all around to the stray dogs running up and down the property that you don't know if they are part of the "ammenities" or what. The rooms, damp dirty floors with 4 walls with no screens in place and the worst that we were able to see was the dirty shower, this shower had a dirty used bar soap with hair from who knows who....the meditation area, PLEASE!!! A dirty area with peeling paint at the walls that showed that it had no maintenance and in disarray.

We did not got a chance to see their "jacuzzi" that you have to pay extra to use but I did get a chance to see open ends of rebar on an area were a toddler was playing next to a 6 feet wall that leads to an open canal that seems deep enough for someone to drawn with no bridge to cross; the only way across was a single wooden board .

They advertise themselves like an "ECO FRIENDLY" place, you would think it has some green areas for you to rest, the only green you see is from the tree tops and the only entertainment is a swing in a grassless area.

We had made a reservation to stay a couple of nights in July with a family of 5 and decided to get the suite they offered on the website. They sell you an spectacular view of the lake; the only thing we could see were the tree tops from the shared balcony we had. To see tree tops I can see them anyday from my backyard. The refund policy the worst I have ever had in years of traveling; I decided to pay in full for my reservation and they did not offer no refund at all, I had to fight them to obtain any sort of refunds and at the end the only refund I got was 3.50.THIEVES!!

I would never recommend this place to any person.

Their customer service is really poor and they have become very complascent about the way they are doing business, they take advantage of people and the electronic way of doing business now at days to their advantage and not to take care of the most important element, their customers. Do not get fooled by their advertisement!! You can get the home made meals anywhere else you go and get more and much better as well.

Jesse

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jesse,

I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Isla Verde. Please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience suffered while you were here.

Our yoga studio is there for free use of our guests, and we certainly make an effort in maintaining it, it has brand new curtains and little sitting areas and a breath taking view of Lake Atitlan, with a 180 degrees of glass windows.

During the rainy season we do get humidity in the walls due to the heavy precipitation and humidity, but to be honest we think it looks kind of antique and wait till the dry season to repaint it. Your comments did surprise us since we constantly get compliments for its awe-inspiring views and its natural feel.

We call ourselves eco-friendly for several reasons: we do not dispose any of our waste either from the bathroom or the kitchen into the lake, we recycle our dirty water and use it to water our plants, we do not sell plastics bottles, most of our energy comes from solar panels and we have our own organic garden that allow us to produce most food we serve from scratch, and the rest we get from local farmers. We are constantly praised for our gardens, and take great pride on them. Regarding green areas, during rainy season some areas might have become muddy, preventing us from hanging hammocks and putting cushions in certain gardens, but we normally have lots of little cozy spaces to hang out in the garden. Also, we just finished a large, covered event space where we have put a lot of bean bags, cushions and hammocks.
We are sorry you couldn’t get your money back. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated on our website, and when making a reservation our customers need to check a box agreeing to those terms. We give a cancellation period up to 2 weeks in advance before your arrival. We are really sorry if our terms did not work for you, but probably you will find very similar terms in other establishments.

As for the customer service, Karen and I(Daniel) try to be nice and kind to everybody with no distinction. During high season we have a lot of work to do and we might not be able to chat with our clients, but we certainly put all of our heart and effort to provide attentive and satisfactory service to our customers, giving them advice and arranging all kinds of services, like transport, food and other amenities to meet their needs. This is our main priority so please do accept our apologies if in some way we did not fulfill your needs.

Regarding the flies, there is a fly season around the lake, but it just lasts for a month. As for the dirty soap bars, we change them every morning, we can’t control if someone uses them during the day and leaves them there for the evening.

In all, we are really saddened to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience at Isla Verde. Please accept our most sincere apologies and our promise that we will take your feedback into account in order to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I just had our wedding at Hotel IslaVerde. It was more perfect than we could have imagined.

The staff at IslaVerde is amazing and the food is absolutely delicious. I got ready for the wedding in one of the hotel rooms and they were also beautiful.

I can't say enough good things about Hotel IslaVerde, whether you're staying at the hotel, stopping by to eat, or having a wedding or other event, it's perfect and beautiful, with one of the best views on the lake.

We very much appreciate Ana, Karen, and the rest of the staff who helped make our wedding so incredibly beautiful and perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Guest!!

We were so happy to host such an amazing group of people for your wedding. It was such a wonderful ceremony, we couldn't have been happier to be a part of it. Please come back soon in the future!! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Address: zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 7014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel IslaVerde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.