We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food... and a great view too...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sabor Cruceno

Cafe Sabor Cruceno
Calle Principal, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
502 50468469
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Guatemalan, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: A student- run restaurant located in the CECAP vocational center building in the town of Santa Cruz la Laguna. It is part of a yearlong culinary arts program that trains local indigenous youth in food preparation and service. Open for lunch from 8am to 3pm Monday through Saturday. The food is the best in Santa Cruz! And visitors will have an opportunity to visit the vocational center and purchase locally made crafts in our shop.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
535 reviews 535 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Excellent local food... and a great view too...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Really worth a visit if you are staying on the lake... take the ferry boat to Santa Cruz and then a 3 minute tuk-tuk ride ....or a 10 minute uphill hike if you are up for it ;-)

The food is simple, prepared fresh and absolutely fantastic... no complaints whatsoever and the view was pretty spectacular too :-)

Great to see people supporting this local student run culinary arts cafe... we hope they continue to thrive...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“wonderful view onto the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We came for a while by a lancha from Panajachel and needed a drink after climbing the steep hill to the village. This café-restaurant at the back of the CECAP centre is about the only place in the village to sit down with a beer or a juice, and to enjoy the view at the same time. Very friendly people serving here and at the workshop in front of the building, you can buy locally handcrafted textiles etc. for a good price, at the same time supporting the community work being done in CECAP.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing View, Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We came upon this cafe by chance and are so glad we did! We were blown away by the stunning view and quality food. We decided to sit on the benches by the window, rather than one of the tables, to get the most of the view of the lake and volcanoes.

To drink we ordered a mocha and a hot chocolate (both delicious), as well as a fresh lemonade. To eat we both opted for the typical Guatemalan breakfast of eggs, beans, plantain, cheese, and a fresh corn tortillas. There was a sprig of parsley to garnish the omelette as well as a few small cups of salsas. Everything was so good, and the tortillas in such abundance, that we ordered an extra side of beans and plantain so that we wouldn't waste any!

Another bonus is that this cafe supports the young craftspeople and vocational programs in Santa Cruz. The servers/chefs are students in the culinary program who are training for professional careers in the food service industry.

Absolutely worth the visit if you are in Santa Cruz! I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There aren't many choices for food in Santa Cruz, but even without stiff competition, this place is great. The cafe is in the vocational school, and the building is modern, clean, and situated on the hillside with a beautiful view. We had a typical Guatemalan breakfast, and the food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The chef was also the server, and the service was excellent as well. Our only complaint was that it is only open for breakfast and lunch during the week, and is closed evenings and weekends, and we really wanted to eat every meal here. If you are in Santa Cruz, make this one of your first and frequent stops for excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Tried few different things, and everything I had was great. Super friendly and professional service. Great quality food for a good price.. Spectacular views, what else can you want? Don't miss it if you are around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sabor Cruceno also viewed

Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Cafe Sabor Cruceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sabor Cruceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.