We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mucho Tranquillo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Arca de Noe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel el Arca de Noe to your Saves list
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mucho Tranquillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I highly recommend Arca de Noe! Christian was a great host and cook - he made lovely spinach ravioli (all from scratch) on our first night. The best thing about this charming, lovely place is the garden - the hotel has a huge flower filled garden right on the water and the cooks pick limes and avocados straight from the many fruit trees and make the freshest guacamole i've had!

Don't expect the latest mod cons as the Arca is rustic and runs on solar power. However, that just adds to the charm and the tranquillity of the place. If you want a bit of a party and drinks, just pop across the lane to Iguana's, which is a loud, backpacker type of place. I much preferred then heading home to our lovely Arca and be serenaded by the sounds of nature. Oh - the view that you wake up to is the lovely volcano across the lake - simply magical!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
29
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

so relaxing to be there. close to boat if you want to go anywhere,love the garden just a front of the volcano when you wake up in the morning .sure be back again ,its a nice stop when you travel in guatemala specialy when you want to stay in the lake atitlan. the hotel have a affordable price and clean ,you can stay here a week a go to visit the lake.my favorite was take a breakfast with a amazing view of the lake , it s a very quite place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

i love this place!
as a teacher in guatemala city i come to the lake often and ALWAYS stay at arca de noe.
the hospitality, views, food and company are the best.
check it out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We arrived in Santa Cruz and ended up at Arc de Noe. We paid 140q per night for 2 people and stayed in a beautiful room with a private bath that had fantastic views of all 3 volcanoes! The room itself was beautiful as were the grounds and it was just the place to relax after a strenuous hike. We had dinner there and as everyone said the food was delicious. Make sure to take a flashlight! It being an Eco lodge, the lights and water were not always in perfect order but there was always a convenient alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

We planned to stay here 2 nights and ended up staying 6! Anna is a truly world class chef and we have eaten in many of the top restaurants in London. We were treated to 6 course meals every night and never the same meal twice. She uses local ingredients, many from her garden, and combines local cuisines with others from around the world. Meals are very extremely good value too. Make sure you go when Anna is in residence! Wolfgang and Anna have had an interesting life and are great characters. The rooms are simple and rustic but comfortable. If the water pressure is no good in the room you always have the alternative communal shower room. The lodge has an amazing location right on the lake with spectacular views. Request a room further from the dock because the local taxis like to play their car stereos quite loud early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We did not stay at el Arca but we ate here on our last evening and wished we had more evenings! The meal was excellent and would not have disgraced any major restaurant metropolis. A five course menu included: anchovy butter on apple with dried guava; banana soup (this was the most amazing soup I have ever eaten and we all had second helpings); parmesan tart; pork tenderloin in a fig sauce with couscous and broccoli (again, delicious) and peaches poached in Limoncella. Absolutely fantastic. Food is a bit of an obsession with us and we have eaten in many top restaurants around the world and the soup in particular is going in to our Top 5 dishes ever. The dinner costs for Q75 plus 10% which is good value for Santa Cruz - our hotel charged Q90 for a dinner and Isla Verde where we ate the previous evening charges Q100. The latter was good but no where near this class.

Arc de Noe also sells wine at reasonable (for Guatemala) prices.

Dinner is eaten family style which I am not normally crazy about but we enjoyed he company of a family from Atlanta and a couple from Montreal and hope they enjoyed our company too! The food would have been worth it even if the company hadn't been so pleasant. The ambiance of the simple room is also lovely - with candles and music.

Basically we had a $300 plus dining experience for around $35. Cant say fairer than that really.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

What can I say.......this was truly a unique experience, and I sooooo wish we could have stayed longer. Santa Cruz is such a relaxed spot. We didn't stay here, but did go for dinner. All local produce and a lot from the Arca's garden. A five course delight. This place is a must. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel el Arca de Noe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Arca de Noe

Address: Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arca de Noe Hotel is a gorgeous place to stay in Lake Atitlan - we're famous for the most rustic and eco-friendly style hotel, and even with the best lake front cabins to relax!There are more elegant hotels in the region. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, but no hotel at any price can match Arca de Noe's quiet ambiance.The hotel has ten rooms, five with private baths with very hot showers! our hotels runs with 100% solar energy system! and help the environment. At our Hotel we have a Restaurant, Free Wifi, Transportation, Day tours and Hikes and many more activities. 100% local family owned - Spanish, English, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel el Arca de Noe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Arca De Noe Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Arca de Noe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.