We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel IslaVerde to your Saves list
Hotel IslaVerde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 7014, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Delaware
1 review
“Wonderful visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a wonderful piece of paradise! Greatly enjoyed our 4 day weekend with local travels on the lovely Lake Atitlan and on the many miles of paths between the local villages. Spectacular views, wonderful always helpful local staff, helpful indigenous folks and families, helpful and interesting co-resident travelers. Great place to learn more about the world we live in. The eco friendly facility provides hot water (plenty of it) and electric through solar panels which is backed up with the local power grid. Our room/cabin was spacious for 4 and could sleep 6, but a small bathroom. No real room amenities (i.e., coffee, microwaves, wifi) that you would find in a traditional motel/hotel, but to leave the rat race of life behind for a few days was a welcome relief. Cozy office and dining area overlooking the lake has internet, wifi, books, games, and movies. Food was wonderful. Meals are cooked to order or have a preset dinner menu if there is a large group at the motel. Other restaurants 10-20 min away by foot or boat. Drinking Water is filtered by charcoal and UV light so is safe to drink. Until next time...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello again guest!

We designed our hotel as an escape from the daily stresses of life, so we're happy to hear that you relaxed and enjoyed yourself during your stay here at Isla Verde. Please come back and see us again soon!! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    45
    10
    6
    15
See reviews for
32
88
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

There are few places in the world that one can visit on vacation that feel like home. There is an ambiance about Isla Verde that allows you to relax with interference. I've always felt incredibly welcomed there during my previous stays. The food is wonderful and refreshing. The staff were extremely helpful by helping me schedule boat rides to the near by towns. Even on the day that I had to take a last minute boat into town I was helped by the staff to arrange my pickup.

I would recommend that anyone thinking about staying at Isla Verde be honest with yourself about how much you enjoy nature, quiet time and simplicity. If you are city dweller who is out of shape and finds nature a novelty then please think again. You will have to take a pleasant lakeside walk from the dock to the hotel then another stair climb up to your cabin. But it is worth it! Every step. Waking up to the lake/mountain view is one that you will remember for the rest of your life.

Cheers,
Francesca

This is a delayed review but much deserved. Original travel dates 2008 and 2009.

Room Tip: Excellent Cabins available for the single traveler. The views are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all of your kind words!! We want all of our guests to feel the same way as you, like Isla Verde is their second home. We're happy to know that you feel so comfortable here and we're happy to know about anything that needs to be improved. Please come and see us again soon!! All the best in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

There are a few places in Santa Cruz I would rate very highly, but when it comes to food, I don't think anything compares with Isla Verde. Their restaurant is very good not only by Guatemalan standards, but I would put it up against some of the better places I have eaten in the United States and Europe. The owner and staff are very friendly and the views from the dining area (a patio over the lake)

Room Tip: If you are staying here and have a decent amount of luggage, tip the boat captain a little extra to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dearest guest,

We put a lot of effort into making our food fresh and delicious, so it's good to know that you enjoyed it! Thank you very much for visiting us and hopefully we'll see you again soon!! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The reception and dining area is beautiful and cozy. The location is very tranquil. The staff and atmosphere are very relaxed. The food is amazing.

We really enjoyed our stay until we got our final bill. We had three issues with our bill.
1. When we arrived we paid the balance due for our room less the 10% we paid hostelbookers. Our final bill did not reflect what we paid. It showed we paid 1700 Q, but we paid 1910Q.
2. The bill also included an extra 22% room tax which was already included in the hostelbookers price.
3. Isla Verde advertisers a happy hour 2 for 1 drink special in a booklet they have at their front desk, but they do not honour this special. When I questioned them they said no they just have a tapas special, well we never received any complimentary tapas.
Overall there was a discrepency of over 500Q on our bill, they did finally concede to the tax error, but we had to pay the rest. If you make any payments during your stay get a receipt and if you think you are ordering 2 for 1 drinks you should ask first.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnn1e
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The views from the room are wonderful. The food was great and a little pricey. Given that much of the food was grown on site and the rest boated in, the price is understandable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed at Isla Verde in February 2012, and what an amazing place, tranquil and trendy, eco-friendly and economical, all with breathtaking views of Lake Atitlan. The shared bathroom (solar heated water) even had a spectacular view of of the lake.

Oh and the food, slow cooked to perfection, absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at Isla Verde for 2 nights with our 4 children. The accomodations were rustic, but comfortable and clean. The apartment we stayed in had no separate bathroom. If you got out of the shower it was in the main room. We were woken up a few times by the new puppy, who I believe was staying below us. My biggest complaint was that there was no where for our kids to swim. We chose to spend our day at the neighboring Casa del Mundo. The food was average, but took a long time. The service was just ok. When we checked out I was suprised at how much our food bill was. I would recommend this hotel, but if traveling with young kids who would like to swim stay else where. That being said, it is located in a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
2.5 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Address: zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 7014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel IslaVerde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.