We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Refreshing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sumaya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sumaya
Save Saved
You added Villa Sumaya to your Saves list
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

A friend and I stayed at Villa Sumaya for two nights in October 2008 after seeing the great reviews on tripadvisor. We were not part of a yoga retreat (the owner and manager were curious how we had learned about the hotel!) but found it wonderfully peaceful and refreshing. One day we did little more than sip coffee and watch the sun rise over one side of the lake and set over the other. We also found it easy to explore the lake, go kayaking, etc. from this location. The staff was great, and food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    15
    3
    9
    0
See reviews for
10
29
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I first discovered Villa Sumaya through their website..and this was one of the few times that the actual place was much nicer than what I had expected. This gorgeous lakefront inn and retreat center has spectacular views, beautiful and spacious rooms, the most amazing yoga/group rooms, the staff was helpful and the food was good.

I can honestly recommend this hotel for more upscale accommodations.

Hope

  • Liked — Very comfortable and convenient, really beautiful...
  • Disliked — Was not super crowded with people to social with
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

I took a yoga retreat at the Villa Sumaya and it blew my mind! It was the most beautiful retreat center i have ever seen....and i've traveled a great deal. Laurie Ellis Young led the retreat and had lived on Lake Atitlan for many years. She is amazing and so is Wendy the owner of the Villa Sumaya. THE FOOD IS WONDERFUL, the facilities are fabulous, even the hot tub is super hot!!! I loved the dog Chongo and the beds were super comfy. I will return next year for Laurie's 2009 Breathe the Change retreat in February.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

When the boat dropped me off at Villa Sumaya, I was at first a bit surprised by how isolated it seemed, but once I spent a few minutes exploring the grounds and discovered the beautiful and fully-equipped yoga studio overlooking the lake, I decided that Villa Sumaya was exactly where I wanted to be. The staff was gracious, the rooms were comfortable and location was absolutely serene. Villa Sumaya is the perfect place to relax and do yoga against the backdrop of one the most beautiful lakes in the world.

  • Liked — Location and yoga studio
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

This was my third time staying at Villa Sumaya. The big change is that the owners are no longer on site and they have left the hotel to be run by a manager. The manager is quite good, but it isn't the same as a family-owned hotel. Additionally, they did away with the video room that was there when I last visited. So the nights are very quiet -- it would have been nice to have that amenity so that my girlfriend and I could watch videos after dinner because there is nothing around to do whatsoever.

NEVERTHELESS, Villa Sumaya is the perfect respite. I love the rooms, the food is good (Domingo is a fantastic cook who will prepare whatever you'd like), the location is superb, they have thought of every possible point from which one would want to relax. Nothing short of fantastic.

You may also wish to examine Lomas de Tzununa, which I found while hiking from village to village (there is a great path not to be missed heading towards Santiago). They have better food, splendid views, are more isolated, and run by a wonderful Uruguayan-Belgian family.

**Be forewarned that when you catch a lancha (motorboat) from Panajachel, the boys who collect the fares are ready to rip you off. It should cost only Q10/Q15, and they will ask for Q70. Hold your ground, tell them you have been there before and know it is only Q15. **

  • Liked — views and idyllic location
  • Disliked — not much to do after dark
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

If you are looking for a place to unwind and relax, Villa Sumaya may be exactly what you are looking for. This charming guesthouse has only 7 simple rooms, with breathtaking views across Lake Atitlan from the patio. The area is beautifully landscaped and you can find lovely nooks and crannies where you can enjoy the peace and quiet. The staff are very friendly, but few speak English, and even Spanish is only a second language to many of them, but I didn't find that too much of a problem. The food at the restaurant was simple but excellent - very fresh and tasty, and both vegetarians and non-vegetarians were very well catered for. They also served mouthwatering "liquidados" (smoothies).

A very pleasant surprise was their wood-heated sauna, which had excellent "löyly". They also have hot-tubs, and can arrange massages and other services. If yoga is your thing, their Blue Tiger Temple offers a superb setting for meditation.

There's also a small souvenir shop, which sells fair trade items ("tipico") , which were by far the nicest I found during our trip in Guatemala - highly recommended!

  • Liked — The location and service
  • Disliked — What was not to like?
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a good book with you
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2005

Villa Sumaya is quite a contrast to the hustle and bustle of Panajachel which is a ten minute boatride away. The grounds are filled with colorful tropical vegetation even in the dry season. With only eight rooms privacy is assured. The rooms have a veranda with many chairs and hammocks, perfect for reading. Facilities include a bar, restaurant, library and meditation room. Massages are available. Swimming is possible in the lake. Bring reading material as there really is nothing else to do after dinner. Rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. Power and hot water can be spotty but the staff is quick to respond. Dinner is a choice of one entree with soup and dessert. The quality compensates for the lack of choice. Those looking for a quiet tranquil setting with nothing to do except watch the hummingbirds flit by will be at home here. But those looking for a little action at night are better off in Panajachel.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sumaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sumaya

Address: Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Villa Sumaya Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Villa Sumaya Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sumaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.