We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil self-contained haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sumaya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sumaya
Save
You added Villa Sumaya to your Saves list
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil self-contained haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My girlfriend and I arrived at Villa Sumaya after an awful experience at Casa Rosa (see separate review). Within the first five minutes we both realised we had found a hidden gem. The first thing that strikes you is the cleanliness and order of the place - there is a wonderful attention to detail applied to everything, from the pictures on the walls to the door handles.

It is important to state that Villa Sumaya is more of an upmarket yoga and mediation retreat with a real focus on holistic living, from fresh organic food to the plethora of treatments on offer. It can however just as easily be viewed as a beautiful and calm hotel for a perfect romantic getaway.

We both loved the atmosphere of the place. The staff, the cooks and the owner all try to make Villa Sumaya something special. We particularly loved the yoga and mediation temples, where you can sit on a beautiful parquet floor and meditate with the most breathtaking view of the lake, or just close your eyes and focus on the sounds of birds and the water.

It is not cheap, so definitely not a place to stay if you are on a tight budget, however you get a lot for the money you pay and for us it was worth every penny.

If you don't mind a bit of a climb to your room and are not too scared of heights, then I would recommend room 9. It is high up, but so amazing, with unobstructed views of the lake from you bed - this in itself is worth a night in this room.

If you really don't like spiders (which exist everywhere around the lake) then rooms 1 to 4 (or 5) seemed to be the best to stay in - they are also beautiful and on the level of the restaurant so you can easily pop back into your room whenever you want (but don't have the seclusion or view of room 9 or 10).

I have to mention the food, which is probably the most healthy and tasty food I have ever had - not sure why or how they manage it, but everyone we spoke to also agreed.

My only negative point is that the WIFI access was intermittent, but they may have sorted this out by the time you stay, but if this is something that is very important to you then it is worth checking beforehand.

Overall, for those who love beautiful and tranquil settings, and especially for those who enjoy meditation and yoga and holistic living, Villa is a great place to recharge. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    15
    3
    9
    0
See reviews for
11
29
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I had read many positive reviews, but was not prepared to be so overwhelmed with the place! Friendly staff, clean, beautiful rooms and the view is simply amazing. The food was extremely well done.....had 7 days of consistently excellent meals!

I only hestitate to recommend for selfish reasons: sometimes you just want to keep a place to yourself :-) But if you have the opportunity to travel and stay at Villa Sumaya, take it!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

This center is situated in the beautiful and magical mountains of Guatemala on Lake Atitlan. The gardens are breathtaking, the people warm and helpful, and the food is out of this world. If you are looking for an incredible place to stay as you explore local Mayan villages, do yoga or simply rest and rejuvenate, this is a wonderful location.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel right on the shore of Lake Atitlan. Rooms are very clean and the property is gorgeous. It was the perfect place to go to relax and enjoy the spectacular scenery! Food at the hotel restaurant was excellent (although not Guatemalan) and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again! Make sure to take a lancha directly to the hotel's dock, since it is about a 15 minute walk to get the Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

A friend and I stayed at Villa Sumaya for two nights in October 2008 after seeing the great reviews on tripadvisor. We were not part of a yoga retreat (the owner and manager were curious how we had learned about the hotel!) but found it wonderfully peaceful and refreshing. One day we did little more than sip coffee and watch the sun rise over one side of the lake and set over the other. We also found it easy to explore the lake, go kayaking, etc. from this location. The staff was great, and food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I first discovered Villa Sumaya through their website..and this was one of the few times that the actual place was much nicer than what I had expected. This gorgeous lakefront inn and retreat center has spectacular views, beautiful and spacious rooms, the most amazing yoga/group rooms, the staff was helpful and the food was good.

I can honestly recommend this hotel for more upscale accommodations.

Hope

  • Liked — Very comfortable and convenient, really beautiful...
  • Disliked — Was not super crowded with people to social with
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

I took a yoga retreat at the Villa Sumaya and it blew my mind! It was the most beautiful retreat center i have ever seen....and i've traveled a great deal. Laurie Ellis Young led the retreat and had lived on Lake Atitlan for many years. She is amazing and so is Wendy the owner of the Villa Sumaya. THE FOOD IS WONDERFUL, the facilities are fabulous, even the hot tub is super hot!!! I loved the dog Chongo and the beds were super comfy. I will return next year for Laurie's 2009 Breathe the Change retreat in February.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sumaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sumaya

Address: Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Villa Sumaya Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Villa Sumaya Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sumaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.